We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crooks!, Hotel was a mess.”
Review of Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Suites
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crooks!, Hotel was a mess.”
Reviewed 24 March 2007

Stayed here on New Years Eve after going to a party to keep from driving long way home. Booked through Expedia. First room we were given had paint buckets, ladder, and tools all over the bed and floor. We were given another room that had a large hole in the floor and the wall.
Our credit card was charged on Jan 5 for the room then again in March. They claimed they never got the money despite us faxing copies of the statement. They were very rude when confronted. Our bank had to shut down our card to keep them from charging any more money. RIP OFF, STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

The room was clean and adequate, though I did not appreciate the rude phone call from the housekeeper early in the morning to remind me that checkout time was 11 a.m.

Additionally, the hotel charged my credit card for the room after I had paid for it on Hotels.com. When I called the hotel to report the error, the desk clerk was EXTREMELY disrespectful and sarcastic, insinuated that I was lying, and claimed that the hotel does not receive notification that web reservations are prepaid. Being a frequent traveler, I find that hard to believe, as this problem has never arisen at the dozens of other hotels in which I've stayed. Not once did she offer anything close to an apology for her error. (I recognized her voice as the clerk who checked us in.)

Bottom line: Nice physical property; discourteous staff and poor bookkeeping procedures. Won't stay there on my return to the area, nor will I recommend it to my family who will be visiting there soon.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank dlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinAnkuda, Management at Garden Suites, responded to this review, 14 May 2007
Dear sir or madam,

Good evening. I would like to start by saying I am very sorry about the experience you had with the staff and the credit card issue.

This is not a norm for the hotel. I am not going to make any excuses for the rudeness you recieved. I am sorry and the person that you delt with is no longer employed with the hotel.

If there is anything I am able to do, please let me know. Once again I am sorry for the staff member that you had to deal with.

Regards,
Garden Suites
gardensuites@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Porte hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Porte hotels
1.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Houston La Porte
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Porte
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites La Porte
Candlewood Suites La Porte
#9 of 14 in La Porte
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in La Porte
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston
0.6 mi away
Super 8 LaPorte
Super 8 LaPorte
#6 of 14 in La Porte
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Suites

Property: Garden Suites
Address: 107 N 8th St, La Porte, TX 77571-3213
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel La Porte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing