We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great breakfast and came with the price of the room. The breakfast was actually cooked individually, not buffet. Hotel was clean and well maintained. When we checked on the confirmation a couple of days in advanced, the clerk seemed not to care. Our rooms were not reserved correctly. When we called again it seemed like her supervisor must have been present because her attitude was a little better but still a little curt. I've never been in a hotel with as many outlets. I didn't even have to get the power strip out. Being on the 5th floor, the water pressure was a little less than desired, but manageable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Rusty;

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest.

It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us

At your service;

Mallory Wicker
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    76
    17
    3
    12
See reviews for
69
61
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
305 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed 5 nights at the Kemah Holiday Inn on business. My stay was excellent. The location was an easy drive to Texas City and the hotel is very new and modern. I was in room 425 and it is a large room with a king sized bed. The room is modern and has a long counter and a table that pulls out as a work station for you laptop. The room has WiFi or you can plug in with a cable to get Internet. I Internet was reliable and fast. The room was equipped with a microwave and refrigerator which is nice to store drinks and leftovers in plus you can warm up things if needed. The AC unit worked well and I found it to be pretty quiet. The bathroom was spacious. The room did not have a tube but the stand-up shower was big. It took a few minutes to get hot water but it was hot once it got there. The water pressure is average but sufficient. I found the rooms to be relatively quiet.

There are many restaurants and the board walk are within a 5 to 10 minute walk. There is a Target across the road and I was able to walk to it as well. There are other restaurants and a Walmart within a 5 minute drive as well. Please note that this is a Holiday Inn and not a Holiday Inn Express. They do not offer a complimentary breakfast. They do serve breakfast in their bar/restaurant. I’m not a coffee drinker but I found it weird that they have coffee urn out from 4am to 6am and take it in at 6am. If you want coffee after that you have to go to the restaurant to get it. I was told that you had to pay but one of my co-workers got coffee and didn’t pay so I don’t know what the status is on that.

I did eat at the restaurant one evening and had the salmon. It was really good and reasonably priced. It was nice not to have to leave the hotel that evening. They have an outdoor pool and the workout room looked well equipped. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The location is very good. Great place to stay for business or as a jumping off point if you are visiting Houston and Galveston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargazerm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Stargazerm31;

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property during your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team we thank you!

Please come and stay again when your travels bring you back to the Kemah area.

We remain at your service;

Mallory Wicker
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Ga
Level Contributor
339 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekend visit to the Houston/Galveston area. It is a great location if you want to see the Kemah boardwalk. We stayed on the 5th floor and the view was great. They shot off fireworks that night and we had the best seats around from our room. Bed very comfortable, bathroom only has a shower, but it was large with lots of hot water. Very sleek design interior. It does have a in room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Very quite and clean. Had the breakfast buffet in the Sports Bar there in the hotel. Lots of hot food, bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, French toast along with fruit, cereal, juices. All this at a very reasonable amount. Would stay here agin

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property during your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team we thank you!
Please come and stay again when your travels bring you back to the Kemah area.
At your service,
Jessica Medlin
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The décor was modern and stylish and very clean. The rooms were fantastic! In addition to the normal amenities, it had lots of plugs and outlets conveniently located. There were some interesting lighting options I had never seen before but were really nice to have. The bathroom had a nice big walk in shower (no more bath tubs!) Another nice-to-have feature was the in-room safe located in the closet. Breakfast was not included in the price, but was worth the $10 we paid. One thing I especially liked was the individual pot of coffee on my table so I didn't have to wait for the server for refills. The only thing I would recommend is that you take a clip or clothespin for the curtains at night. Even though the blackout curtains work well, it is difficult to close them completely and the outside light filters in through the open spaces.

The staff was very friendly and accommodated our large group of 40 people efficiently and professionally. The hotel is located just a block or two from the boardwalk and there are many other dining and shopping options even closer. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Kemah TX area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you for comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments regarding …. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.
At your service,
Jessica Medlin
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This new property is one of a handful of hotels in the immediate area of Kemah, around 10
mins walk from the boardwalk. The room is nice and smart, lobby area is bright and clean and has excellent staff. A bar/diner is located off the lobby. I didn't have breakfast here as no free breakfast was offered. There seem to be some nice eating places immediately by the hotel, or at the boardwalk itself. I stayed here as an IHG reward night. The normal rate of this property is quite high, but I think that reflects the lack of alternative places to stay in the Kemah area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear John_in_UK,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kemah. On behalf of our entire team we thank you!
Our goal is to provide excellent service and pleasant memories; seems like our staff did that for you! When you are in the Kemah area again please stay with us. We look forward to serving you!
At your service,
Jessica Medlin
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. Everything was perfect and on target; even the breakfast! Clean rooms, bathroom. Very updated. The location cannot be beat. Parking was a little small and compact but manageable. The pool was small too....but hey, you're next to the boardwalk! I have no complaints! The staff was amazing as well.

Room Tip: If you can, get a parking spot early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property during your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team we thank you!

Please come and stay again when your travels bring you back to the Kemah area.

We remain at your service;
Mallory Wicker
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a new and stylish Holiday Inn- it is a cut above the normal chain hotel experience!

The staff were friendly and went out of their way to explain the best routes to drive down to Port Aransas. We didn't have breakfast included but when we went down and asked for teabags, spoons etc, staff were very helpful, even going to look for the teabag flavour my son liked! The location is great- it is a short walk to Kemah Boardwalk, you get all the action without the noise that you'd get from the hotels in the middle of the Boardwalk. Rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable.

Cross the highway (there is a pedestrian crossing) and go to Hoagies; it does wonderful food and is chock full of lovingly collected memorabilia and NASA one offs (the astronauts hang out there) which the owners have amassed over the years.

Room Tip: Good views from high up rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest zd1;

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel. Once again; thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

I remain at your service,
Mallory Wicker
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 5 in Kemah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston NASA/Seabrook
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Property: Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
Address: 805 Harris Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kemah (Near Boardwalk) Hotel Kemah
Holiday Inn Kemah (Near Boardwalk) Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing