We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jefferson Historical Museum

Jefferson Historical Museum
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Museum is all about the local area, many floors, and contains history of the business' that occupied the building throughout the years. There is also a miniature railroad exhibit at the back of the museum that is well worth the extra $ to visit in conjunction with the museum entrance fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    44
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It was a museum...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

It was located in a old, former government building. I guess I was expecting a majority of the exhibits to be specifically related to Jefferson. However, it was a mixture of local and other items. All in all, it was neat to see the old building, but can't say it was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“"Jefferson's history exposed in this surprising museum"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Jefferson Historical Museum is located at the end of Austin Street in the historic district, in what locals call the "old" post office and courthouse. On four floors, an amazing array of artifacts, art, history, doll collections, gun collection, arrowheads and the like are located. This city has an interesting background making this museum a pleasant interlude to shopping and eating in the fine restaurants. The wife and I were surprised at the quality of the collection and restoration of many of the displays. Allow an hour or so to visit. Fee reasonable, even consider a donation to keep this preservation effort alive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shuttrrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a tour to see the historical building.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Random collections - didn't quite understand the tie to Jefferson of some. But definitely interesting enough to warrant the fee. The historical building was worth seeing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jo_coch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A neat little museum, see the trains too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I really enjoyed this museum. There was a lot of different little exhibits, ranging from fine art upstairs, to a case showing Japanese dolls, to examples of an early foundry in the basement. Be sure to spend the extra couple of bucks to see the trains out back. There is a model railroad in a separate building that has really fine detail. My wife and I enjoyed it, and even my little boy (eleven months old) enjoyed the train horns as they went by. :)

Oh, there was only ONE down side to this museum. We couldn't get the stroller in, so I carried the baby around (he squirms when he wants to see something... my achin' back!) the exhibits. I would have left it outside but it kept threatening rain, so I walked back to the car and packed it away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jefferson Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing