We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean, restful B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House of the Seasons
Ranked #8 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, restful B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

One of the best B&B's we've stayed in. We were in the Lady Bird room. Comfortable bed, quiet & roomy room. Little cheesecakes in the fridge when we arrived, & also water & Cokes. Snacks in a jar. The tour of the whole house after breakfast was really interesting! We've seen a lot of Southern homes but learned some new things on this tour. Shirley is a personable & casual hostess. Ok, finally I have to say the breakfasts may have been the best part. Plan to eat a lot at breakfast. Otherwise you miss a treat. We had fresh-baked breads both mornings (banana one day, pumpkin the next), with fruit & yogurt, & THEN Shirley brought out quiche & sausage one morning, & French toast & meats the next. When I say there was a LOT of food, I'm understating. You can skip lunch after this. Thank you, Shirley, for a fantastic 2 nights & days to visit with old friends (who stayed in the Sam Houston room - equally as perfect).

Room Tip: The 2 we saw were fantastic. Even though both were downstairs in the carriage house, they were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were in Jefferson, TX for our son's wedding and made a wonderful choice staying at The House of the Seasons for 5 nights! Shirley was the best and made our stay very personal, always helping in any way she could. We were truly spoiled with delicious breakfasts in the historic main house, treats in our room, recommendations when we asked and a very informative tour of the house. We truly hope to plan a return trip! Thank you, Shirley, for making our 1st stay at a Bed & Breakfast a memorable one!!! Barb & Vince

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and stayed in the Lady Bird Suite. Very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb and Vince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We took a little road trip with another couple with whom we frequently travel. One night was spent at a Fairmont, and one at The House of The Seasons. On the way home, we did a little exercise that we always do. Each of us takes a turn thinking of our favorite things (or moments) from our trip. The others take turns guessing what they were. Something related to The House of the Seasons was on everyone's list. Shirley is probably the best innkeeper I have ever met. She is everywhere, but never in the way. She made a lovely breakfast, and provided an awesome tour of the historic home.

Room Tip: All four rooms are pretty much the same. Two upstairs, and two down. All are in the "carriage h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wonderful experience. Hostess was fabulous! Great hospitality and very knowledgable. Clean spacious room with nice amenities and wonderful breakfast. Thank you and expect us in the future. Jim & Sarella

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12sawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

What a great place to stay! The house is beautiful and rich with history. The accommodations in the detached building were great, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were fabulous!!! We will definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the House of the Seasons with my sister and her friend. Accommodations are in a detached building that has four nearly identical suites, I believe they all have jacuzzi tubs and ours had a king size bed. Rooms are very nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was relaxed and hearty and since there isn't much to do in Jefferson until 10A or so anyway then you might as well linger for a bit over coffee and a nice breakfast. Breakfast is served in the dining room of the main house. Shirley (manager) was attentive and informative, and the tour of the house that is included with the stay is very worthwhile. The house is either a short drive or a long walk away from downtown. Though this was my first trip back to Jefferson TX in 18 years, my sister has been coming regularly for the last year or so and she liked House of the Seasons the best out of the places she has stayed so far.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedoublee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

Beautiful--Our son's wedding was in Jefferson this past weekend and some family and friends stayed at House of the Seasons. What a beautiful and immaculate property.

The guest suites are in the old Carriage House and have wonderful beds and spectacular baths. It is a great place to have privacy and company when it is wanted. The breakfast was served in the main house and there was a tour following Sunday breakfast.

Shirley is the best. She is knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. Our two year old granddaughter stayed there and Shirley was patient and engaging with Isabella in every way.

What a find! You have to go.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank GomezAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 27 in Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
130.2 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#10 of 27 in Jefferson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chez Lafayette
Chez Lafayette
#19 of 27 in Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of the Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of the Seasons

Property: The House of the Seasons
Address: 409 S Alley St, Jefferson, TX 75657
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing