We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muy Sabroso!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant

Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Jefferson
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Muy Sabroso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don Juan's was recommended by several locals - a sure mark of a good restaurant.

We began our meal with a couple of Grande Margaritas that were served promptly, well chilled and in truly remarkable sized glasses. Our served was a genuinely jolly fellow demonstrably happy we were there and took great pride in both his service and the restaurant's food. I had the Tampico Plate which included an avocado enchilada. This was a deliciously unexpected treat and was a perfect mate to the cheese enchilada and Mexican rice. I also had beef and bean taco made with a flour tortilla which was really flavorful. My partner had spinach enchiladas - also excellent.

Be sure to ask for the spicy salsa. It is served warm and is surprisingly and delightfuly piquant.

If traveling near Jefferson, Don Juan's is a sure thing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyduhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hubbys FAV Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stop in here often. My husband loves their food & the service is always good. I enjoy their shredded chicken taco salad & green sauce (which you need to ask for). Hubs likes the salsa. Absolutely worth a stop while in Jefferson!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluejane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This restaurant has several chains. We dined at its Jefferson, Tx. location. The food was very good, not overly expensive and the service was excellent. We ate there twice on our 3 day visit to Jefferson, Tx. This says how much we liked it. Don't expect a fancy atmosphere. You're paying for food/service there. Not fancy tables.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was Good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hot sauce was strange at best. It had a strong taste of cumin. When I asked for a stronger sauce, it was much better--the green sauce. The food gets good marks. There was a mix up at the beginning where we were left sitting without service. They made this up with a free drink which I had to remind them about when the bill came.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had the sour cream chicken enchilada dinner. Wonderful Mexican food! Also had the queso - loved it! Very good chips, as well. Great service and fast, too. I would recommend this place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing