We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Irving DFW South
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Irving
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great hotel for long stay. The area is not very promising, but if you have a car everything is fine.

Breakfast is average to be a complementary one. Grocery store, shops and restaurant are walking distance.

It is recommended for the price, and is clean as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diealvarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in room 105 a queen bedded “studio suite” with kitchen. The concept of Hawthorn by Wyndham is similar to that of Candlewood Suites by Holiday Inn which is to offer a studio apartment design instead of just a sleeping room. I like the concept, as I often prefer to eat “in” instead of going out for all my meals.

After my stay last night at the other DFW Hawthorn Inn last night, I attempted to cancel my reservation here, but wasn’t able to because the cancellation period had expired. That said, this property was MUCH better than the other location. However, Wyndham should take note that I would have cancelled this reservation and stayed at a competitive property based on my previous (poor) experience at the other DFW location. You can find my other post on TripAdvisor.

Pros:

• Lots of room, great concept
• 18 cf refrigerator with sink, microwave and stove top
• 32" tv
• Big island countertop in kitchen to eat at
• Solid surface counters in bath
• Tile bath
• Airport shuttle
• Excellent price for the area
• Only light airplane noises
• Decent bed with good pillows
• Clean

Cons:

• Not made for business. No work area in room. The kitchen counter is way too high for the chairs provided and trying to type on a laptop while sitting on the couch doesn’t work either.

• Only two outlets for electronics.
• Some difficulty checking in. I arrived at noon and even though the desk clerk had rooms available, he said I wouldn’t be able to check in until 3:00… WHY? I threatened to leave and he put me in a room that was ready to go.
• Dated furnishings, Formica countertops and older laminate cabinets that are beginning to peel.
• Window sheers are needed, especially on first floor rooms. If you close the room darkening shades for privacy it feels like nighttime in the room. Sheers would let the light in and provide some privacy
• No pool
• No common area outside to sit. Not a big deal for a one night stay, but is needed for those staying longer.
• Often short on personnel at front desk

Breakfast was OK, fairly very basic, although the waffle maker was nice.

I give this property an 84/100 overall and a 98/100 for value. Overall this property was missing the finer points, but good. I think Candlewood Suites are more upscale and offer more amenities, but I would consider this property in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank 587Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Balaji R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My family of four just returned from a week's stay at this hotel.

-------------
Positives:
-------------

It was centrally located to the attractions and family we were visiting during our vacation. We chose it for that reason, as well as the kitchen in the suite (though we didn't really end up using it, other than the fridge).

It was very quiet, even though it appears several of the rooms on the lower level are occupied by people who actually live at the hotel.

We were able to check in early, which was great since our flight arrived in the morning.

The front desk staff, especially Sunil, was super nice.

The breakfast was nice in the morning, though it was the same exact thing every single day. That was really okay. The Texas-shaped waffle maker was a cute extra. (Don't get downstairs a minute past 9am, though... they are VERY prompt with putting the food away.)

The hotel was literally next door to Target, which was great on a couple of occasions. We also walked to the Irving Mall (just beyond Target) on the first day for lunch. Not a great mall... lots of empty store fronts. But we were just looking for lunch, so it was fine.

Our suite was large, and we didn't feel at all cramped living in it for a week. Maybe a little dated, but not hideously so. It was very clean.

-----------------------
Minor complaints:
-----------------------

Our kids alternated nights sleeping on the sofabed, each taking three nights, as it was pretty uncomfortable. Not sure how it was as a sofa because we never sat on it before converting it to a bed, and we just left it as a bed all week.

Our room was next to a whole bunch of smoking rooms. Luckily, we did not smell smoke in our suite; however, the minute you walked into the hall, you could smell it.

We only requested housekeeping on two days during our stay. Other than that, we left the Do Not Disturb sign up. The placard says that towels are replaced daily, but I'm not sure that is the case. My husband had cut his head shaving and bled all over a hand towel. We soaked it all day, but the stains were still faint on the towel. The next day we had housekeeping while we were out, but it appears that same towel was just folded and re-hung on the rack. He had also apparently re-opened the cut while sleeping and bled on the pillowcase a little. Rather than replacing the pillowcase, it was just turned over and put behind another pillow. (The placard does say that linens will be changed only ever five days of your stay; however, I would've thought they'd replace a bloody pillowcase.)

There were a few teeny ants on the kitchen island counter, so we had to be careful about leaving anything there.

The refrigerator was so cold that it froze our milk and soda into slushies, and the dial had been removed, so we were unable to turn the temperature down.

-------------
Overall
-------------

None of those things was a deal breaker, and we would stay there again were we to return to the Dallas area. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgsualum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel location off 183 is excellent. The rooms and service is outstanding. I like the full breakfast over coffee and rolls as served in other Hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dallas-Las Colinas Area
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Dallas, Las Colinas
5.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham DFW Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, DFW Airport South, TX
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irving - DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Irving DFW South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Irving DFW South

Address: 2323 Imperial Dr, Irving, TX 75062-5943 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Irving
Price Range: £73 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Irving DFW South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham, an extended stay Irving hotel near the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport. We are centrally located in Irving between Dallas and Fort Worth. This Irving, TX extended stay is located near Texas Stadium home of the Dallas Cowboys, American Airlines Center multipurpose venue, Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, Six Flags Over Texas theme park, Irving Arts Center, Arlington Convention Center, Fort Worth Stockyards, Dealey Plaza and the Texas Motor Speedway. Many restaurants, major shopping centers and entertainment venues are within walking distance. Guests traveling on business will appreciate additional amenities like a free weekday newspaper, access to fax services, a state-of-the-art business center. Each suite includes one queen size bed or one king size bed or two queen size beds, one queen size sofa bed, a full kitchenette (2 range stove top, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, kitchen sink, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, and pots and pans per request), 32" or 37" HDTV with 60 HD channels and 2 HBO channels, free WIFI internet, free hot breakfast, guest laundry facility, and fitness center. On-site meeting facilities can accommodate up to 30 people for most events and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Irving DFW South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Irving
Mainstay Irving
Irving Mainstay
Mainstay Suites Irv Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing