We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is so-so!”
Review of Cafe at the Ridge

Cafe at the Ridge
Ranked #27 of 126 Restaurants in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Cafe at The Ridge is a place to gather, not just around a plate of great food, but around each other. The Ridge offers a place to share stories over a glass of sweet tea and a chicken fried steak. All of our delicious family recipes are created using only the freshest of ingredients and are perfect for the whole family.
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Love the atmosphere of this place, but the food is not up to par yet. Ordered pancakes, they came out barely warm (sent them back to be nuked), and they were over-cooked (not from the re-warming), actually were burnt in some areas. Husband had breakfast, eggs, bacon and toast and it was ok. The waitstaff never checked back to see if our food was fine and I didn't mention the overcooked pancakes until we were leaving as no one was around. The breakfast tacos are huge, my brother-in-law got those and said they were good. He ordered three, but two would have worked. Sister-in-law had the Denver omelet and she said it was good.

Thank ctb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

We at Café at the Ridge would like to apologize for the level of service you have received. We greatly appreciate all of our guest and will strive to improve on the service aspects you have mentioned. Please let myself or any manager know right away if you are unhappy with your order and we will do our best to make you something you love. Once again, please accept our sincere apology for this unfortunate incident and thank you for letting us know about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

This was the 4th time to visit. Food was very good. Fresh ingredients! Very busy time. Service was so-so. Our "chewing her gum" waitress kept talking to her son (who was not working but helped himself to the soda machine), and another, very efficient waitress told us our food was almost ready and refilled our glasses twice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaverickKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for the feedback, we will use your comments in our efforts to improve. We hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I love the bakery their pies are the best. I hear they are gonna open I little garden thing that should be neat. The chef is very friendly although he claims not to be a chef just a modest cook he's very talented for being so young . Its worth the drive to try it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kerrvillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words and your patronage. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Many "ingredients" make up a restaurant, right? If I were to name one that must be right it would be anything related to baked goods. Yesterday morning it was the sourdough bread with breakfast and the piece of cake we took home "for later". The week before it was the whole wheat bread loaf taken home with the cookies for later. And all the menu dishes are tasty and fresh with nice portions and fair prices in this freshened up old quick stop and snack place. Its worth the scenic drive out Harper Road by Tierra Linda's entrance to do this. And something is being built next door - is this going to be an improved venue over the likes of Camp Verde? Well managed too. Do this on Sunday morning and start a road trip for the day - we did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We greatly appreciate your business as well as the feedback. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A goup of ladies in our parki went for lunch the food was great the service wasd good, there were all sorts of adorable salt and pepper shakers scattered around and on the table you could by, dident se any two alike. They also have a bakery where you can purchase delidious treats to go (brought Dannyhome a huge Cinnamon roll with a contaiiner of icing on the side) took him 2-3 sittings to eat the wgike thing, They are adding on a garden area not yet opened and a row of small shops.
Nicce drive out Harper Road just before Terra Linda on the right

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NanaWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear when we are doing something well and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe at the Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at the Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing