We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Art Museum”

The Museum of Western Art
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Western Art, formerly the Cowboy Artist of America Museum, is open daily 10:00 am to 4:00 pm except Sunday and Monday. It is a short drive from downtown Kerrville. The grounds are beautiful and a winding drive leads you to the entrance, where larger-than-life style western bronzes beckon picture takers. There are several galleries inside (allow 90 minutes to go through), showcasing artwork by craftsmen and women who devote their artistic career to preserving the legends of the American West. Young children will enjoy the Journey West Children's Gallery, a hands-on interpretive section of the old west. A small museum store sells prints and original art done by local artists along with other western memorabilia. An extensive western research library is on site as well. In addition there are several special art sales and exhibitions throughout the year. The Museum of Western Art is proud to be recipient of the 2015 Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor.
Mason, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Art Museum”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We enjoyed the Western Art Museum very much! A wide range of beautiful art as well as other western memorablia (saddles, etc.) and a very nice gift store. The docents were very knowledgeable and helpful of the art work as well as the artists. We had a very enjoyable visit!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your recent visit to the Museum. We're so glad you
enjoyed our exhibits, western memorabilia and grounds. Thank you for complimenting our
volunteer docent - we are very fortunate to have dedicated people on hand to enhance your
experience.

We hope you'll return again - quite often we do have special exhibitions in addition the works in our permanent collection.

Kind regards,

Andy Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    54
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Western Art”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Pieces by some of the world's best known western artists and sculptures works are housed at this incredible museum. It is worth the trip to Kerrville just to browse this attraction.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Onemansopinion17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to compliment the Museum of Western Art. We appreciate your support and hope you will return often since our exhibits do change throughout the year.

We're so pleased we have provided you with a memorable glimpse of our historic past as seen through our western art, bronzes and memorabilia. Please stay in touch with us on our Facebook page for upcoming events and news.

Sincerely,

Andy Simon
Vice-Chairman of the Board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
“Lovely visit with 88 and 91-year-old parents”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our docent was very knowledgeable and articulate, explaining saddles, paintings, sculptures and their histories in a cheerful manner. My parents liked the size of the museum, not too large or too small, just right for an afternoon visit. The building itself is lovely and an excellent venue for the artwork.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andysimon1246, Vice Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you!

We're so pleased you took time to write a review following your recent visit! We're glad you and your guests found the museum to be interesting and were able to meet up with one of our great volunteer docents to give you further information.

You're right - the architecture is quite remarkable and many visitors do comment on it. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you'll return again.

We do have a Facebook page if you'd like to stay updated.

Best regards,

Andy Simon
Vice-Chairman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
“Small gem in Kerrvile”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have visited this small gem in Kerrville, TX several times in recent years. It has an excellent collection of paintings by contemporary Western artists and delightful, talkative, informative local area volunteers who fill in lots of information for you. Get them to tell you about the ceiling architecture, the wagons, and the saddles. Adults should be sure to check the exhibit for young visitors.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank OvertonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you! We do appreciate that you came to visit us and then took time to write how much you've enjoyed our Museum.

You pointed out features we love to call attention to, our galleries, architecture, children's gallery and more. When visitors come, they are usually amazed at what we have here.

We hope the next time you travel to the Hill Country, you'll be back to see us. As you know, exhibits change throughout the year and there is always something new.

Have a nice summer!

Andy Simon
Vice-Chairman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Went looking for a piece of family history & found saddle designed by my grandfather”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wonderful to see saddles made by all western greats. Especially my grandfather, Lewis Smith. My kids also enjoyed the rest of the museum

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank large5indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
How wonderful to read your comments about finding a saddle designed by your grandfather. That is so exciting to hear - and precisely the reason we exist - to preserve the very special western heritage for future generations to enjoy.

Thank you for taking time to visit the museum and we hope you'll come back again. Our exhibits often change and showcase amazing talents.

Sincerely,

Andy Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing