We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the one in Huntsville.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Much better than the one in Huntsville. Better choice at breakfast, rooms cleaner, better coffee in the coffee maker. ABV won't set the world alight for their quality, but if you're on a budget, they aren't that bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules-of-Radstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Booked 2 Qu non-smoking thru ABVI. Reviews weren't excellence but indicated clean & comfortable. We don't require swank and frills, just clean & comfortable. When arrived, just seeing the place made us second guess our booking.

I think maybe the manager checked us in. He was nice and cordial, and said our reservation was prepaid, but we hadn't booked it as prepaid. That sent up a red flag, but we went on to the room. It was dark, airless, stale and smelled like smokers had been there. Having allergies, I couldn't handle the smell. Also, the bathroom and bedroom could use some major updating.

The man at the front desk, still very cordial, asked us to try another room & we checked it out. Same smell, same dismal look.

The man was very nice, but said he couldn't help us because we'd prepaid. Then unexpectedly he said the transaction didn't go thru and was marked failed because the credit card had an expired date. I have no idea which credit card was used for the "prepay" (since we didn't plan to prepay), and whether I was charged or not. He wouldn't give us a receipt although he did let me write down the transaction #. Anyway, we went down the road and for a few dollars more found an airier, cleaner and more updated room.

Overall, it was a disappointing, confusing and less than great experience. Don't think I will try to use ABVI again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank berock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The room was clean, and comfortable, with a microwave and frig. Nothing fancy. We also had a upstairs room on the end, so very quiet. The only negative, was that they only have window unit ac, so it was a bit noisy, and the smoke from people outside came in through it. A filter may solve that problem. Breakfast was as basic as you get. Not even fresh fruit. But, there is a great place for breakfast right in front of the hotel. The food was great, portions huge, and very cheap. One of those cool little hole in the wall kind of places that is great for breakfast. Also, location of the hotel is very good. Easy to get to everything.

Room Tip: Stayed in 201, and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family stayed there recently and will not be back. The room was okay, however, not what I expected. The rooms need new carpet and up dating. The breakfast area was small, only elbow room. Therefore we sought breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this room at the last minute for the Memorial Day weekend and still got an excellent rate. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again when we come back to Kerrville.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StretchandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel as the best value in town. The room was clean, but basic. The breakfast was good. They had waffles shaped like Texas, sugar free syrup, high quality bagels, cereal, sweet rolls, etc. The coffee was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naplestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My bed was very comfortable, it was quiet, the air conditioner was great and the water pressure excellent. I had free coffee and waffles in the am and they were good too.
It was BETTER than I had expected for the price. I didn't stay there for the atmosphere.

Room Tip: The rooms facing WEST would be the most quiet and non smoking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headway37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
0.6 mi away
Econolodge Of Kerrville
Econolodge Of Kerrville
#13 of 14 in Kerrville
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg

Address: 1804 Sidney Baker St, Kerrville, TX 78028-2644 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Price Range: £41 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing