We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Holiday inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Killeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were there to visit with son and family. He had just been assigned to Ft. Hood.
Hotel was clean and quiet. Their restaurant left the impression though that their personell was new and untrained. I requested sausage with my breakfast every morning we were there, and got bacon instead. Bacon was good, but not what I ordered. Never an explanation or apologies for getting bacon instead of sausage.
Still, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tagerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I usually do not give out 1-stars or bother mentioning negative situations, but when management lacks a quality standard level of detail with communication and accountability, then I'm going to use all the ammo at my disposal and empty the clip. I'm not expecting anything special in return. It's not like I'm going to fly back anytime soon to use a complimentary weekend stay. As if.

Most of the staff I encountered during my hotel visit were very nice and accommodating. Maintenance was prompt to fix any immediate room issues, Housekeeping quickly replenished whatever supplies were needed, and the Front Desk associates were helpful with my questions and requests in a professional and hospitable manner both in person and on the phone. Ok, I've been fair and balanced with my review. Time to deliver some heavier ordinance.

There's nothing quite like a significant billing error to really bring one's financial situation to a grinding halt. I could blast on about finding a roach (photo uploaded to Yelp.com Tips), the non-functioning ice machine on my floor during the 2+ week stay, the elevator buttons that fell out, the out-of-order exercise machine, the unavailable printer in the business center, or the malfunctioning door lock to my room after a local power outage, but I'd rather focus on the hotel billing issue.

I take no pleasure in this rant, well maybe a little, but when the Wifey goes to pay bills online after a holiday weekend and finds out our account has a hotel charge mistake in excess of $1800...Le Sigh. Someone's gonna answer for this.

Allow me to elaborate, all you hard working people: I fly out for work, and our travel department makes arrangements to pre-authorize the hotel billing directly to the business account. Our travel manager sends the info on 5/02/2014. I check-in 5/06 and give my ID and a debit card to cover incidentals, of which there were none during my stay. I check-out, fly home, and spend Memorial weekend with the family.

The following Tuesday 5/27 we receive alerts and Wifey finds out why she can't pay online bills. Our account is now overdrawn. Not to mention, there are other automatic billpay items scheduled to hit the books. I'm calling & emailing to straighten out this mess because the hotel charged the entire bill to my debit card instead of the company travel account, which the hotel had since 5/02. I have initiated all of the phone calls and emails to the hotel with zero callbacks or email replies. ZERO. Funny how it takes a day for a merchant to take your money, but much longer to return it.

After leaving voicemails, I'm still waiting to hear from the hotel's general manager about addressing the number of subsequent overdraft charges that occurred over the holiday weekend. I spoke to him once on 5/27/14. He offered no apology, nor did he reassure me that he was personally working on a correction and would see it through to make it right. In fact, he was leaving early for the day and all too busy to take charge of the matter. The general tone I received was, "We need your company credit card info so we can switch the billing and maybe there was a miscommunication between the company and the hotel."

Wait, didn't you have this information before I arrived in order to reserve the room?

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. None of the rooms have blackout drapes that close, so every room is sunny whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Conrad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Mr. Conrad,
Thank you for taking a moment to leave us feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry that you had a bad experience regarding your billing issues and we never want any guest to go through that type of issue at any time. We regret any inconvenience it caused and have made every effort to rectify the situation in an expedient manner. If you are still facing any issues please feel free to contact me directly at 254-690-5511. Once again thank you for the valuable feedback and we hope to regain your trust in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Front desk staff was very friendly, as was the bartender (although a bit air-headed at times). I wish the bar was open later and wish breakfast would run later on the weekends, but overall it was a great stay and I would definitely consider staying here again next time I'm in Killeen for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The company I work for had me come to Killeen for a business trip, Jessica did a great job at the time of check in and as I walked throught lobby it was nice to see her smile at every guest. Thank you Jessica for the warm welcome, next time I come to Killeen I will be sure to stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyDew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My career is travel....as a flight attendant I regularly stay in hotels. As I came down for breakfast Meghan warmly and cheerfully greeted me. When I. Inquired of hazel nut cream for coffee she brought me an entire bowl along with my carafe and water. She promptly took my order which was the lo-carb omelette cooked to perfection. Her generous hospitality dosed out in perfect measure started my day off pleasantly enabling me to work 3 sold-out flights today with an extra smile tucked inside! Kudos to Meghan!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Cherisse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Upon checking in, there was this very loud and obnoxious person who was upset for whatever reason and causing a disturbance to the other people waiting to check in. The young lady behind the counter checking my team and I in (Ingrid was her name) seen that this person was causing such an ordeal that it affected the other guests who were waiting to check in. The young lady (Ingrid) persuaded this obnoxious person to go sit in the lounge while she checked my team and I in so that we did not have to endure anymore of that person’s loud disturbance. She is a valuable asset to this hotel and its staff. Ingrid made our stay a very pleasant one. Thank you for your help Ingrid and for keeping us from enduring someone else’s problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us feedback. We sincerely appreciate the great feedback and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. We will be sharing your great comments about Ingrid with her and we are truly lucky to have such a great ambassador for our hotel. Once again thank you for the comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My experience so far has been extremely pleasant with the staff of the killeen holiday inn. The one that has stood out is Ingrad, who has when above and beyond the scoop of her job. she has ensured the priority of, not only my comfort, but the comfort of other customers during my stay. Her professionalism, thoughtfulness, and respect show her pride and integrity towards her job. I understand it might be her job to do what she does, but actually experiencing how it feels to be important will increase business and loyalty from customers.
Thank you for your service.

Room Tip: The executive site is amazing, quiet, and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for the great comments about our hotel. We are lucky to have many great ambassadors of our property and Ingrid has raised the standards for each of them. We are very lucky to have her and all of our staff at this hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope to exceed your needs. Thank you once again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killeen hotels
1.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Killeen
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Killeen
Courtyard Killeen
#4 of 33 in Killeen
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Killeen-Fort Hood Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Killeen
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Killeen
Residence Inn Killeen
#2 of 33 in Killeen
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood

Address: 300 E Central Texas Expy, Killeen, TX 76541-8982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Killeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Killeen
#3 Family Hotel in Killeen
Price Range: £71 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel Killeen - Fort Hood offers a comfortable stay for travelers. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Killeen, Texas, conveniently located only a mile from the Fort Hood Main Gate and just off the Central Texas Expressway. Our hotel offers you the very best in Texas hospitality. Leisure travelers visiting Texas can enjoy area attractions that are in close proximity to our hotel in Killeen. If you enjoy the outdoors, you can visit nearby Stillhouse Lake and Belton Lake, as both feature wonderful recreational facilities for camping, fishing, boating, hiking and wildlife watching. Visitors can learn about the rich military history of the 1st Calvary Division at the Museum at Ft. Hood, or you can explore the heavens at the Mayborn Planetarium. Business travelers will find our Killeen area hotel's location is convenient to Fort Hood, which is just one mile away. Central Texas College, University of Mary Hardin Baylor, Darnell Army Hospital and the Metroplex Hospital are nearby. The Killeen Fort Hood Regional Airport (GRK) is also only four miles away. A 24-hour business center, state-of-the-art conference room and free high-speed Internet access are provided to meet your needs. Our Killeen, Texas hotel's amenities include a European-style pool with a spa and private cabanas and a 24-hour fitness center. Remember, at Holiday Inn, kids always eat free at our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killeen-Fort Hood Hotel Killeen
Killeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing