We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Excelsior House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We've stayed at the excelsior Hotel twice this year. Once in March for a quick anniversary getaway. And again in May for the Civil War reenactment. Both times were very nice. The hotel is old and that is what gives it it's charm. The breakfast on the sun porch is fantastic and would never want to miss it. The hotel staff is very good and eager to help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed in the Diamond Bessie suite. It's a really nice room. The private porch made the stay even more enjoyable, and it has a daybed with a trundle so three can sleep there comfortably.
The breakfast is a must. Best coffee ever, and the orange blossom biscuits are so delicious.
We have also stayed in the Jay Gould room (it smells really odd) as well as the Rutherford B. Hayes room. It has a great claw foot tub.
The hotel staff is a sweet bunch of garden club ladies and they are very helpful and welcoming.
The little town is great place to shop and have lunch.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank LizzieBorden92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We made a last minute trip to the Excelsior Hotel last night for a quick getaway. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk was very cordial. Our room was decorated beautifully, but had a very old, musty smell. I realize this hotel is old, but the carpet was the same carpet from 20 years ago. Our breakfast on the sun porch was delicious and our waitress was very attentive. This could be an awesome place if there was just some remodeling done with attention to details. We will probably not stay here again because of the odor in the room. However, the furnishings, dining area, and courtyard are beautiful!

Room Tip: Any room that has newer carpeting may be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingteacher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The setting takes you back in time. Peaceful, beautiful, and comfortable. hotel. The room was clean and quiet. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Loved the authentic furniture and decor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Oldest hotel in Texas. Felt more like a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. Old furnishings and room set ups gave it that "step back in time" feel! Slept great. Right in the middle of the town. Enjoyed nice stroll thru the beautiful downtown neighborhood. All shops were conveniently located to hotel. Once we got settled in, did not need our car the rest of the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a really cool hotel that is over 150 years old. It has been upgraded enough to be thoroughly comfortable for modern travelers without losing the antique charm and ambience of the hotel. In the center of town, close to all of the shops and activities, it is one of our favorite places in Jefferson. The southern style breakfast on the sunporch in not to be missed. Room 19 is our favorite. Great for couples. And I do not care what the Texas Paranormal Committee, or whatever they call themselves say they found, the Hotel does it's share of haunts!!!. So just get used to it. They are kind spirits though, and won't harm you. /;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Reservations are sometimes hard to come by at this old hotel located right downtown and within walking distance of many of the town's attractions. Rooms are varied and all are nice. Good breakfast. Great place for a week end getaway for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Bed of Roses Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior House

Address: 211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657-2253
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Excelsior House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest and most historic Hotel in the entire State of Texas. Currently owned by The Jessie Allen Wise Garden Club. 15 Historic rooms. Desk Manager on duty 24 hours a day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Excelsior House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior House Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing