We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Value at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardleigh
King's Lynn, Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Value at all.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The room is barely adequate but the bar and food prices are absolutely extortionate. £4 for a pint of diet pepsi and £13.95 for the worst hotel breakfast I've ever had.
The actual hotel has some character to it and it is well located with ample parking and is set in nice grounds.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    52
    32
    35
See reviews for
15
82
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Massive potholes in carpark when we found the entrance of the hotel we were greeted nicely at reception. All down hill from there tho! Seriously dated and run down! Carpet in our room thread bare! Breakfast was foul! On check out not one person asked if we enjoyed our stay! In dining area please make sure you aren't near the fire escape because there is a real possibility of you falling on the way out!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jinienei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ardleigh hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a buyagift deal. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was good too with fresh fruit and cooked breakfast. We must have had a happy cook on the second day as we had double portions for our breakfast .Free fast wifi too even in the bedrooms. However it could do with a little attention. We had to reconnect the shower tube when we got there and the TV had been switched off by a switch hidden behind the flat screen.The carpet around the bar could do with being replaced too. But it was in a handy position if you could find it without going down the A12 for 8 miles having missed the turn, it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fantastic hotel for the cost and friendly staff good clean rooms and plenty of parking spaces.
The hotel is 10 minutes from the town centre and easy to find from the main roads leading in
And out of Colchester.
Best hotel we have found so far.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Totally disappointed I know it's only 3 star but some standard should always be expected. We stayed here for our anniversary as a gift from my mother and paid extra to have a suite.
The suite would have been excellent value had it not been for the old, worn out and quite franlky filthy furniture that was covered in stains, so bad we asked the receptionist to have it covered with a bed sheet, the carpet had holes where the radiator had been taken out as well as riddled with stains, the shower curtain was disgusting,
The ironing board was even worse.
The morning of our first stay we was told that we couldn't have breakfast by a very rude man because the chef had not turned in and that we could have continental instead, toast and cereal was the only option they did have juice in a Tupperware tub but it had a dead greenfly in it. I should say that the receptionist was very helpful and polite she should be working at an establishment that deserves her. This place could be a very nice hotel if only t had the correct ownership that was prepared to care.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for one night, for which, it was perfectly adequate. This could be a lovely Hotel, but it is in need of some cash investment - I guess at this price, it's unlikely.

Rooms were superficially clean, but in need of some deep cleaning and re- furbishing. Same in the rest of the Hotel. Lovely, large patio area overlooking the lake, but only two tables, so no chance of sitting out there on a summers evening. Again, very nice conservatory, which could be fabulous with a bit of attention. Rooms were stuffy and hot. Not much going on in the Restaurant. Our meal was reasonable, but over-priced and only instant coffee available. The waitress was friendly, but it was clearly all too much trouble on a warm summer's evening. We didn't have breakfast, so I can't comment on that. Bar prices are high.

On a positive note, the receptionist was very welcoming and very patient. She had the unfortunate task of explaining the Hotel's £20 pre- authorisation policy to every guest and when some (understandably) and especially from other countries thought they were being fleeced, managed to keep her cool. The Hotel is very conveniently located for the A12 and surprisingly quiet and of course very competitively priced. It's useful to have the bar and restaurant on site, so there is no need to go out if you don't want to.

Would we stay there again? Well, yes, but it probably wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for my graduation, as it was the only place available for my budget last minute.

For the price and our requirements, it was ok. The bathroom was nice but the bedroom was outdated and small. There were black marks on the wall and the decor was grubby, but the room itself was very clean.

The reception area is lovely, the location is surprisingly serene, the alcohol was reasonably priced and from the photocopied a4 food menu I saw the food was cheap for a hotel.. Just fa from posh!

The redeeming feature was the staff member who worked the night shift. Usually, these seem to be bored and rude. Although bored, it felt as though he could not do enough for us. We spent hours talking, and watching game shows on the TV in the bar.

Thus from my experience the value for money is lower than the similarly priced premier inn. Therefore if I had a choice (and wasn't so restricted by my budget this time) I would choose to go elsewhere. However, staying here is far from a bad experience - especially if the friendly member of staff is working again at night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardleigh
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
3.2 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
756 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Address: A12/A120 Ardleigh Junction, Ardleigh, Colchester C07 7QY, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Colchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Ardleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Colchester Hotel Colchester
Colchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing