We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Killeen
Certificate of Excellence
wantage, new jersey
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very nice hotel, clean and the personnel are very helpful! Mandie at the front desk was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank taralutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    59
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
37
16
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Rooms are nice and modern looking, fitness center and pool are nice touches. Food comes fast but was not the best ever but hey the hotel is close to the Killeen Mall and many other places to eat. Late checkout was nice and I'd stay here again.

Park in the back close the hotel, shade for your car!

Room Tip: AC is a bit noisy but it does keep the room comfy, pillows are very large so you might have to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Internet connectivity might as well have been nonexistent as it was slow as molasses during the entire week I was there. The first night of my stay I awoke to a power outage that only appeared to effect this hotel (perhaps related to the extensive construction projects) - I managed to take a shower and get dressed in the dark. The pool was closed due to construction and each floor was littered with buckets of paint/plaster and drop cloths. Oh yeah, no complementary breakfast either (I guess they think this is Vegas). The hotel is actually nice and new looking but I guess they fill enough rooms that they don't care to be competitive with other low budget hotels in the area. I personally won't be staying here again - just too many other options in Killeen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We came to Killeen, TX to welcome back our son from Iraq. We started making reservations fairly early in the game - I didn't know I was going to have to change them at least 3 times before he actually got back. They were always so nice and understanding, always had a kind word and reassurance that he would get back to the US and I could call as many times as it would take - they had my back!

The hotel was spotless. The staff amazing. I miss seeing them now that I'm back home. They became part of our family for that week. The front desk people were as excited for me as I was to have my son home again. Very helpful.

I loved the little rooms off the pools area. You could get out of the sun but yet still be outside. I just really enjoyed our visit there. We will be going back to Killeen to visit our son in the future and I know just where we are staying!

Thanks Holiday Inn - Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our son was coming home from his Iraq deployment and we stayed at this Holiday Inn. This is a comfortable, clean hotel you can depend on. If you've stayed at a Holliday Inns before you know what you will get here. Friendly and helpful front desk staff, competent room cleaning and pleaset staff in the restaurant and bar.
Check in and check out were a breeze. I would reccoment this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkis809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My daughter and I had to close down her home on the military base when her husband deployed out of the country. After doing so, we stayed at the Holiday Inn in Killeen- Fort Hood Texas. My daughter had taken her husband's pillow along on our trip (they are newly weds). We were to travel through six more states to get home. Within an hour, she was horrified that she remembered she left the pillow on the bed. We drove back, and low and behold - after explaining the details to management, housekeeping let us back into the room to retrieve it and as they were just cleaning the room, the pillow was still there! Needless to say my daughter was extremely grateful and we are exstatic that the hotel was so cooperative and able to assist us! We recommend this hotel, it is super clean, very neat, so affordable, service friendly and even allows pets! !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Recently traveled to Killeen on business and was booked here by our department. The location of the hotel is somewhat unique, its set back from the roadway sandwhiched between two other hotels. Most of the parking is in the back, but there is only one door in the back.

The hotel appeared to be very new or recently remodeled in the new "trendy" style that Holiday Inn is going to. You think its a Holiday Inn Express, but its actually a regular Holiday Inn with a restaurant and a bar. Bar is good, restaurant is bad because there is no free breakfast like at HIE. (McDonalds 1/2 mile down the street.) It appears that a lot of military people stay there, lots of army uniforms. Access is to Fort Hood is easy.

However the most intesesting facet of this hotel was the room I stayed in. The hotel is four stories tall and I was assigned to a fourth floor handicap accessable room. It is the most unique room I've ever stayed in. First off the it had at least 25 foot ceilings. (See attached pics.) It was also twice as wide as a normal hotel room but contained the same amount of furniture. It was a huge open space. The bathroom was huge as well. I suspect most of the reason was the handicap accessable fact, lots of room to move around in a wheel chair. I get that. But 25 food ceilings? They had artwork above the windows. Look the picture. I'm 6'2" and I cannot touch the top molding of the window, then picture how much more there is above that. There was a huge amount of empty floorspace and it made everything else, king size bed included, look small. Plus it echoed.

Bed was good, they had labels on their pillows "firm" and "soft", though I couldn't tell a difference between the two. The desk was made of opaque glass which means that your optical/laser mouse won't work on it so you have to find something to put under it. Nice big LCD TV but since my room was twice as wide it was too far away. I also liked the fact that I had two heater/ac units with side by side wall thermostats, that showed different tempatures.

Overall it was an ok hotel, not really a full service HI like you'd see at a downtown hotel, but it wasn't really an Express like you'd expect to see in this location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killeen hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Killeen-Fort Hood Area
1.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Killeen
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Killeen
Courtyard Killeen
#2 of 33 in Killeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 33 in Killeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Killeen/Ft. Hood
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Killeen
Residence Inn Killeen
#5 of 33 in Killeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood

Property: Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
Address: 300 East Central Texas Expressway, Killeen, TX 76541-8982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Killeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Killeen
#3 Family Hotel in Killeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel Killeen - Fort Hood offers a comfortable stay for travelers. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Killeen, Texas, conveniently located only a mile from the Fort Hood Main Gate and just off the Central Texas Expressway. Our hotel offers you the very best in Texas hospitality. Leisure travelers visiting Texas can enjoy area attractions that are in close proximity to our hotel in Killeen. If you enjoy the outdoors, you can visit nearby Stillhouse Lake and Belton Lake, as both feature wonderful recreational facilities for camping, fishing, boating, hiking and wildlife watching. Visitors can learn about the rich military history of the 1st Calvary Division at the Museum at Ft. Hood, or you can explore the heavens at the Mayborn Planetarium. Business travelers will find our Killeen area hotel's location is convenient to Fort Hood, which is just one mile away. Central Texas College, University of Mary Hardin Baylor, Darnell Army Hospital and the Metroplex Hospital are nearby. The Killeen Fort Hood Regional Airport (GRK) is also only four miles away. A 24-hour business center, state-of-the-art conference room and free high-speed Internet access are provided to meet your needs. Our Killeen, Texas hotel's amenities include a European-style pool with a spa and private cabanas and a 24-hour fitness center. Remember, at Holiday Inn, kids always eat free at our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killeen-Fort Hood Hotel Killeen
Killeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing