We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment with a side disappointment”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #394 of 557 Restaurants in Katy
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointment with a side disappointment”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We weren't asked if we wanted to be sat in the bar. We both ordered filets. One was 1/2" thick and 6" around and the other a proper filet shape. The first bar waiter said it looked like a sirloin but then when I explained I ordered a filet it was " oh, on a medium, the weights smash it down." Then the manager insisted it was due to their filets all being hand cut. One waitress called me "Baby" and one just pointed and grunted at my tea glass to get me to hand it over for refilling. If you want a "steakhouse," I would try somewhere else.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bintheloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Call Ahead Seating?”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We took the children to outback steakhouse on Friday night. Before we got in the car to leave at 6:03 pm we called ahead for a 6:15 arrival. When we arrived, the manager whispered to the seating lady to give us a buzzer. We sat down and watched person after person whom had arrived before and after us get seated. My husband got up after about 30 minutes –and asked the manager when it was our turn. He explained we had called ahead. The lady said I'm sure we'll be seating you next. Three more groups were taken back and finally we were given a booth. The service was good the food Only so so. I had the mixed grill. It was very over cooked.
We were disappointed because we waited for forty five minutes. We finally got our food at 7:30 pm. Needless to say, our 4, 7, and 9 year olds were starving by then.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnnis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only so-so”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have been to many an Outback, This one didn't do any thing for me.
One steak had to send a steak back so they could finish cooking it. Probably below average for Outback Steakhouse.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jandyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only open for Dinner...... :-(”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Tried to go to this restaurant, but not able to. They are only open after 4:00pm. I wanted to eat lunch, but they were not open.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Okay food--kind of generic and corporate”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Okay food--kind of generic and corporate. Not really Australian--they don't serve real australian food like Aussie Meat pies or Vegemite. It's essentially TGI Friday's with a preten Australian accent. It doesn't have much personality--you don't feel any connection to the owner or the food--more of a chain store feel.
However the food is okay, not too crowded and not too expensive. I probably wouldn't bring a date here or expect to try something unusual but it's not that bad either

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing