We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Excelsior House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
houston, texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Excelsior House is properly rated as an inn or B&B. An interesting and historic building, built by a riverboat captain 150 years ago, it has limitations. There is no restaurant per se, no bar, no bellman, etc. There is historic charm, friendly staff and a sumptuous breakfast called the 'Plantation Breakfast' which guarantees you won't need lunch until 2 pm.
The building is filled with antiques and momentos of its past, Lady Bird Johnson was a frequent visitor. But history has its limitations: the building is old. Some of the rooms are European style small. But the bed was new, bed furnishings plush. We availed ourselves of a mid-week internet special rate and felt it was a good value. The inn is right downtown near shops and restaurants, but the sidewalks get rolled up early, beware. Also ask for a room away from the early morning train noise, if that's possible. There is wifi with the rooms but I had some connectivity problems. All in all an interesting change in a quaint historic town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCruisingnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    52
    23
    13
    2
See reviews for
27
77
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

I love to stay in historic places. After reading the other reviews, I was a little cautious. I actually like "old, historic, original" places. I do not expect to have all new furniture, bedding, bathroom fixtures, etc. To me that is the charm of a place like this. We had the Diamond Bessie Suite. It also had a big sunroom attached, with an outside door that opened to the courtyard. It also had a tub and shower, which I have to have. I love my long hot baths for relaxation. No problem with hot water. They had great big fluffy towels and a basket full of great toiletries. The bed was pretty comfortable, and the temp was good for the room. Now understand, this is an old hotel, meaning not very sound proofed. You can hear doors opening and closing and people walking around. Just take some earplugs and you will be fine. We have been going to Jefferson for over 6 years around Christmas time. Have stayed in several different places. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel is very charming and historically interesting. The ballroom and dining room are beautiful with lovely antiques. It is a very old hotel, in continuous operation since the 1850s. That fact is impressive, but the hotel is very much in need of a restoration. The door to our room didn't close tight, the room was extremely dusty and dirty. The filter on the window air conditioner needed changing, the sheets were thin and one of the pillow cases had mascara stains. The wallpaper was peeling off. In the bathroom there was a footed tub, but the feet were not original to the tub and the tub was being propped up with stacked concrete blocks. The hallways smelled musty and the carpets were dirty. Housekeeping and service leaved alot to be desired. The best thing about the stay was the breakfast and it was delicious and beautifully presented. I hope that the current management does not let this hotel become a run down shabby dump.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

This was a charming hotel. The garden was wonderful. The furniture and bed was comfy. The breakfast is the best I have eaten in a long time. It is served by a charming young lady. The claw foot tub brought back my childhood. The front desk clerks were warm and accommodating. She was very busy, but she took time to give us a excellent history on the hotel. The manager even gave us biscuits and muffins for the road. The dining room and ballroom could entertain kings. Soft piano music enhanced the atmosphere. The house is lovely, but its the staff that made my unplanned stay so memorable!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1luckycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

The hotel may have been fabulous at one time, but our room was in dire need of refurbishing. The wallpaper was coming off the walls, the doorknob to the room was about to fall off and the step up to the bathroom was dangerous. There was a block of wood attached to the entry floor to the bathroom which was of concern. Had I been alone, I would not have felt safe staying in the room. Also, the cost was exorbitant considering the accomodations and the fact that the hotel is in a small town like Jerrerson. Quaint can only carry me so far. One might like to walk through the lobby (if interested in antiques and history), but I would not stay at the hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi53Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Yes, the Hotel Excelsior possesses a certain charm. Feel free to stay there if you don't require a hotel with helpful staff, working televisions, and adequate water pressure. The TV was broken and no attempt was made to help us or provide a replacement. A simple apology would have been appreciated! My plan to take a nice, long, relaxing bath had to be shelved since the trickle of water coming from the faucet would not have filled the tub in any reasonable amount of time. The only "ghostly" activity we experienced was the halo effect around the door to our room - the door did not shut well and someone left a very bright light on in the hall ALL NIGHT. While the bed was beautifully made up and the grounds were pretty, we definitely will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasNuttyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We just returned from a fabulous weekend in Jefferson, Tx. We stayed in the Grant historic room in the Excelsior Hotel. The room was lovely. After reading some of the negative reviews about the Excelsior, we were worried about our reservation. However, my husband and I thought that the room was the most unique hotel experience we have ever had. It was even more beautiful than the picture on the internet. The room was cool and the beds were very comfortable. The antiques were amazing. We would definitely go back to Jefferson and request the same room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
18.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Marshall
Comfort Suites Marshall
#3 of 14 in Marshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
18.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
0.4 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 27 in Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
130.4 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#10 of 27 in Jefferson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior House

Property: The Excelsior House
Address: 211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657-2253
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Excelsior House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest and most historic Hotel in the entire State of Texas. Currently owned by The Jessie Allen Wise Garden Club. 15 Historic rooms. Desk Manager on duty 24 hours a day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Excelsior House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior House Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing