We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, casual experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Catfish Cabin

Catfish Cabin
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, casual experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful shrimp, hush puppy and french fry combo plate. It's alot of food at a great price that includes a trip to the saladbar (which is average). Our server was sweet, kind and efficiant. If you're driving through Brookeland, Tx this is a must stop and try restaurant for excellent local fare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leitner220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Love to eat at Catfish Cabin. I love the salad bar. It's always great. The shrimp & fish are good also. If you've never eaten at Catfish Cabin, you should definitely give it a try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
274 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I love the Gumbo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The fish and other items are good, but the Gumbo is excellent. The cole slaw is some of the best offered anywhere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charitable R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good catfish!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I am never one to pass up a road side catfish opportunity while traveling.
The catfish itself was near perfect. Nice corn meal crunch on the outside with hot fluffy catfish inside.
Salad, fries and a pudding dessert came with the plate. I would have given them all up for another piece of catfish.
Being a hush puppy fanatic theirs fell short of my anticipated joy. I was hoping for that same cornmeal crunch on the outside and soft cornbread innard. They seemed to be over cooked and lacking seasoning.
Would I go back - Yes for the catfish. Who needs side items when you have succulent catfish?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TreeHuggerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catfish Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing