We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Was completely satisfied with the hotel. I was not expecting anything fancy. Just like stepping back in time. There was a TV in the room, totally unnecessary ...never turned it on. The bed was very comfortable. However, I would recommend bringing a fan with you. The A/C worked great but I need the air movement. The hotel was conviently located to everything in town.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

After reading some of the reviews here we were prepared a dump in chic's clothing but the truth was that it had charm to spare. Upon our arrival we were told that the room we reserved was without A/C so they gave us a suite (Room 22) for no extra charge. Problem was, the suite was reserved for the next night but the silver lining in the cloud is that we got to choose what room to spend the next night in (there were only two couples booked for the next night at that point so we had the pick of the place). What fun taking a peek inside all of the different rooms that the online pictures do not due justice to. We settled on room 20 as it had two beds, a view of the park and a full shower (the beds were not quite as comfy as the one in room 22, tho). We found the people at the front desk to be VERY friendly and helpful, especially Libby, and the manager, Angela, very accommodating (we were given a discount for the inconvenience). Loved the atmosphere of the hotel and how quiet it was at night - even on a Saturday - and how convenient it was to walk to everything. Only one minor complaint, no hot water in either room. Even with the hot water tap on sans the cold the water could only be called "not quite cold" at best. The upside? Less time in the shower/tub, more time to explore this quaint city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank antiquebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at the Jefferson the weekend before the 4th of July and stayed in room 17, upstairs. The room was clean and quaint, in period decor. The staff was very friendly and warm. Enjoyed my conversation with the staff about ghostly encounters that have been reported. i didnt see any ghosts but did have a Class A EMF session during my stay. I would recommend the Jefferson Hotel to anyone who enjoys history and who might be interested in a little amateur ghost hunting.

Room Tip: Room 17 has two queen sized beds, so it is great for a girlfriends weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay at the Jefferson Hotel was wonderful. My wife and I were greeted by the owner, and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean. Being that the hotel was built in the mid-1800's, the rooms were tiny and the floors creaked. Not a problem for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the historic aspect of the hotel. We were there for the ghosts, of course, and the staff was more than happy to share their experiences, as well as the experiences they had heard of from previous guests.
If you want to be pampered and have a 5-star upscale experience at this hotel, forget it. What you get at the Historic Jefferson Hotel is a clean room, friendly staff, and, if you're lucky, a ghostly experience you can remember for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jbo229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed two nights on june 25-26 and our room was immaculate. We ate at the restaurant and were seated immidiately. The waitress was supurb. The food was excellent. I have stayed at the Historic Jefferson Hotel many times over the years and have never had one bad experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The building is beautiful, that's why we booked this hotel. - The receptionist did not greet us but just demanded our name and then stated the amount we needed to pay. Note, they charge a down payment when you book, and the remainder on arrival. Even with your credit card on file, they wouldn't wait for payment until departure. And the receptionist made snappish remarks when I said I am not accustomed to such procedure from the other hotels I frequent. - In the room, housekeeping had forgotten to clean the sink, there were plenty of hairs from the previous guest's shaving. And a chair was so historic it almost broke down when you touched it. - At dinnertime, the restaurant would not have a table for us although it was half empty, and stayed so all evening. (We were decently clad, no shorts or flipflops.) After some discussion and deliveration, they would have changed their mind and condescended to have us, but we decided to carry our money elsewhere. - The culmination were the notices they post. Checkout time is 11am; if you miss it, you pay $ 25. But these 25 bucks carry you only until 12 noon, after which they make you pay another night! - We felt not appreciated as paying guests but rather like inmates. Pity that such a great historic building is in such hands!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mbshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia M, Manager at The Historic Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

I want to apologize that you were not greeted with politeness and more professionally! I'm sorry that we are not like larger hotels, which allow guest to pay at check-out, our policy of paying at check-in has been in place for more that 15 years. I also, wish you would have brought your room condition to my attention so I could have made your stay more acceptable. We now have policies in place to ensure this does not happen, along with video and audio surveillance and cleaning logs. Please call the hotel and ask for me I would like to know exactly when you stayed so I may investigate this matter further. Again I'm sorry and wish you would give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

For four of us, this was our first visit to this piece of Texas history. Beautifully decorated building with lots of antiques and stories of hauntings by a number of different spirits. Upon arrival, however, we found that the hotel has a reputation for being haunted. Read the visitor log upon arrival for a number of "first-hand" experiences with the local ghosts. Much fun!! True or not, I can not say. But it was totally freaky for the ladies who didn't get much sleep, while the guys, on the other hand, had a restful night in very comfortable beds. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the visit to Jefferson which included antique shopping and soaking in the history of the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed with antique furnishings. If bothered by the hauntings, ask for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#12 of 28 in Jefferson
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Jefferson Hotel

Address: 124 W Austin St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2202
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a time when steamboats plied the Big Cypress River from New Orleans and true Southern gentility was the order of the day a stately structure, now known as the Jefferson Hotel, was built. Once used as a warehouse to store cotton, this lovely building changed hands numerous times. At the turn of the twentieth century it was transformed into a hotel and has served as a haven for weary travelers since that time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Hotel Jefferson
Historic Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing