We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trail's End Guest House
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We've been to Trail's End twice now; once in September and once just a couple weeks ago. The accomodations are beautiful, as is the location. The breakfasts are absolutely gourmet and are not your typical B&B fare. When you stay there be sure to make an evening reservation for "Peasants," their small restaurant serving tapas. Again, the host/chef is top notch, serving scrumptious variety of local and seasonal dishes. I can't say enough about this place!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deblynn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

This B&B was amazing! We both loved how unique it was! If you want a place that is around the action of a town and have contact wiht a lot of other people, then this place is NOT for you! It is so private and secluded. We stayed in the Tuscan Barn and I extremely impressed! Everything was clean, effecient, the owners were so accomidating and nice (and professional). The jetted tub was amazing, everything worked, there were trails to hike on, b-b-que pits to grill on, a wonderful with a breathtaking view! The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had! It was delicious and they gave you MORE than enough! It was very reasonably priced, as well! We will definitely be going back here---very soon, I hope!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txstate10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This place is amazing. It's reasonably priced, the breakfasts are so good and filling you won't want lunch, and the privacy of the rooms (with jacuzzi tubs!) is unusual for b&b's. The only drawback is the town: Kerrville isn't my favorite hill country town to visit, but it's close enough to Lost Maples, Fredericksburg, etc. We rarely left the grounds though because the room was so comfortable and the acres around the place are so pretty, although there isn't a trail through the grounds yet, so you're pretty much exploring on your own, which was fun. Definitely a great place for couples and for those who like the idea of B&B's - the homeyness, the good breakfasts and the non-chain atmosphere - but don't want to spend a ton of time with the hosts and prefer breakfast in the room to eating with strangers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler60005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We stayed (just a a couple - no kids) at the Trail's End Guest House in Kerrville for 3 nights. We were greeted with friendly staff, including probably the best dog ever! We never did run into the owners, though.

The place is located on top of a hill with a great view. We stayed in the Southwest room. We had a double-jacuzzi tub with a showerhead (no stand-up shower). The room was clean. The towels plentiful, and the linens cozy. A couple of things to consider that hotels normally provide, but this place did not was a blow dryer and hair conditioner.

The breakfast was enough for 4 people. It was served every day around 8:30. It always included some exotic meat (buffalo, lamb, chirizo), an egg dish, a vegetable dish, apple juice and dessert. Yes, for breakfast! It's a great way to try a new food.

I thought for the price we paid, the value was pretty good since the bountiful breakfast was included. We had goats in view of our balcony. We walked around a little bit, but not too much as the landscaping is natural and pretty thick. It appears that they are continuing to work on/add to their place as we saw pipes, lumber, etc. lying nearby. They've built a beautiful little eating area with a great view that we peeked in at. The pool was not open when we went, although the temperatures were in the 90's, but the owner did explain that they didn't think it would be when I inquired about it.

Kerrville is a good home base if you don't want to spend the prices to stay in Fredricksburg and you plan on going to other nearby towns such as Comfort, Medina or Lost Maples.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patticakesTemple_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

We recently stayed at the Trail's End Guest House while we were on a small tour around Texas, and we were not disappointed. The owners were delightful and really made us feel at home, and from the bottle of wine to the freshly baked cookies, everything was spot on.

The location is quite out of the way but was exactly what we were after - loads of peace and quiet and a chance to sit out at night and watch the stars come out. And there are plenty!

The room we were in was the Southwest Room (there are several different rooms) and it was great - really well equipped with everything we needed, including a hot tub and full kitchen.

We really enjoyed staying here and exploring the local area. This is when we finally left after eating the huge delicious breakfast that Dave prepared for us each day. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveblack247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerrville
6.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
4.2 mi away
Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center
14.4 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Guest House

Address: Kerrville, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kerrville
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trail's End Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trail's End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail's End Guest House Kerrville, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing