We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Stillwater Inn

Stillwater Inn
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$42
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in a 1890's home. White tablecloths and silverplate flatware. Menu changes seasonally with daily specials. Chef owned, since 1984. Casual attire. Men asked to remove their hats before being seated.Fresh seafood, rack of lamb, veal dishes occasionally.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second time to visit. This time we brought our teenage daughter and she loved it as much as we do. A real fine dining experience which is hard to find in Eadt Texas. We will never visit Jefferson without a meal at Stillwater Inn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank car2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    13
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Shrimp Scampi with Lumpmeat Crab was excellent! Ambiance was nice. A little more legroom around sewing machine tables would be nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank katherineanneoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antiquebeak
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner Perfection”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Based on the reviews here we decided to give the Stillwater Inn a try for our anniversary dinner and I must say the reviews were spot on! We made reservations for Saturday night but decided to go early instead (had a ghost tour to attend) and it seems that reservations weren't necessary. We were immediately greeted and seated in a cozy room with bird themed art (how did they know?!?) and the waiter was prompt to attend to our drinks and appetizers. Our dinners (both fish) were perfection itself and the service constant without being a nuisance. This is the perfect place for any special occasion or when you have a hankering for fine dining. We WILL be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antiquebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnsboro, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" You expect it to be good, and they deliver "”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

4 of us ate on a Saturday night and the atmosphere and food were great. A must stop in my opinion when you visit Jefferson.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkph5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stillwater inn restaurant was a surprising fine dining experience for such a small out of the way place. The menu was varied and interesting with a few very nice additions/ specials for the evening. The four of us each had a different entree. Each was prepared very well with interesting sauces that enhanced not overwhelmed. Desert choices were interesting and the limoncello gelato was fantastic. The atmosphere was very nice and quiet with plenty of room between tables. Waitstaff were polished professionals you would expect in a large high end urban restaurant, attentive but not intrusive. My only mild complaint was the wine list which was limited and there were very few by the glass choices which is difficult for four not wanting the same wine. A very pleasant experience across the board.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stillwater Inn also viewed

 

Been to Stillwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing