We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cozy!”
Review of The Steamboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Steamboat Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cozy!”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Me and my friend were here in April 2012. It was a lovely experience, Kristin and Byron was very nice and it was like being invited to a family. The nights on the porch is a memory for life! Thanks! I recommend this hotel to all my friends who wants to experience the real and genuine Texas!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in this charming B&B on a recent trip to Jefferson. We were treated like family, but in a good way ;) Kristin was a fabulous hostess and Byron was delightfully entertaining. The house itself was so comfortable and interesting. Something to peek your interest in every corner. This really is a "must stay" kind of place.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Men's Room" or Captain Jack's room. Very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cll227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I was in town for an event and was referred to the Steambost Inn Bed & Breakfast by a prominent citizen in Jefferson. We were treated like family. The atmosphere is warm, friendly and inviting. The hosts Kristin and Byron went above and beyond to assure that we had everything we needed! The rooms are decorated with a very personal touch and are very clean. The breakfast was excellent! I will definitly stay there again!! I highly reccomend the Steamboat Inn B & B!

Room Tip: All rooms are large and have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We decided to travel to Jefferson, TX at the last minute. Started looking for B&B that would be friendly to kids (we have three daughters between 5 and 10). Called The SteamBoat Inn and Kristin took care of us from the get-go. She helped us plan activities even before we set off on our trip, making sure we had tickets and reservations for the activities we were interested in. Once there we were greeted by the friendliest people! Kristin and Byron made us feel right at home. The place is great, the decor and setup very cool and full of charm (each room is set up with it's own theme and they are absolutely beautiful), and our kids had an absolute blast. The Steamboat Inn is a nice 2 blocks away from the center of the town, making the walk a breeze and very convenient. Would definitely recommend and will go back again. Jefferson is a very cool and interesting town, and the stay at the Steamboat Inn added to the experience and made it great! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guillermoramas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Kristin and Byron were awesome hosts! It was like staying with long time friends at their beautiful home. I got to take a peek at most of the rooms, and they were all clean, well decorated and inviting. Breakfast was delicious. The nightly conversation around the fire pit can't be beat! I didn't realize before booking how close the B&B was to the downtown area, so I was happily surprised to find it's within walking distance. AND, be sure to ask Kristin or Byron about the Caddo boat tour in Uncertain, TX. During the tour (and at home), Byron provides lots of interesting history and is one of the best conversationalists we have ever met. Kristin and Byron made our trip to Jefferson fondly memorable. We can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anmoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved our time with Kristy and Byron. We had a wonderful breakfast and wonderful conversation. These people have a genuine love for their business and community.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazy Town, NA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great hosts, great rooms, affordable rates, comfy beds, clean house (which must be a feat with the adorable pets -- but if I hadn't seen the cats, i wouldn't have known they were there), delicious breakfast, good conversation, and some history lessons mixed in with all of that. It was really really nice to feel like we were staying with friends (really considerate friends at that :D)! They made us feel very much at home. Really happy to have stumbled upon Kristy and Byron's place! It was within 2 short blocks of the main downtown area in Jefferson, so we didn't even use our car. Highly Recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
130.4 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
130.1 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
337 reviews
130.1 mi away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
130.1 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
130.0 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
97 reviews
130.0 mi away
Bed of Roses Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Inn

Property: The Steamboat Inn
Address: 114 N Marshall St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2230
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and Cozy, pet and child friendly. One of the closest B&Bs to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing