We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD DEAL FOR A NIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Reviewed 27 April 2012

With my wife we stayed in this hotel for a night (Friday). It was clean, very comfortable, quiet and with very good facilities (pool, bar, parking). The location is fine for visiting the Hill Country. Great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: The best: first floor facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Okay, so the Inn of the Hills isn't super glam, but the service could not be friendlier and the prices cannot be beat in the Hill Country. If you call the Resort directly, the do occasionally offer a discount on published rates, be sure and request a room facing the pool. These rooms have been recently upgraded and have walk out patios with nice views of their super pretty pool.
We have stayed here twice in the last month. Once as a couple, the second time we brought our short guy and grandma. Everyone had a relaxed and enjoyable time.
Cool features--
Your room rate includes a full, hot buffet breakfast complete with fresh fruit and made to order omelets. When you are four people traveling, this is a big bonus money-wise.
There is an attached bar, granted it is full of local blue hairs, but if you want a cold beer without the worry of driving, it is a nice place to hang out for awhile.
Kerrville is less than a half an hour from Fredericksburg, and a great jumping off spot for the Texas Hill Country.
Also, your room has a refrigerator, so bring your own water, beer, and snacks and save a few extra bucks.
This is NOT a super luxury resort, but it is super comfy, clean and a great spot for family gatherings or a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a pool view room DOWNSTAIRS--it is my understanding the upstairs rooms have not y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasKenzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Outdated room, dusty, bugs in ceiling lights, furniture is old and greasy. Small beds, old matress and below average bedding package. Towels are worn. Front door to room was peeling and the carpets were worn in several spots. But, the buffet makes up for a poor room with a large variety of fresh food and wonderful service. Buffet is included in the room price.

Room Tip: Stay away from bar area. It is noisey. Best way to enjoy your room is to exercise all day, drink a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mas4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great place for Gateway to the Hillcountry.Enjoyed stay.Great nightlife

Room Tip: Room looking at pool great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomybro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place has all you can think of ans scenery is awesome. Enjoyed our stay and beakfast buffet is hard to beat and healthy.

Room Tip: get one close to office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinL295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We are on an lengthy road trip and wanted to spend a few days in Hill Country. We chose Inn of the Hills after discovering all accomodations in near-by Fredericksberg were booked ( Spring Break). I was a little leery after reading a few TA reviews but the rates were reasonable and breakfast was included.

We had a ground floor room on the outside of the building facing the parking lot. This worked well as we could park right in front of the room. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable. It was looking a little worn and in need of a little updating. The outlet by the desk did not work so we set the computer up on the table. The shower - toilet was small.

When our fridge was not working maintenance was there promptly and resolved the problem .Staff were friendly and helpful,

We thought the breakfast was the best we had had in our 7 weeks on the road,a variety of fresh fruit, cereals ( hot & cold ), sausage, scrambled eggs, hash browns and one morning eggs benedict. Loved the quirky decor in the dining room! Cookoo Clocks and Swiss cow Bells!

The weather was cool and we did not utilize the pool area which looked inviting.
We felt we got value for the price of the room . The Hotel is undergoing renovations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windsorwand31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for your review. You are correct, we are renovating our property and rooms, and unfortunately had not done your room yet. The renovated rooms are looking really good and have received many compliments. The Inn always strives to provide its guests with the best possible service, as our guests are very important to us. We hope to see you the next time you visit Kerrville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for spring break with friends. 2 adults/2 kids in our room, 2/3 in theirs. The kids enjoyed it. They are fixing the place up, so we asked for a renovated room when we made reservations.
The pools were open, but very leafy. They were also cold of course, so we saw only a couple of kids in one. The indoor pool mentioned in other reviews is actually in the fitness center, which is across the street. We stopped by on our first afternoon to ask about it (a bit of a hike from our room) and they were extremely nice. We went over on our second day to the pool, which was great. You do have to bring your own towels.
The breakfast buffet was fairly large, but bacon cost $1.50 extra. The eggs were quite tasty the first day, but did not look good to me the next day. The fruit was very fresh and we all enjoyed it. No sugary cereal which disappointed the kids, but didn't bother me! We were seated quite quickly both days. The wait staff was not great. I kept having to flag them down for coffee, and forget it if it wasn't their table. They were also bussing the tables, so we did have some plates stacked, as we were supposed to get new ones on return trips. We did not have to stand in line behind more than one person to get a meal ticket for the next day, but it was right after breakfast, so we could see the lobby and know it wasn't crowded.
The blackout curtains worked extremely well. My husband got up early both days and went to the lobby so as not to disturb us, and didn't realize how light it was outside until he opened the door.
Yes, the outlets are a bit inconvenient, but we just left ours to charge overnight. We did have to call to get the tv to turn on and stay on.
The in-room coffee is terrible. I was very happy that the restaurant coffee was better.
Traffic is one way on each side of the property, but they need a few more signs about it. I don't know how many cars/motorcycles I saw go the wrong way. Fortunately they were going slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasjulie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

We appreciate your honesty, and value your feedback. We are taking note of your comments to help us build and improve our services and conveniences, particularly in our restaurant, as noted. We do still have some remodeled rooms awaiting their desk and power outlet lamp. Once they arrive, these rooms should provide convenient outlets for your chargers. We do look forward to your return, and the building our services for you and all our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
515 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1001 Junction Hwy, Kerrville, TX 78028-4986 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark hotel for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Hotel Of The Hills Conference
Inn Of The Hills Hotel & Conference Center Kerrville, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing