We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, ghosts, and books”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-hour tour of one of Jefferson's most historic - and haunted - locations. The Grove is an 1861 home that uniquely mirrors the history of the riverport city... and the ghost stories there go back over 100 years. The history of the home is fascinating; it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and is a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. Along with the history, though, you'll hear ghost stories from the owners and find out just what it's like to live in a haunted home. Come visit The Grove for a peek into Jefferson's past... and a few residents who may still be hanging around!
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History, ghosts, and books”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have been to the Grove tour home several times over the years. It is my favorite place to bring whoever visits Jefferson with me. The tour is full of great ghost stories and interesting history too. My favorite part is the end when I get to see if Mr. Whittington has written a new book for me to buy. I have read at least 4 and highly recommended. Great place. Don't miss it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhashert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the money and more”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I can't add anymore that anyone else hasn't already said.. The tour given by the owner of his own house was far more then I was expecting. The $6 charge per person is well, well worth the time.. The story Mitchel tells of the history of the house and the paranormal observations were great... We will go back again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank gonefishingou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“steak salad rocks”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

its true a steak salad with a glass of wine here was perfect... ive been several times, its delicious. the paninis are good too

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Txeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Family Loved This Tour!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My family of four visited The Grove today. The owner and tour guide, Mitchel, is a gifted storyteller. We found his stories about the home's previous owners, sprinkled with facts about Jefferson's history, to be fascinating. He shared tons of examples of otherworldly experiences that had happened in his 1860 home. You can't miss this tour!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank loriw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT tour of a haunted house”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent tour of a historic house, Mitchell is a great story teller, loaded with interesting facts, and a ton of research. This was not a haunted house tour that one would expect, it was a combination tour of this great old house, and excellent research and real ghost stories by the owners. Highly recommend that if you're in Jefferson, you stop by here. Best $6 you'll spend in Jefferson.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing