We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Conroe, Texas
1 review
“Nice but dated”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My room was clean and quiet. If my room had been around the pool I might have something different to say as a large group of quite loud people partied down out there until around midnight with no interference from the staff. The rooms are a bit dated with some amenities just tossed in there like the fridge that was just sitting on the floor next to the bed. It was reasonable for the online rate I paid but it would not be worth paying full price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    102
    85
    45
    37
See reviews for
90
107
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dickinson, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arrived to find blood on the blanket and bedspread, went to tell the front desk, did not seem to bother them in the least. Rude staff. It was a really rude awakening since I had been told by others that it was a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnhelm, Manager at Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I want to apologize for the situation that happened during your stay. I hold the staff at the hotel to a much higher standard than that in which you described. Friendliness and guest service is our utmost concern. We will use your information to help train and improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you remember Gene Autrey & Roy Rogers this place is for you. It is dated going back to the 50's but VERY clean. Our room was big with a big bathroom, a hall and a patio door. All rooms have a tile floor instead of sticky carpet. Our king bed was comfortable. We requested early cleaning and by 10am the room was refreshed! The staff was very nice and a great restaurant & bar. The pool/ hot tub/ grounds were clean. Back in the day this was a 5 star resort. YO Ranch (nearby) offers 1/2 day tours of exotic game safari. Antlers, game trophies are everywhere (not a good place for PETA members).

Room Tip: ground floors have patio doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here recently on a long weekend trip to the Hill Country with the whole family (mom, dad, two teenagers). We booked a "Family Room" which had a king-size bed and a separate alcove with a bunk bed and a TV with a DVD player in it - perfect for two almost-grown kids and their parents. The hotel offered a full breakfast for an additional $9.50 per person, which we decided to take, not knowing there was a Cracker Barrel across the street. We don't regret it, though, because the breakfast buffet and menu offerings were delicious. If we had it to do over, I probably would have taken my chances and not purchased the extra package, since we normally don't eat a big breakfast every day. Anyway, the room was very clean and nice, but it is in serious need of updating. The bathroom has very little counter space - it has a pedestal sink and a narrow glass shelf for putting your stuff on. The toilet seat was visibly aged and in serious need of replacement and the tub needs to be resurfaced, but - and this is a very big BUT - it was clean. I am a stickler for clean, so I felt comfortable throughout our stay. I loved the tile floors rather than dirty carpet; that was a very nice touch. I also enjoyed the balcony, which newer hotels do not offer. The front desk staff was polite, but not overly friendly. We had a bit of a problem upon check-in, which was quickly resolved since I had printed all my paperwork and brought it with me (hint, hint). The wait staff in the restaurant was a little slow, but since most guests use the breakfast buffet, it didn't hold us up too much. The pool has a swim-up bar, which looked like it could be fun, but we didn't take the time to swim - too busy hiking in the Hill Country and exploring the area. Also, the hotel touts its "saloon," which we briefly walked into thinking we might enjoy a beer while the kids were taking showers one night. It stank of stale cigarette smoke and was overall a very depressing scene. It looked like any old pool hall/bar, so we pretty much turned right around and went back to our room to enjoy a couple of beers on the balcony where we could breathe easier. All in all, it was a pleasant stay for a few days away and we all agreed that we had a very nice time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the front - ours was right on the corner facing the intersection of Hwy 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTony2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village Mills, TX
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Great first impression and beautiful pool area. However, after a long day out, we came back to unmade beds and an unclean room with wet towels still in the bath. Front desk showed no concern. We won't be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shadowsambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The room was totally tiled thru and thru. Makes it seem cleaner. Swim up bar on weekends with rockers overlooking the patio. Cute! Bathroom is huge and has double vanity. Sooooo kitschy and throwback to 50s western theme. The oldsters are in love with this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermommy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Fresnos, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were looking for a base of operations so we could explore a bit of Hill Country for a couple days. This looked like a bit of Texas to us. so we checked in. The desk clerk was very nice and found us a room where my wife wouldn't have to climb stairs to get around. The room was just adequate, nothing special, but not bad either. There was an odd, musty smell each time we came in the door, but it didn't pervade the room. I never figured out what caused it. The pool was gorgeous and pleasant and the lobby was worth taking the printed tour. Breakfast was served buffet-style or you could order from the menu. We chose the former and were very pleased with the selection and quality. If returning to Hill Country, I definitely would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4funaurora_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2033 Sidney Baker St, Kerrville, TX 78028-2532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Western-themed hotel located in heart of Texas Hill Country with full service restaurant & Texas style saloon. Includes 11,000 square feet of meeting space & 190 sleeping rooms. Several styles of rooms with King, 2 Queen Beds, Family room & suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y o Ranch Hotel And Conference Center
y o Ranch Hotel Kerrville
y o Hotel
y o Resort
Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center Kerrville, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing