We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again!”

Caddo Outback Backwater Tours
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Karnack
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Personal Tours of beautiful Caddo Lake. Swamp Tour in a Go Devil swamp boat in the largest continuous stand of Bald Cypress in the world. Scenic Tours, Birding Tours, Photo Tours. NOTE: GOOGLE MAPS HAS THE LOCATION ABOUT A MILE SHORT OF THE ACTUAL LOCATION KEEP GOING UNTIL YOU SEE MY SIGNS 'CADDO OUTBACK TOURS'
Burleson, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

John met us upon arrival at his property and was very personable! The swamp tour was amazing! John was very knowledgeable about Caddo Lake and educated us on the trees and the lake habitat. He took us back into the thick swamp which we thoroughly enjoyed. We can't wait to do a night tour with him next year!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

One of the main reasons for taking our recent trip to Caddo Lake was to tour the lake. We preferred a small, more private experience, and was referred to John by the local State Park employees. With his smaller boat, you can get around into places the other boat tours can't. It was perfection. John's knowledge of the lake, combined with his personality, made our 1-1/2 hour tour much more than we expected. Only one thing we'd change: next time we'll go longer! Probably the most magical and calming experiences I've ever had. There's simply no other way to experience the lake. Thanks, John.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
2 reviews
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

John is friendly and very knowledgable. My wife, our three-year old, and I had a fun time experiencing the fantastic scenery around Caddo Lake and learning about its history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing day and Knowlegable tour guide”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is our second tour with John Winn and I do not know if a trip to Caddo Lake would be complete without 11/2 hours with John. It was winter and the cypress were dormant and gray but the beauty of the Spanish Moss and colorful salvania made it a special day for a post Valentines float. The elegant duck blinds and mysteries of Caddo Lake can be discovered here. He is the" real deal" and everyone in the area knows John and speaks highly of him. Great value for the money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TxShurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip !!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We reviewed our options before planning this trip and it payed off !!! John Winn is a super guide and his knowledge of Caddo Lake makes the trip even more interesting. We went on a cool, misty morning that made it even more mysterious. With the go-devil boat, John can take you back into the really "backwaters" of Caddo. We really enjoyed our time on Caddo and will recommend it to our friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caddo Outback Backwater Tours also viewed

 

Been to Caddo Outback Backwater Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing