We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardleigh
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a buyagift deal. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was good too with fresh fruit and cooked breakfast. We must have had a happy cook on the second day as we had double portions for our breakfast .Free fast wifi too even in the bedrooms. However it could do with a little attention. We had to reconnect the shower tube when we got there and the TV had been switched off by a switch hidden behind the flat screen.The carpet around the bar could do with being replaced too. But it was in a handy position if you could find it without going down the A12 for 8 miles having missed the turn, it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    51
    53
    32
    35
See reviews for
15
85
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fantastic hotel for the cost and friendly staff good clean rooms and plenty of parking spaces.
The hotel is 10 minutes from the town centre and easy to find from the main roads leading in
And out of Colchester.
Best hotel we have found so far.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Totally disappointed I know it's only 3 star but some standard should always be expected. We stayed here for our anniversary as a gift from my mother and paid extra to have a suite.
The suite would have been excellent value had it not been for the old, worn out and quite franlky filthy furniture that was covered in stains, so bad we asked the receptionist to have it covered with a bed sheet, the carpet had holes where the radiator had been taken out as well as riddled with stains, the shower curtain was disgusting,
The ironing board was even worse.
The morning of our first stay we was told that we couldn't have breakfast by a very rude man because the chef had not turned in and that we could have continental instead, toast and cereal was the only option they did have juice in a Tupperware tub but it had a dead greenfly in it. I should say that the receptionist was very helpful and polite she should be working at an establishment that deserves her. This place could be a very nice hotel if only t had the correct ownership that was prepared to care.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for one night, for which, it was perfectly adequate. This could be a lovely Hotel, but it is in need of some cash investment - I guess at this price, it's unlikely.

Rooms were superficially clean, but in need of some deep cleaning and re- furbishing. Same in the rest of the Hotel. Lovely, large patio area overlooking the lake, but only two tables, so no chance of sitting out there on a summers evening. Again, very nice conservatory, which could be fabulous with a bit of attention. Rooms were stuffy and hot. Not much going on in the Restaurant. Our meal was reasonable, but over-priced and only instant coffee available. The waitress was friendly, but it was clearly all too much trouble on a warm summer's evening. We didn't have breakfast, so I can't comment on that. Bar prices are high.

On a positive note, the receptionist was very welcoming and very patient. She had the unfortunate task of explaining the Hotel's £20 pre- authorisation policy to every guest and when some (understandably) and especially from other countries thought they were being fleeced, managed to keep her cool. The Hotel is very conveniently located for the A12 and surprisingly quiet and of course very competitively priced. It's useful to have the bar and restaurant on site, so there is no need to go out if you don't want to.

Would we stay there again? Well, yes, but it probably wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for my graduation, as it was the only place available for my budget last minute.

For the price and our requirements, it was ok. The bathroom was nice but the bedroom was outdated and small. There were black marks on the wall and the decor was grubby, but the room itself was very clean.

The reception area is lovely, the location is surprisingly serene, the alcohol was reasonably priced and from the photocopied a4 food menu I saw the food was cheap for a hotel.. Just fa from posh!

The redeeming feature was the staff member who worked the night shift. Usually, these seem to be bored and rude. Although bored, it felt as though he could not do enough for us. We spent hours talking, and watching game shows on the TV in the bar.

Thus from my experience the value for money is lower than the similarly priced premier inn. Therefore if I had a choice (and wasn't so restricted by my budget this time) I would choose to go elsewhere. However, staying here is far from a bad experience - especially if the friendly member of staff is working again at night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here for a night, with my Grandad as we were going to an open day at the University of Essex. We got a double room each. The rooms were very plain and had a faint smell of smoke but they had a clean bathroom and complementary tea and coffee (Twinings Breakfast tea at that!)

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, she told us how to get into the town and printed me a postcode of the University I was visiting. The full English breakfasts we received the next day were petty, not worth £10 per breakfast, they also have a range of cereals, juices and hot drinks.

The hotel is hard to find without a SatNav, it's tucked in the back of a main road, which made me consider whether or not to book it, but from the hotel, the road can barely be heard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a two night break in Suffolk (which was lovely). Good things about the hotel:

It seemed to be conveniently situated for getting on and off the major road network.

It seemed to be clean enough.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Good wifi connection in the bedroom.

Not so good things:

The food was poor, quite unappetising.

Public areas were shabby, in particular the carpet in the bar area was dreadful, torn and stained.

Bedrooms were adequate but had no ventilation unless you wanted the window fully open. There was no bedside/reading light, you had to have the whole room lit up. The mattress was saggy.

Drinks were very expensive given the standard of the environment, £5 for a glass of poor quality wine. You might expect to pay that in a 'nice' place, but not in a shabby, tired hotel.

The situation of the hotel meant that there seemed to be nowhere to walk to so you were trapped there. However - a tip - we did find a nice friendly pub if you turn left out of the hotel entrance and walk a few hundred yards up the road. looked like you might be able to get a nice meal there.

Room Tip: I don't think there's much to choose. Eat elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardleigh
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
413 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
2.8 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Address: A12/A120 Ardleigh Junction, Ardleigh, Colchester C07 7QY, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Colchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Ardleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Colchester Hotel Colchester
Colchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing