We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is disgusting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Canyon Lake
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is disgusting.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have enjoyed Inn of the Hills in the past, but cannot recommend it to anyone. Our room needed updating and the shower curtain was moldy. Rooms close to ours had a big party going on until the wee hours and the noise was horrible. Calls to the front office went unheeded. The sign in front of resort advertised Seafood buffet on Friday night, but what you got was very poorly prepared frozen fried shrimp, stuffed crab and catfish in a PLASTIC basket. The food was cooked in very hot oil meaning the outside was burned while the inside was still raw. We could not eat the shrimp or crab. The waitress said it was due to a big crowd, but we saw many empty tables. Guess the locals know to eat at other places. The small pool was dirty - complete with plastic bags floating on the surface. I am very disappointed in the Inn of the Hills since it used to be a classy place - but now is just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly apologize for your unpleasant experiences on your last stay at the Inn. We did have a family reunion that was using the Casa hospitality room along with the attached Casa guest rooms, and yes, they did get loud. We did try to settle them, then finally sent the police to quiet them. The Rock Pool is encompassed around the Casa rooms. It is not uncommon for the children of family reunions using the Casa area to use that pool which might explain the plastic bags in the pool that day. The pool is cleaned every day early in the morning. The marque did mention our endless Seafood Platter but not a Seafood Buffet, so I can see how that might be misinterpreted. We have almost all our guest rooms very nicely remodeled and will be working on the remainder along with public areas this fall. We will be using your response to improve the quality of service, make proper repairs, and strive to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests. I do hope you will give us an oportunity in the future to show you a better stay. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Marian Schlunegger
General Manager
Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    183
    82
    59
    26
See reviews for
157
186
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed ten times at Inn of the Hills, previous stays have been good, this one started out to be another good stay, but turned terrible quickly. We arrived around 1pm, we pre-registered and came back at 2pm and room was ready. The room was a king bed in the Casa, what we didn't know was there are two party rooms behind the lower level rooms. After visiting with our son's family we returned to our room around 9pm, got ready for a restful night, the party goers had different plans. The later it got the louder and drinker the party goers got, finally after trying to sleep with sound machine we called front desk at midnight, they said they would talk to the party goers. This worked for about fifteen minutes, then they got drinker and louder, at 2am we hear adults and kids screaming, another call to front desk, pleading for them to do something and planning to call the police next. The party goers finally got quiet enough for us to fall asleep.
In defense of the Inn, we were given a $25 credit toward our bill as compensation for the noise. I suggested to the front desk that it would be a good policy to make the party goers rent the rooms behind the party rooms and let non party participants rent rooms far away.
TIP try to book a Cabana Room if you can, do not book the Casa rooms unless you are involved in a party.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I certainly understand your disappointment with the noise carrying from the Casa Hospitality room. Our practice is to rent the guest rooms adjacent to the Casa Hospitality room when renting the room to a group; unfortunately, upon investigating, a party member who had a Casa, canceled their room reservation a few days prior, and the room automatically went into available inventory to rent. This is very hard to monitor and we certainly apologize for the situation and restless night. Thank you for your patronage and your feedback. We will use your response to work on improving the quality of our service and to ensure a pleasant experience for all our guests.

Sincerely,

Marian Schlunegger
General Manager
Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference Center
marian@innofthehills.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff went out of their way to be helpful to our group. The pool on the banks of the river was a peaceful break from the pool in the hotel courtyard. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices even without upgrading to the meat items.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastEd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent two nights here as a short excursion away from hectic Austin. What a lovely place, and the staff are so accommodating. I am dieting and the restaurant staff couldn't do enough for me to make sure I had what I needed. This level of service is uncommon and I certainly hope to return. My room was an upstairs single with a lovely balcony overlooking the fountain and the grounds. The bed was very comfortable, there was a fridge and coffee maker. Two chairs and a table were plenty of space for the laptop (yes, there is wifi) and other things. All in all a very nice room for the price. The television in my room was a little wonky and sometimes it would not turn on, but I didn't mind, I had the laptop. The hotel is very clean, well-kept and feels very safe. You will enjoy sitting by the pool or under the trees listening to the fountain. Very relaxing, which is exactly what I wanted. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Casa have nice upstairs patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent two nights here as part of a road trip.
Location was good for central Kerville and the Folk Festival.
We first visited the USA forty years ago and this hotel was just like things were then.
Tiny room over stuffed with furniture. Poor lighting, uncomfortable beds.
Restaurant was awful as was the food. Plenty of it but lacking in any flavour. Breakfast was included but we skipped it the 2nd day as it was rubbish.
Staff seemed pleasant but not over helpful.
If you welcome nostalgia this is ideal but if you want 21st century lodging-avoid.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool which is also near the restaurant and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for a week & it was a very clean & nice hotel. The staff was very friendly & the use of the business off was great. It is a good place to stay & easy to get around town from there. Even though the cleaning staff was short handed, they do their best to accommadate & make you comfortable. The front end desk staff is very accommadating as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms may be a bit quieter during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Poor location, very poor restaurant, no service at the pool and the pub closes at 10 PM.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly but not very professional.
30 years ago it must have been a resort, now it is a conference center.
Besides the Guadalupe river, Kerrville has nothing interesting to offer. Ingram is a joke.

Room Tip: Don't even try the restaurant. Best choice is behind the hotel. 1011 Guadalupe Blvr. If you loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
479 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1001 Junction Hwy, Kerrville, TX 78028-4986 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark hotel for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Hotel Of The Hills Conference
Inn Of The Hills Hotel & Conference Center Kerrville, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing