We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFUL STAY!!! Extremely Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Carthage, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL STAY!!! Extremely Dissappointed”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This Holiday Inn is a disgrace to whole entire hotel chain throughout the U.S.!! We went through Hotels.com to obtain the suite that we wanted with double beds. When we arrived, they tried to get us to sign a document for a suite with a king size bed. I advised that this was not what we wanted. Then, I was told that this was all they had because they were booked up full. I let that go and said, "Ok, I guess that will have to be fine." The girl @ the front desk then stated that our room would not be ready for about 2-3 hours!! Check-in was @ 3pm and we arrived @ the hotel around 4pm...that's when I started to get upset. The manager then stepped in to see what he could do. It took him about 20 minutes to "move some people around", but he finally got us in a room. There were only 3 towels in the suite and we had a total of 5 people. When we sent my 14 year old son to front desk for more towels, he was treated very rudely and was questioned as to how many people were in the room? Why we needed more towels? etc....My husband had to go back down there to obtain 3 towels which is all that they would give us because they stated that "people on the 1st shift screwed a lot of things up and did not get things done." Our family decided to go to dinner---when we came back, there was no parking whatsoever!! We had to circle the parking lot about 50 times!! Then, there was only 1 blanket in the entire suite which had a king bed and rollout bed...so, I went to front desk to ask for a blanket similar to nice, down comforter in room. The guy at the front desk was frustrated at people surrounding his desk with complaints and was being extremely rude. So, I went back to our room to give it a few minutes. When I went back, I was handed an old, funky, scratchy blanket that I wouldn't let my dog lay on....THIS PLACE IS A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY! IT IS OUTDATED AND SURROUNDED BY RUDE STAFF!! **TRAVELERS BEWARE!!!****

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Jada R,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room. This is definitely not up to our standard and deeply regret the poor experience you had during your visit.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    107
    53
    23
    11
See reviews for
76
57
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My friend and I got bumped a third time off a flight to Phoenix.

I called Holiday Inn from the convenient free telephones located on the lowel level of DFW ground transportation at E35 and got quick service from the friendly hotel desk clerk who then put me through to the reservations lady. The Holiday Inn reps on the phone were friendly, quick, and responsive and the airport shuttle service was swift to pick us up and take us to the hotel.

The hotel lobby was good, check-in was fast and friendly, and we really appreciated the complimentary snacks.

The hotel room was nice, big, new, and very clean. The A/C was set to my favorite temperature (68 degrees F.) and was easily adjustable with the modern controls. The hotel was also nice and quiet despite the large number of guests that were there. I only heard an occasional slam of a guestroom door by an occasional inconsiderate guest. There was a separate living room with a clean couch, tables, desk and chair, wet bar, refrigerator, counter, and a big flat screen television--plenty of space for a small party. The bedroom also had a flat screen television and two big king sized beds that were solidly built, well made with fresh linens and with just the right amount firmness for me. The bathroom was big and with a new sink, shower, and separate bathtub--all really great. The toilet seal to the floor was coming loose, but the bathroom was very clean, fresh neatly folded towels, and new overall.

The free morning breakfast was typical of what you see in most of the 3-star hotels (bagels, cereal, fruit, preheated eggs, coffee, etc.), but what I picked out satisfied me (yogurt, banana, and juice and I'm ready to go). This hotel is easily the best value I've seen so far this year. If I ever get bumped at DFW again, I'm definitely coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
To give you an excellent hotel experience is indeed our primary goal and to know that we have successfully done so gives us our pride and joy. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for also expressing the desire to visit us again in the future. The positive feedback you have shared to us regarding the cleanliness, the customer service and the value for your money inspires us to work even harder, knowing that our efforts are well appreciated by our valued guests. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was staying near the airport to fly out the next day. I had a very nice suite that gave me plenty of room to stretch out. There is a nice outdoor pool where some kids were having fun and being very loud but they stopped around 10 so that was not a problem.
This is a busy area without a lot of restaurant choices so I took a chance on Chinese delivery from a China Pavillion menu that was in the room. It was excellent and a very good value.
When checking out the next day I gave my usual checking out from room XXX and the bill was correct and I was pleasantly surprised to be asked how was the rest of your stay? I thought that he really was interested and that if I had a concern he would have addressed it.

Room Tip: If you go to sleep early avoid rooms that overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
The comfort of our guests is our top priority and we certainly make it a point to give them a pleasant experience to remember at all times and for you to commend us on that matter gives us so much glee. You can be assured that we will continually work hard to offer you an experience like no other hotel can. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to our hotel cleanliness, the staff services and the value for your money. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Clean-plenty of parking- 6 min from airport- nice very large rooms- clean linen & bathrooms- there is a tub & a seperate enclosed shower- nice lobby- nice breakfast- all carpets seemed clean & smelled nice-Well done- & under $100 on pricleline

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Our dedication to serve is fuelled by the wonderful feedback our guests openly share to us, thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to show you the kind of service we are willing to give our valued guests. The appreciation you have for the location as well as the cleanliness and the value for your money is indeed inspiring and heart-warming. Rest assured that we will always seek to further excel in the delivery of our services. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Got a room here for cheap using priceline. The front desk staff was excellent and very accommodating when we asked to check in very early. They got us in no problem, gave us a great two bedroom suite. The pool was nice and clean and the breakfast was good (pretty much your standard free hot breakfast fare). The only issue we had was that the toilet stopped up overnight while we we there, but things like that happen...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deathraygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We couldn’t thank you enough for choosing to stay with us, and making the effort to write down the things you have appreciated during your stay. It is indeed our goal to give our guests a memorable experience while giving them the best value for their money. The inspiration you have given us to constantly seek to improve is our sole motivation to work harder than hard. We hope that we may be able to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I am a priority club member and my father is a brain patient we spend weeks at a time in hotels for dr appointments far away, new to the dfw on in Irving I was ok beeing how it was Holliday inn. My 14 year old brother went to the soda machine for a drink and met a grown man that made very bad comments. When I went down to tell front desk and allow them to handlethe ssituation the manager is who I started out with she was very nice concerned and doing the right thing when another issue came up I got sent to a guest service guy being in his 40s when telling him what happened he busted out laughing. Completely stunnedI waited for the manager when telling her again what happened and how the other guy handled it he proceeded to scream at me and my brother saying he did not. He got so lound and angery with me other people called the cops. I checked out right then. I will NEVER stay here again even if its the last hotel open! Ill take the several hour drive back home!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klewis0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear klewis0711,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is most disappointing to hear of your overall dissatisfaction and we are truly sorry you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your feedback and shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a great hotel for people traveling in and out of DFW airport. I highly recommend this location for anyone leaving out of the airport. The people are friendly, the place is well kept and they even let you park your car while you're away.

Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubert9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We certainly value the time you took to share to us your wonderful experience, thank you for your recommendation and for the sincere appreciation you gave for all the hard work we exerted to give the best service there is to offer. It is truly inspiring to hear that you have noticed the friendly staff services and the comfort we wish to offer our valued guests. Thank you for the motivation and the inspiration to further excel in the delivery of our services. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North/Irving
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Irving / DFW Airport North
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
Address: 4550 W John Carpenter Fwy, Irving, TX 75063-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#22 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dallas/Fort Worth hotel is in an ideal location. You'll receive superior accommodations in Dallas/Ft Worth (DFW) when you choose the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW North. Ideally located one mile from DFW Airport, our Dallas hotel offers several convenient services like a free shuttle to and from the airport. Short-term travelers and long-term visitors will both enjoy staying in our hotel in the DFW Metroplex. Visitors will find our DFW hotel the ultimate in convenience due to the area's business attractions. Situated among more than 8,000 companies, including 4 global headquarters for Fortune 500s, our DFW accommodations, multiple meeting rooms, and 24-hour business center fit the ambitious mindset of our local businesses. Travelers looking for hotels near DFW airport will be happy to find that we are only 12 miles from Six Flags and Wet 'n Wild Water World. The Galleria Mall, Grapevine Mills Mall, and Ft. Worth Stockyards have Texas treasures and souvenirs for you to remember your DFW vacation. Because every room is a newly renovated suite filled with new amenities, guests will feel at home throughout their DFW stay. Escape for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool, and stay connected throughout your trip with free high-speed Internet access available in every room. Whether you're enjoying a Texas family vacation or business trip, our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites near DFW is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites-Dfw North
Holiday Inn Irving
Irving Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing