We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoppie's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hoppie's
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
Restaurant details
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The BBQ here is ok... Get the sliced sausage it is smoked and pretty delicious, the brisket is just average. We like to come here on Monday's for dollar draft beer. It's an ok place for BBQ and is pretty fun to hang out, they have a bar and pool table with a juke box seperate from the restaraunt. If you want good BBQ in La Porte though, King's is the best!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
407 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“how does this place survive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I went to Hoppies about 3:00 and was the only person in the place ... still, lousy service ...
After I sat down to wait for my chopped beef sandwich , french fries and an ice cold beer... I started looking around at the place ... WHAT A DUMP ....

Anyway, the sandwich was dry, so I ordered some sauce which helped a little ... the fries were really skinny ... I like big ole fat fries with BBQ ... I ate, drank and hit the door, never to return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sinbad5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“too many other Good restaurants”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stood around waiting on someone to wait on me, then the food was below average. I barely even touched what they called jambalaya.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Order the sausage or chicken, both are a must. The music is great and the people are friendly.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank weirdtexasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“never changes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

any place that wieghs every slice of beef with grissle and fat tells you your not getting any more dont waste your time

Helpful?
Thank ticamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoppie's also viewed

La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
 
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing