We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Motor Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Vintage Motor Lodge”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed at Inn of the Hills for one night. It is a vintage motor lodge, which reminded me of those long, Summer car vacations when I was a kid. I was able to book one of the rooms in the "casa," which is a detached structure in the middle of the courtyard next to the rock pool. The room was not large, but more than enough for two people for one night. The room must have been updated in the last 5 years or so, and had a small fridge.

There was a small seating area on the balcony overlooking the rock pool, which is nice, but the ash tray was full, which was a little off-putting. Not a big deal, ultimately. The waterfall at the rock pool provided a nice bubbling noise throughout the night.

The continental breakfast was a bit limited, but you receive a coupon for $4 off the full buffet breakfast, which makes the price about $6.

Overall I think that for a few nights this is a good choice in Kerrville. There is a nostalgia to the place I appreciate. I mean, honestly, I can stay at a Hampton in anywhere.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the "casa" seem to be in a prime location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrsteindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    187
    83
    60
    27
See reviews for
165
188
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Large rooms are very well maintained. Comfortable. Beautiful pool and spacious seating outside. We did not try the restaurant but if you want a snack, they deliver to the pool. The staff was wonderful and helpful with our stay. Excellent pillows for a pillow fight with the kids!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here because of a Group on. Disappointing. Dining room dirty and outdated. Toilet dirty in our room. Safety bolt in our room was off its screws. Pool was closed on a holiday weekend. We stayed here years ago and my husband stayed here as a kid. This hotel has lost its Glory and luxury. We understand why they resorted to Group on, they need business.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is clean especially the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paige g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that things were not up to standard during your stay. We will be using your response to improve the quality of service, make proper repairs, and strive to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests. We did have the pool open the entire holiday weekend. The only delay was one morning for one hour when we had required maintenance to contend to on the pool. We opened the pool at 11:00am instead of the normal 10 am that morning. We have almost all our guest rooms very nicely remodeled and will be working on the remainder along with public areas this fall. We were extremely busy this holiday and certainly apologize for any negative experiences you encountered during your stay. I do hope you will give us an oportunity in the future to show you a better stay. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Marian Schlunegger
General Manager
Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Older hotel but very clean and neat. Beautiful pool and courtyard. Breakfast was good. Good location to travel around the Hill Country. Close to restaurants and shopping. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txchic1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura_Russell_GM, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have enjoyed Inn of the Hills in the past, but cannot recommend it to anyone. Our room needed updating and the shower curtain was moldy. Rooms close to ours had a big party going on until the wee hours and the noise was horrible. Calls to the front office went unheeded. The sign in front of resort advertised Seafood buffet on Friday night, but what you got was very poorly prepared frozen fried shrimp, stuffed crab and catfish in a PLASTIC basket. The food was cooked in very hot oil meaning the outside was burned while the inside was still raw. We could not eat the shrimp or crab. The waitress said it was due to a big crowd, but we saw many empty tables. Guess the locals know to eat at other places. The small pool was dirty - complete with plastic bags floating on the surface. I am very disappointed in the Inn of the Hills since it used to be a classy place - but now is just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly apologize for your unpleasant experiences on your last stay at the Inn. We did have a family reunion that was using the Casa hospitality room along with the attached Casa guest rooms, and yes, they did get loud. We did try to settle them, then finally sent the police to quiet them. The Rock Pool is encompassed around the Casa rooms. It is not uncommon for the children of family reunions using the Casa area to use that pool which might explain the plastic bags in the pool that day. The pool is cleaned every day early in the morning. The marque did mention our endless Seafood Platter but not a Seafood Buffet, so I can see how that might be misinterpreted. We have almost all our guest rooms very nicely remodeled and will be working on the remainder along with public areas this fall. We will be using your response to improve the quality of service, make proper repairs, and strive to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests. I do hope you will give us an oportunity in the future to show you a better stay. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Marian Schlunegger
General Manager
Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed ten times at Inn of the Hills, previous stays have been good, this one started out to be another good stay, but turned terrible quickly. We arrived around 1pm, we pre-registered and came back at 2pm and room was ready. The room was a king bed in the Casa, what we didn't know was there are two party rooms behind the lower level rooms. After visiting with our son's family we returned to our room around 9pm, got ready for a restful night, the party goers had different plans. The later it got the louder and drinker the party goers got, finally after trying to sleep with sound machine we called front desk at midnight, they said they would talk to the party goers. This worked for about fifteen minutes, then they got drinker and louder, at 2am we hear adults and kids screaming, another call to front desk, pleading for them to do something and planning to call the police next. The party goers finally got quiet enough for us to fall asleep.
In defense of the Inn, we were given a $25 credit toward our bill as compensation for the noise. I suggested to the front desk that it would be a good policy to make the party goers rent the rooms behind the party rooms and let non party participants rent rooms far away.
TIP try to book a Cabana Room if you can, do not book the Casa rooms unless you are involved in a party.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I certainly understand your disappointment with the noise carrying from the Casa Hospitality room. Our practice is to rent the guest rooms adjacent to the Casa Hospitality room when renting the room to a group; unfortunately, upon investigating, a party member who had a Casa, canceled their room reservation a few days prior, and the room automatically went into available inventory to rent. This is very hard to monitor and we certainly apologize for the situation and restless night. Thank you for your patronage and your feedback. We will use your response to work on improving the quality of our service and to ensure a pleasant experience for all our guests.

Sincerely,

Marian Schlunegger
General Manager
Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference Center
marian@innofthehills.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff went out of their way to be helpful to our group. The pool on the banks of the river was a peaceful break from the pool in the hotel courtyard. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices even without upgrading to the meat items.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastEd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
483 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
521 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1001 Junction Hwy, Kerrville, TX 78028-4986 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark hotel for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Hotel Of The Hills Conference
Inn Of The Hills Hotel & Conference Center Kerrville, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing