We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wainstones Hotel(Great Broughton)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Treebridge Hotel(Middlesbrough)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brockley Hall Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spa Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
72
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleveland wayold rectorylocal pubcomfortable bednext morninghostianbedroomhayloftbath
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our party of 3 arrived tired and thirsty after the 20 mile walk from Osmotherley. The warmest of welcomes, and iced water, awaited us and the feeling of being at home was instant. The Old Rectory is an impressive building which has been carefully transformed into a home and B&B. The bedrooms are excellent with top quality furnishings and newly fitted bathrooms. Everything is clean and fresh and the proprietor, Ian, is incredibly helpful and attentive.

Breakfast was top class, taken at a good old farmhouse table and with an impressive selection of fare for a small B&B.

We were highly impressed and, having stayed at 4 other places on our walk of the Cleveland Way, rated this well above the standard of our other accommodation. But the accomodation is only part of the picture, and it is the welcoming and homely style of the hosts that adds that special touch and makes a stay memorable. We will all be back soon. Special mention to Ian, thanks for the lift, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Crow_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Good location just on the edge of the Dales, and within easy reach of York, Whitby and, for walkers, the Cleveland Way. My wife and I wanted to escape for a few days for our wedding anniversary and thought we would try an "up market" B and B rather than an average hotel. We were not disappointed - the proprietor, Ian McKnight, could not have been friendlier and the room itself could not be faulted. We were there for three nights and every morning the eggs (from his own hens) were cooked in a different way! Ian also went out of his way to "go the extra mile" - I left behind some items of sentimental value, and, upon finding them, Ian was more than happy to post them back to me and wouldn't accept any payment. It is small things like this that distinguish this stay from one in a soulless anonymous hotel - this man really cares about his guests. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and they are all different so it is really just a matter of personal taste and having a look at the photos on the website before you decide.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Beautifully restored and modernised country house in a small, secluded North Yorkshire Moor village.
Perfect for the Cleveland Way walker.
Ian the proprietor provided us with friendly, helpful service, a good nights sleep, an excellent breakfast and assisted us with a lift to our car.
One of the best B&Bs my wife and I have used.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great location, we stayed in the Hay Loft, so good we are determined to go back, just to enjoy the accommodation again, let alone the great location and friendly service from Ian. Terrific spot for easy access to the Moors, Cleveland Way and the delightful Saltburn-by-the-Sea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Old Rectory recently - beautiful old Georgian house, which the owners have lovingly restored. The room was lovely - double aspect and really comfortable. Breakfast is very laid back and relaxed. It's a small place, so 'service' feels genuine and personal, and the couple who run it are very friendly - we got an added extra of home baked cake! They've also got a self-contained little unit for rent on a self-catering basis, which looked really cosy, beautifully furnished, and equally lovingly restored - think modern kitchen, comfy sofa, stone flagging and a bathroom in the old stable - which would be fab for a few days' stay. The village is tiny - but there is a nice little tearoom round the corner, and access to the Cleveland Way runs just up the hill. Great for walking and cycling - we cycled to Whitby and brought the bikes back on the train - station is a couple of minutes walk from the house. Really recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleRedWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews