We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, just wonderful!”
Review of Stillwater Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stillwater Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Carthage, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, just wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The Stillwater Inn is such a charming place to have a special dinner date. The service was so friendly and professional. Our particular waitress was well versed in the specials and the main menu. The hostess was so sweet and genuine. My husband and I ordered the salmon special they offered and the pecan encrusted trout listed on the menu. Both were absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection! When it came time for dessert, our waitress suggested her personal favorite and described it wonderfully. The concord cake did NOT disappoint. The prices may be a bit much if you are expecting some chain-restaurant grade food and service, but for the atmosphere and quality you are getting here, it is completely worth it! I would highly recommend The Stillwater Inn to anyone who asks. This place really made our anniversary special!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    1
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had an early dinner on a weeknight at the restaurant. The restaurant is beautiful and we loved our corner table by the window. Our waitress had a flat demeanor and seemed very disinterested in talking about the food selections. We ordered a glass of wine and waited for our meals. About 15 minutes later, my salad arrived, which was very mediocre. The bread was delicious and the wine was very reasonably priced. 45 minutes from the time we ordered our food, it arrived. It is noteworthy that there were only two other tables besides us in the entire restaurant. My meal, which was a very simple shrimp and grits, was disappointing. The sprimp were overseasoned and salty and the grits were lumpy and tasteless. My husband's $40 steak was way overcooked. The gravy on the steak tasted like it was from a grocery store and the mushrooms were cooked within an inch of their life. When we complained about the food, we ultimately received half off of our entrees, which we only had a few bites of. Everyone had recommended this restaurant to us so we were extremely disappointed. A big waste of our time and money on our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia78749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We dined at Stillwater Inn this past weekend. The food was amazing. The service was unbelievably bad. We've had better car hops at Sonic. It was so bad it ruined our anniversary experience. At those prices one expects far, far better service. In addition, the lethargic hostess could have just as easily been working on an assembly line. Overall we do not recommend this restaurant, will not be returning and would not recommend it, especially if you are looking for a special dining experience. This is definitely not a "dining experience"!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daadaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smokedpeppers, chef/owner at Stillwater Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
We greatly regret this person’s unfortunate dining experience.
It was New Year’s Eve, the restaurant was very busy of course, and far from being “lethargic”, the hostess (co-owner and my wife) was juggling many tasks with a smile. The problem arose from a missed table assignment between my wife and a waiter.
These guests seemed to enjoy their cocktail by the fire in the bar before going to their table. Once there, most regrettably, they were seated for quite some time, unattended. When the gentleman pulled a waiter aside, the matter was brought to my wife’s attention and she went to the table with apologies and assurances that they would be taken care of at once. Unfortunately, the gentleman was too angry to put the mishap aside and chose to leave instead.
While we regret the oversight, it was due to the exigencies of the moment and not characteristic of our level of service. Had the guest allowed us to serve him, perhaps he would have been somewhat ameliorated. In any case, leaving the restaurant on New Year’s Eve, on the occasion of their anniversary especially, would seem to have been the worst of all choices, as there would be no where else but Sonic open.
We did comp the guests their cocktails, and would have welcomed the opportunity to make further amends.
It is an unfortunate fact of human nature that one will give vent to a grievance (especially when it can be done so anonymously) far sooner than remark upon an expectation exceeded. We have been striving to meet and exceed expectations for 25 years, and I consider this hyperbolic description of the restaurant and its staff to be over the top. I do understand how he feels however, I would have been miserable as well dining at Sonic on my anniversary, on New Year’s Eve. No offense to Sonic-for fast food, they are the best!
Bill Stewart
Chef/owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We dined at the Stillwater Inn on New Year's Eve as we have done several times over the past 10 years or so. It was excellent as always. We were met at the door by the owners, and waited by the wood burning fireplace while we waited to be seated. It is quaint and very homey. I love the fireplace in winter. The food was wonderful and they had a special menu for New Year's Eve. I can tell that many of the people dining are repeat customers, some who drive from the DFW area and spend the night. It is every bit as good as eating at a fine restaurant in Dallas or Houston. Suggestion: eat at the Stillwater Inn, and then go downtown, park your car, and take an open horse carriage ride at night through historical Jefferson. Even in winter it is a blast, with blankets provided by the carriage owner.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseCityTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 January 2005

We have always enjoyed our dinners at the Stillwater Inn. The food equals or exceeds that found in Dallas. Sometimes the wait service is a little lax. We find the rooms to be unique and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is served by the chef/owner who prepares old-time favorites with a touch of country charm.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2004

The relaxed feel of the wicker chairs and the elegance of the table setting mix together perfectly for a romantic evening. The Stillwater Inn has the perfect balance of small town charm and gourmet excellence. I have dined at the Stillwater Inn twice and have always found the food to be superb. The first time we stumbled upon the restaurant, we were unaware of any dress code and my poor boyfriend had to remove his hat. The hostess was less than ideal both times, but we were quickly met by a courteous waiter. The wine list is impressive, and the escargot is my favorite item on the menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank stacysrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 October 2004

Jefferson has always been a unique town, but there are many quaint small towns. The Stillwater Inn helps make Jefferson unique. With all of the charms of small town America, great food and wine remains elusive. The fact that there is a chef owned restaurant able to survive so many years (at least 16) in this tough business, is remarkable.
Having dined on several occassions at the Stillwater Inn, I am sorry to read that only the detractors seem to be willing to voice their opinions regarding their experience. Unfortunately, those who can complain anonymously are somehow empowered when they express their greivances, while the happy diners may pay their compliments on the way out the door and leave it at that.
Unlike a franchised operation, with many layers of management to keep the dining experience,if not outstanding, at least consistant, this restaurant can become very busy, especially on the weekends. This is also true of fine restaurants in the metropolitian areas.
I have always found the staff to be genuinely personable in a small town way, and attentive to our needs. We recommend the Stillwater Inn to our friends that enjoy dining rather that simply eating. (A great bottle of Pinot helps pacify the appetite.)
Perhaps the Stillwater Inn should limit their seating on the weekends. This might allow for the more appreciative diners to have a larger stake in the opinion poll.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
0.0 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#11 of 28 in Jefferson
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stillwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stillwater Inn

Property: Stillwater Inn
Address: Jefferson, TX 75657
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing