We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Deridder, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed at the Jefferson Hotel mid October 2008. The hotel is a historic hotel, so with that in mind, you won't, and shouldn't expect to find state of the art facilities. For a historical, old hotel, the facilities were nice, the room good and the location was perfect for access to everything in historic downtown Jefferson. The floors were uneven in places, a bit loud and creaky, and you could definitely hear through the walls, but the hotel has a zero tolerance for loud noise after 10pm due to this. We almost had to use it one night as a group of people felt compelled to carry on a 10 minute conversation outside our room after midnight, but they left before we felt the need to make a call to complain. The decorations are nicely appointed and antique in nature, lending to the historic feel of the hotel. There is a nice balcony on the 2nd floor that was nice to sit on and relax with a book and a cup of coffee. If you are looking for a modern, new facility, stay somewhere else. If you are looking for a historical feel, then this is a place to consider. I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Nice, historical feel that was convenient to everything in historic downtown Jefferson
  • Disliked — The train going nearby almost every 2 hours, but that's a problem anywhere in Jefferson, not just this hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andbod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    44
    38
    23
    22
See reviews for
37
72
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

The Jefferson Hotel is a great historic property that we rank as one of our favorite places to stay. We have stayed several times at this hotel in different rooms and look forward to returning again. The people are very helpful and friendly. There is not anyone on the property at night except the other guests. Contact and emergency phone numbers are posted at the front desk if they should be needed. The hotel is full of antiques and each one of the 23 rooms has it's own colorful history. Quiet evenings on the second story balcony have been a pleasure as we watch the day pass at a relaxing pace. The hotel is in the heart of the Historic District and walking is the best form of transportation. The walls are thin in this old hotel and there are plenty of creaks and groans, almost like the building has a life of its own. Any rowdy/noisy guests could make for a long night due to the thin walls, but we have never had this problem. Each room is different and your needs and preferences should be evaluated while making your room selection. There is not an elevator in the building so if you are unable to negotiate a flight of stairs, the ground floor rooms are a must. Bedding in the rooms will range from full to two queens to king-size beds. Many rooms have only claw foot tubs with some having hand showers. We suggest that you read the room description and ask questions while reserving your room to get your best match and avoid a possible disappointment. The owners have done much work restoring this property but there are some improvements that are still needed. This property has recently been placed on the market for sale.

We were finally able to book room 19 in the Jefferson Hotel after many attempts. This room is where the most paranormal activity has been observed. My wife had forgotten to pack her hairbrush and sent me to the local grocery store to pick one up. We were to be the only guests in the hotel for the first night so any noise should be easily explained. After I left, she decided to go sit on the balcony so she would not feel so alone. She opened the door to room 19 and heard a scratching on the wall, as she was about to walk the length of the hall to the balcony. She immediately jumped back into the room and sat on the bed. She called me on my cell phone to see if I was playing a joke and found out that I was driving and currently in front of the old Texaco station in town. She made me stay on the phone during the rest of my errand. While we were on the phone she felt a cool breeze across her face and I told her to go across the room and get her Gauss (Electromagnetic field) meter and see what it was reading. The air conditioner was not turned on at this time. She had scanned the room earlier with the meter several times. Her earlier readings were ~1.5 mG which are normal readings per our past experiences with this meter. The meter was pegged out at 20+ mG over the bed! We have never seen this meter alert like this, ever! I remained on the phone and made my purchase and hurried back to the room. During my drive back she said that the high reading had left the bed and had moved between the bed and the door. I arrived back to the room and the meter went back to the lower normal readings as I entered the room. She said that she is now a believer!

We did not have anything strange happen the rest of the night. The room retained the Gauss (EMF) meter readings at ~1.5 mG for the remainder of our stay. The only other excitement we had was a noise by the window while we were trying to rest. I carefully opened the blinds to see a squirrel sitting on our ledge eating something. We watched him for several minutes until he hopped onto the phone wires and walked off. We would suggest this room to people interested in the ghost stories that are associated with this room. If you are not interested in investigating the paranormal activity surrounding this room, you will find other room selections in the hotel more comfortable and a better choice.

If you are looking for a new and high tech place to stay this is not it, but if a trip in a time machine, back to a more simple time is of interest to you, this will be a most welcome adventure.
Travel safe!_JAGIN

  • Liked — Old historic hotel with a friendly staff in a great location.
  • Disliked — Full size beds are not very comfortable. No pool.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

My cousin and I just got back from a wonderful weekend in Jefferson, TX. We stayed 2 nights in the Jefferson Hotel, and hated to leave! The town is beautiful, truly a step back in time! The brick paved streets, the buildings, the horse drawn carriages, and the stream boats really give you a sense and feel ,of days gone by.

We really enjoyed visiting with the locals who were more than willing to share their supernatural experiences and the town's history with us. They really make you feel welcome! While I am sure this is true at many of the hotels, I would recommend the Jefferson. The staff is so nice, especially the manager, Lindsay! She is awesome! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sstandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Lake Ranch, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

Jefferson is a cute little Historic town know for it's beautiful architecture, ghosts and great food. The Jefferson Hotel never fails to live up to all of these expectations for us.
Of course, we always stay in Room 19 - sometimes it's quiet, sometimes not. The bathroom really freaks me out - to the degree that I almost consider neglecting my hygiene during my stay! Not kidding.
The staff are great, the restaurant, Lamache's, is always fantastic and roaming around the staff-less hotel at night is always fun.
I highly recommend!

  • Liked — The period detail.
  • Disliked — Restaurant hours.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leppardett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

The Jefferson Hotel is truly the kind of hotel that gives you a feeling of being in the past. The decor inside the hotel is reminiscent of a simpler time. If you are looking for a modern hotel with cable tv and a jacuzzi , then this is not the hotel for you.

But the simplicity of the Jefferson is what makes it so special. Just walking down the wooden staircase, with all of its creaks, makes you feel nostalgic. when you reach the bottom step you can start to smell the wonderful aromas from Lamache's Italian restaurant next door.

There is a great balcony on the second floor that offers a fantastic view of the main drag through town. of course while there you always have the chance of bumping into a ghost in the middle of the night!

but even if you don't, i assure you that you will fall in love with this place!

  • Liked — Nostalgic feel and of course the ghosts :)
  • Disliked — The lack of showers. Bathtubs are impractical and unhygenic.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

A bunch of friends go to the Jefferson once a year for birthdays. We love the Jefferson Hotel and Jefferson Texas. It has become a tradition to stay at the Jefferson Hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful and the rooms are unique and clean.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank jemrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

My sister and I have stayed at this location about 3 times a year for the last 7 years - WE LOVE IT!!!
The Manager (Lindsey) is FABULOUS - She will make you feel so welcome!!!
Please realize when you book your stay here - this is an HISTORIC PROPERTY - it is NOT a chain hotel. If you want 24-hour front desk service, room service, etc -- then this is not the place for you.
You come to this location for the atmosphere - you can FEEL the history when you walk through the front door!!! And, if you are lucky, maybe one of the resident ghosts will stop by your room and say "Hi"!!!

  • Liked — The Manager and the ghosts
  • Disliked — nothing!!!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bird1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
18.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
0.6 mi away
Inn of Jefferson
Inn of Jefferson
#3 of 4 in Jefferson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 27 in Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
130.4 mi away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#10 of 27 in Jefferson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Historic Jefferson Hotel
Address: 124 West Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a time when steamboats plied the Big Cypress River from New Orleans and true Southern gentility was the order of the day a stately structure, now known as the Jefferson Hotel, was built. Once used as a warehouse to store cotton, this lovely building changed hands numerous times. At the turn of the twentieth century it was transformed into a hotel and has served as a haven for weary travelers since that time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Hotel Jefferson
Historic Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing