We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“issues with staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Irving
2 reviews
“issues with staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had been traveling from overseas and just spent 23 hours in flights and airports . I had to wait nearly an hour for the shuttle to pick me up. When I got to the hotel the phones in my room did not work. I went to the desk to report this and told them it was essential that I have a room with a phone as I did not have a sim card for USA yet. The staff at the counter said he could not do anything about it until tomorrow. I became angry and asked to use the lobby phone. About this time a manager came out and went with me to my room and quickly resolved the issue for me. The hotel is nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. Not sure if I would stay there again though just because the service was so poor and there are many many hotels to choose from in this same area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    175
    172
    141
    142
See reviews for
229
110
95
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
337 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The concept of Hawthorn by Wyndham is similar to that of Candlewood Suites by Holiday Inn. Although based on this property, Holiday Inn does a much better job.

I’m not sure why Wyndham continues to associate itself with subpar properties. At one time Wyndham properties were on par with Hilton, Marriott and Sheraton. Not anymore. Aside from Wingate properties (which I like and rivals the offerings from Marriott and Hilton) Wyndham backs a slew of underperforming hotels like Ramada, Super8, Howard Johnson, Knights Inn and Days Inn. Yeech.

I stayed in room 104 a queen bedded “suite” with kitchen.

Pros:

• Lots of room, great concept
• 18 cf refrigerator with sink, microwave and stove top
• 32" tv
• Solid surface counters in bath
• Tile bath
• Airport shuttle
• Good price for the area
• Front desk clerk, Chaundra (sp) was friendly and had a genuine smile

Cons:

• Poor work area with only two outlets for electronics.
• Subpar work chair, not made for work on laptop
• Dated furnishings
• Light/moderate airplane noises.
• Everything seems worn out or run down. Broken tiles in bath, carpet worn thin, paint marred, moldings missing, outside access doors don’t open with keys, etc.
• Frustrating internet access. Every time you disconnect, you have to log in again with your access code.
• Horrible pillows! Hard, cheap and flat.

Breakfast was very basic, although the waffle maker was nice. I give this property a 68/100 overall and a 75/100 for value. Overall this was a disappointing property and I would likely look elsewhere if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This room was huge, like an apartment. I arrived and was greeted at 1am by a smiling , patient and kind employee. He was quick to check us in and the accomodations were beyond our expectations. i slept in peace on a very comfortable bed. Tara said the pull out bed was very comfortable in the living room and that she slept soundly as well. i would recommend this location to anyone travelling and needing to be by the DFW airport.

Room Tip: The king bed with a pull out couch allowed each of us privacy. This was a true apartment sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle-AL-and-Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory M, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful ratings and comments. These reviews good or bad allow us to continue to grow and improve our customer service for you, and other guests.
We look forward to having you back very soon!


Thanks,

Natalie Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked through Expedia..Pickup from airport took 50 minutes. Told 20-25 minutes when I called. Front desk staff's response to my commenting about how long it took was a snide remark. "Well sir, it IS a courtesy" implying I should be grateful I got picked up at all. Intentionally booked this place as I was traveling with frozen food and needed a full sized refrigerator as advertised on their web site. My booking was for "king-sized bed with sofa bed. No sofa bed in the room. Calling this a "suite" is a joke. It's a normal hotel room with a counter-top sink and a mini-fridge. No stovetop, no utensils, no china, pots/pans...nothing in the "kitchen" but a coffee maker. Cupboards completely empty. When I returned to the front desk to ask about a full sized fridge the guy just looked at me like I had 3 heads or something and said they didn't have any rooms like that. (so photos on the web site are fake?) Generally shabby appearance throughout the property. Attractive price for a "suite hotel" but it is, in my opinion, not.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
#41 of 77 in Irving
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn DFW North / Irving
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - DFW Airport N.
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas DFW Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North
Address: 5000 Plaza Dr, Irving, TX 75063-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Ltd. - Dallas (Dfw Airport) Hotel Irving
Irving Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Irving

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing