We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lone Star Buffet - CLOSED

Lone Star Buffet
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Seating
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
133 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The buffet is a good value with good food and choices. If you get any potato rolls, do yourself a favor and eat only ONE. If you eat more than that, you will regret it. I'm not trying to be cute, the rolls are great, but they greatly expand in your stomach. I think I had two and was miserably stuffed.

The place is only open a few days out of the week, just FYI.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gideon_Krasmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
274 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

There are no complaints about the food. The buffet is very large and accommodates a variety of tastes. I love the fried chicken, liver and onions, chicken fried steak, and the gumbo when it is available. Anyone visiting here will not be disappointed. The server was very fast and made several trips to the table. My drink never got empty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charitable R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We always eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The food choices are excellent and the value is very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broussard, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG - YUM!!! Country cooking at it's best!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were visiting Jasper/Lake Sam Rayburn for the weekend, stopped at Lone Star for lunch on Saturday, between touring the Azalea Festival and enjoying the Jasper Air Show.

Everything in this place was seriously down home Texas country cooking, just like my Texas Ma Ma used to make! I tried to be good and fill up on the well-stocked salad bar, but......

The fried catfish was delicious - nicely seasoned crispy coating.. I was REALLY looking forward to the liver & onions, which was quite good, but the REAL star of the show was the chicken fried steak. Crispy coating outside, moist and and tender inside. YUM!! Topped with country gravy..... Oh my!!!!

The homemade meringue pies are OUT OF THIS WORLD!! Rich, dark chocolate filling, sweet creamy coconut, tangy lemon. I had to sample all three.

Our waitress/busgirl was Johnny-on-the-Spot with taking dirty plates away and bringing condiments.

$ 7.99 for all you can eat lunch!!! Amazing food, great service and prices so low it ought to be illegal.

U gotta try it!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisLane1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You gotta go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is one of my favorites. Yummy home cooked meals. Some fried some not. Delicious delicious rolls. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Downhomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing