We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better options south of airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Dallas - Ft Worth Airport North
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Queensland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“There are better options south of airport”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a short layover at DFW and booked this property through their website. It looked ok on arrival, it's surrounded by many other airport hotels and motels but upon entering I quickly realised this is a very high turn over motel, kind of get them in and get them out quickly type place.

Check in not at all friendly with the one lady behind the desk extremely busy taking calls while trying to check us in with many others trying to check in at the same time. No politeness, just a process and no small talk.

Room booked was on a non smoking floor but upon entering the hallway we could smell cigarette smoke. Room was however smoke free.

Room was disappointing. Very small and very basic with no frills. Advertised queen bed was actually just a double, no space to store luggage, very limited hanging space which was hidden and easily missed. Bedding was not good quality, sheet almost see through it was that thin and the two pillows very flat. Bathroom is adequate, very clean with extremely good shower pressure but as mentioned the water doesn't drain fast so you are standing in a tub full of water. Towels are small. Room and bathroom however were spotlessly clean.
I went to reception to request extra pillows, waited 10 minutes while the only staff member checked in others to be told there are no extra pillows.
Vending machines on all floors were out of order.
Although this property is surrounded by many others there are no dining options nearby. The only choice you have is outsourced room service or tempting fate and crossing the very busy highway and walking 15 minutes to Denny's opposite the Westin Hotel. There is nothing else in walking distance.
The week before we stayed in the southern area at Super 8 which was the same price but older property but in a much better location. At least there were several dining options available there.
Motel 6 does have a pool but I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    50
    40
    16
    20
See reviews for
32
37
55
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here last night and woke up with bed bug bites. I frequently stay in motels in this area for just one night and while a cheap room often comes with a few less perks, bed bugs should never be tolerated. They can infest your suitcase and then your home. I won't be staying here ever again. Please do yourself a favor and avoid this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickSea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are kind of plain, no carpet or alarm clock. But they are clean, have decent tv's, and good air conditioners. The water pressure in the shower was great too. Not bad for a budget room. Better than sweating at the Red Roof because the air conditioner was older than me.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

AA cancelled a flight, got us on a later flight with no connection that night. They gave us a voucher to stay at Extended Stay, but upon arrival at 11:00 PM there were no rooms left as none had been reserved. We walked across to Motel 6 where they did take the coupon and give us a room. It was very plain, looked like vinyl floors, beds were uncomfortable. I didn't think there was a place to hang your clothes until I found a boxed in area on the wall which I had first thought was a build out cover for a/c or plumbing. I noticed the going single rate for the room was $99. That is way overpriced for what you get. Should have been about $35.

Room Tip: There are plenty of surrounding hotels that have got to be better than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel uses a shared shuttle service and is very poor I had to wait a long time and it was packed when it finally showed up. No where to eat close. Bed was very low level poorly supported an linen was sub-par. Won't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_fr0m_Calif0rnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here the night before a flight out of DFW. It was very basic but clean. And cheap. The free airport shuttle was one reason I stayed here. Just make sure you sign up for it when you check in. My room was small and decorated in an Ikea-like style. No carpet, which I think is a bed bug preventative measure. There's nothing within a close walking distance. If you are willing to hoof it there is a gas station/Whataburger. I wouldn't recommend walking alone in the dark because it just felt unsafe.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kit444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for a few nights back in the fall... The beds were the worst... Lots of noise from the hallway didn't sleep well at all... the staff is mediocre only stayed because of free points but surely won't be returning unless nothing else is available

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Irving / DFW Apt / North
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
Sleep Inn DFW Airport
#40 of 77 in Irving
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn DFW North / Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn DFW-Airport
Quality Inn DFW-Airport
#63 of 77 in Irving
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - DFW Airport N.
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Dallas - Ft Worth Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Dallas - Ft Worth Airport North

Property: Motel 6 Dallas - Ft Worth Airport North
Address: 7800 Heathrow Dr, Irving, TX 75063-2343 (Formerly Motel 6 Dallas - DFW Airport North)
Region: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Dallas - Ft Worth Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Dallas DFW Airport North is located off SR 114. All guest rooms have a modern look including 32 inch TVs, and Free Wi-Fi. Free shuttle service to and from DFW Airport, park and fly for a small fee, a seasonal outdoor pool, and coin laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Dallas - Ft Worth Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Dallas - Dfw Airport North Hotel Irving
Motel 6 Irving
Motel Six Irving
Irving Motel 6
Irving Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing