We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect place ever.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Mulberry Inn and Cottages
Ranked #6 of 28 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2009

This B&B had it all. Me and my husband loved the Monterey Bay room. We are looking forward to another trip back there. The staff was wonderful, and the breakfast was absolutely fabulous. I felt like someone important when I was there. The room was well equipped and stocked with just about everything that you need to make your stay great. Nothing was forgotten or spared where this room was concernted. Room was immaculately clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. I cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underpaidhomemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed the week before Valentine's Day and managed to get a room on short notice. The owners have meticulously maintained this beautiful historic home and provide a fabulous gourmet breakfast including a cake with mulberries grown on the property. The quiet back-street location is a short drive from the downtown area which often roars with motorcycles of visitors and we did not hear a thing. It was a pleasure to enjoy the house and grounds which are obviously a labor of love for the proprietors. Jefferson has a lot of historic properties, each with a story to tell and quite a small town charm. Old Mulberry Inn is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of travelling busy highways and an enchanting place for an unique East Texas adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texastraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We just got back from 2 nights at the Old Mulberry and we truly loved the entire stay. Donald and Gloria were very welcoming without being at all intrusive, and gave great recommendations on restaurants and things to do during the day around town.

The house was by far the cleanest place that either of us have ever stayed and the bed was far and away more comfortable than any hotel I've ever been to. The breakfast both mornings was excellent- and it was certainly not the same dish both mornings as another reviewer suggested.

I feel that I should also clarify that the rules mentioned in some other comments have been changed and are worded in a much more friendly way.

Both of us came away very impressed by the Old Mulberry and would recommend it for anyone in need of a romantic getaway or a quiet night in Jefferson.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank phillip610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Have stayed at the Inn 6 times. Food is consistently good, rooms are clean and uniquely decorated - great attention to details.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank swhCoppell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I've stayed at many B&Bs, in Texas, Colorado, and Ireland, and none compare to the Old Mulberry Inn. It is charming, comfortable, clean, and cozy. As a matter of fact, this was the second time I've stayed here, so I'm a repeat guest. The grounds are lovely, but it's what's inside that makes this place spectacular. The innkeepers, Donald and Gloria, make sure you have everything you could possibly want. They greet you on arrival, chat a few minutes, and show you to your room. Both times, the room has just drawn me in because of the beautiful furnishings, luxurious linens, and exquisite details that make each room special and unique. And talk about clean! You couldn't wish for cleaner, more comfortable accomodations. Your hosts will help you any way they can, from answering questions about activities, suggesting restaurants based on your budget, and even arming you with a map and directions to get to wherever you want to go. The Great Room is cozy and very functional. There you can serve yourself to the homemade cookies, salty treats, and soft drinks put there just for you. You can also find a delightful read or movie to watch to while away any down time you may have. And the breakfasts are supreme. They are delicious gourmet breakfasts, prepared with fresh ingredients and served to you on pretty dishes in a beautiful dining room. You get the works- quiches, fresh fruits, meats, and other side dishes, along with juice, coffee, and hot tea. It's all incredibly tasty, served with a warm smile and kind words. I plan to return to Jefferson often, and I'll always stay at the Old Mulberry Inn. Kudos to Donald and Gloria for their kindnesses, and for the way they run their inn.
Sincerely,
Therese B.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tburgamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The problem with this bed and breakfast is NOT the house, the garden, the rooms or the the luxury feel of the bedding and the overall physical quality. It was also exceptionally clean -- definitely one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. The problem was the hosts, the NUMEROUS rules and the atmosphere that resulted from those two things. It wasn't just the military-like precision one sensed from the hosts -- it was the several page book of rules left on our bed every morning. It was the negative language used to write the rules -- as if every guest was out to ruin their bed and breakfast. The rules were endless: no perfume to the breakfast table, no soda cans at the table, no coffee mugs from your room, only one particularly-labeled washcloth in the bathroom that should be used to clean up messes, etc. You only get new bath towels every two days and no new sheets for your entire stay (with the prices we were paying, we expected clean sheets every day!) I understand and fully support no smoking and no candles rules -- but again, the way the rules were written was so insulting. Haven't these people ever heard of marketing? Another example about the lack of service: My husband wanted coffee in the morning but b/c we were not allowed to bring the coffee mugs from our room to the table, he left the mug in our room. We didn't know that we were supposed to bring our room mugs for early coffee -- but then NOT to the table. There were no coffee mugs available unless one brought their own from their room. It was very confusing and not at all what one expects from a luxury bed and breakfast. We also had the SAME MEAL THREE DAYS IN A ROW! We had the same quiche every morning, along with a small piece of cantaloupe and a bunch of grapes. The only thing that varied was the type of coffee or spice cake we received. Every person is given one glass of orange juice; when you are finished, the innkeeper takes it away and you are not offered seconds. Where was the hospitality? Where was the warm, cozy atmosphere that comes with enthusiastic hosts who enjoy their job? These people obviously do not get much pleasure out of running their bed and breakfast because they don't want you to move, much less relax and enjoy yourself. We went with another couple and although we all thought the house and grounds were lovely and wonderfully renovated, we all agreed that we would not be coming back. The endless, picky rules and overall negative attitude of the hosts created a tense atmosphere that ruined our stay. I hope Donald and his wife can learn to relax and enjoy life or they will soon find themselves out of the bed and breakfast business.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rwhittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The property itself is lovely and comfortable (with one or two exceptions) but our minimal contact with the inkeepers was disappointing. We arrived a bit early, and, respecting the 3:00 check-in, we were going to ask if we could just drop off our bags and then come back to check in. Mrs. Inkeeper met us at the door and rather shortly informed us that they had a family crisis, there would be NO breakfast, our key was under the mat, and did I want to come IN or stay OUT because she was leaving and locking the door. We came in, but discovered that they key she left us didn't work for our room. We found the office and tried several other keys from the board and finally got in our room.

To Summarize, the room was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. I just felt that the rules were rather harshly presented; I felt scolded from the moment we walked in -- the rule book includes: "Don't even THINK about changing the temperature setting. Do not bring soda cans to the breakfast table. The thermostat will not be changed - if you're uncomfortable, put on a sweater." etc. While I didn't object to any of the rules per se, I felt they could have been communicated in a warm and welcoming manner. The inkeeper herself was quite rude, and while this may be excused in light of her family crisis, it still wasn't a nice way to arrive. I was worried the whole time that we were going to do something wrong and incur her wrath.

Other concerns:
- We were disappointed that there was no breakfast, but they did adjust our rate.
- Water pressure in the shower was very low, which made showering a chore rather than a relaxing experience.
- Sodas and cookies provided were very nice; however, I truly missed having bottled water. We had to shop for some in town.
- You will hear some trains at night, so if this disturbs you, I recommend bringing some earplugs.

I hate to give a negative review for such a nice place, but a little care and concern on the part of the inkeepers could make it a truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHKDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Bed of Roses Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mulberry Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mulberry Inn and Cottages

Address: 209 E Jefferson St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2017
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy a relaxing sanctuary. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate at Old Mulberry Inn, a large, Geek Revival style home offering modern amenities with vintage accents. The Inn has 4 guest rooms, each with separate baths. It's two adjacent cottages offer even more luxurious accommodations. Each of the 5 cottage guest rooms has a private entrance and baths. The park like setting has gigantic pecan trees, flowering crepe myrtles, flowers, shrubs, and, of course, the ancient, Old Mulberry tree. Free wifi and in-room, HD cable TV are available in each room for those disagreeable times that indoors is preferred. Of course, to soak away your cares, you may also choose from a combination claw foot/shower, garden tub, or even large 2-person garden tub and double-headed shower in 3 of our cottage rooms. Old Mulberry Inn & Cottages has legendary breakfasts... Breakfast begins with a tasty appetizer, followed by the delectable main course. Then, comes the luscious dessert - EXQUISITE! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing