We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a nice stay at the right price!”
Review of The Oak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oak Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Grange
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was my second stay at The Oak Motel, and it was very nice again.
As usual, the room was clean and the bathroom very clean too.
Service at the desk was friendly and efficient. The staff is always helpful too.
Sure, this place is on the older side, but it is well maintained, and always much lower priced than the chains in town. Also, it is just a couple blocks off the town square, so it's convenient for those exploring the downtown area.
If you want a clean, comfortable place to sleep, and don't need all the "perks", this is the place.
I will always stay here when I am in the area, and need a room!

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the building (higher room #'s ie:30-40) are quieter, as they are farther...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sj-jj-houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for The Oak Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were very pleased with our room . It was the little special touches that made it special. First upon entering I spotted flowers though artificial it still was nice, A calendar hanging above the bed, and the sheets were so neat and crisp they looked to have been ironed . There was an extra blanket and pillow available, and a 4 cup coffeepot ..frig. only thing I did not see was a microwave but that was ok. I know there was an ice machine but did not see it and did not ask at this time. You are located right next to Subway and across the street from another diner My husband was so pleased he did not take the toilet tissue and believe me that was the first time. So clean yes did not hear traffic all night . Yes will stay again Forgot to mention magazines in the room for you to read.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRENDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Finally stayed at The Oak Motel after years of passing through La Grange and noticing it near the center of town.
We were lucky to get a room at the spur of the moment due to events in a near by town. The Oak Motel does not have the perks of higher priced chain hotels / motels but our greatest impression was clean, clean, clean. The family running the Oak Motel does a great job keeping the rooms clean and updated. Everything worked. The Oak also provides a good value for your traveling dollar. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Have been looking for a nice, fair priced motel in LaGrange for our family visits that doesn't cost too much. This is a nice little family owned motel located close to downtown. Location is safe and owners live on the property. The building is an older style motel and there is no pool or breakfast but if you just need a clean room with clean beds and a clean bathroom, this is a great little place to stay for much less than the chain hotels that are nearby. Don't expect the overpriced amenites of a chain hotel that costs so much more and you won't be disappointed. Suzi from Florida

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We are cyclists coming through town and found the owners extremely friendly and the rooms very nice. We would stay here again and recommend it to our friends. Very good price on the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

As a repetitive traveler along this route, I have always found The Oak Motel to be clean, affordable and most of all... workable.

This place is not "swanky." If you think Ampton Hens are awesome, then I advise you to find one and stay there... miles away for more than twice the cost of this perfectly nice local motel. If all you need is a clean room, a nice bed, workable Wi-Fi, parking at the door and a staff willing to make your stay pleasant... this is your place.

There are several restaurants within easy walking distance and a Chinese Buffet almost across the street. The town square district for Fayette County is also within pretty easy walking distance. If you want to drive, the old Hwy71 steel truss bridge across the Colorado River offers some impressive photos. South of there US 77 winds through a long crossing of the Colorado river offering a few nice views.

La Grange is an unspoiled Texas jewel and the Oak Motel is my favorite stay in town...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I returned after about a year to La Grange, and enjoyed yet another exceptional visit to the Oak Motel. The owners were very friendly upon my arrival, and the room was spotlessly clean -- more so than many of the upscale chain hotels where I've stayed within the last year. The property is well-kept inside and out, and is located in a safe area within convenient walking distance to local dining. Yet it's quiet, unlike other La Grange lodging choices, most, if not all, of which are on the main highways. The microwave, refrigerator, and all amenities in the room were clean and in good working order. I felt safe and relaxed. After at least 5 perfect stays at the Oak Motel, I can confidently say it is a great choice at a good price. I love it and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kidita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grange
1.4 mi away
Best Western La Grange Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
209 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Cottonwood Inn
#5 of 7 in La Grange
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Schulenburg Inn & Suites
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Schulenburg
15.8 mi away
Motel 6 Weimar, TX
Motel 6 Weimar, TX
#1 of 1 in Weimar
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Motel

Address: 227 S Jefferson St, La Grange, TX 78945-2711
Region: United States > Texas > La Grange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Grange
Price Range: £59 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oak Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Hotel La Grange
Oak Hotel La Grange
The Oak Motel La Grange, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing