We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic State Park-a must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Richardson State Park and Historic Site

Fort Richardson State Park and Historic Site
Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic State Park-a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at Fort Richardson. The park has two areas, one in the open with not so many trees, and another area that is heavily shaded with trees. Beautiful scenery. Level, paved sites with a lot of space for privacy. We had deer around us almost the entire time. Restrooms were very clean. We visited the Fort, which was awesome. So much to see at this park. We would definitely stay again. We travel in a motorhome with a tow vehicle. We stayed in Space #20 and recommend that area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sas4253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksboro, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Living History, Perfect Camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

You should experience the many events on site and the camping is the best you will find! Many amenities and quality sites.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Historical State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This would get a 5 star rating for physically fit people with RV's. There are two camping areas, they have the usual amenities, concrete driveways, fire rings, and picnic tables. An RV would work out great in any of the spaces, but the land is rocky, slightly sloped, and has underbrush, so it can be challenging to find a spot for a tent sometimes. I was in a tent, and had site 36, the best spot to pitch the tent was a grassy area right by the road. It sort of negated the private feel of the lots. There is a lovely trail with a small spring-fed creek behind the campsites. The catch is that you must be able to climb and descend large rocks to get to it, as well as to walk the entire trail.

The old fort is amazing, there are several historic buildings, open to the public, which are authentically furnished. The old hospital is a "must-see". The buildings are quite spread out, there are dirt paths connecting them. It is a considerable walk to see them all. You will need to stay on the trails because of large red ants. I'd say in hot or rainy weather, seeing all the buildings could be challenging.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a long weekend at Fort Richar
dson. Great place. We stayed in a trailer but there were many tenters and great modern small cabins. The park is well kept and bathrooms clean. We stayed at site 12. The hike and bike trail is excellent and I highly recommend exploring it.

12

Helpful?
4 Thank Marshall212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A step into the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have been to the fort so many times I can't remember. It was a fun place as a small kid walking the nature trails, playing on the playgrounds and walking the old buildings. As a parent taking my children, it is a great teaching tool of the way those before us lived, worked and the hardships they endured. My young kids enjoyed seeing the old buildings, the various artifacts and pelts that reside in the different buildings. The park rangers are super people and very accommodating to visitors. If you can make it on a reenactment weekend or special event, all the better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Richardson State Park and Historic Site also viewed

Been to Fort Richardson State Park and Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing