We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress free stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We switched to this hotel after ditching our reservation at another local hotel after a terrible experience (see my review of the Days Inn). The rate was higher than I wanted to pay but was able to save a few bucks with my AAA card. Overall we felt safer and the rooms were much nicer and very clean. The staff was fantastic and as an IHG member we were treated like royalty. Breakfast was perfect and we found everything we needed.

The room was large and ours faced the 146 highway but we didn't hear the traffic over the hum of the air conditioner. The beds were comfortable and we had a choice of soft or firm pillows. Our room contained a small area with a kitchen sink, good size refrigerator, and microwave, including a few utensils and plates.

We didn't get into the small pool but it looked refreshing enough for a dip if they would regularly clean the bugs and garbage that had blown into it. There was ample parking and were always greeted as we entered the lobby.

All and all, this was a great stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kairlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in La Porte Texas for the second time. I can not say enough good things about this place. The first time I was there I left something behind, and almost 3 weeks later when I returned it was still there waiting for me. Rei, Shamin, Christina and Jessica all go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and have everything you need. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on. I was impressed that the people there all stayed busy, constantly cleaning in all areas. All in all the service was great and I would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to the Houston area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is where I stay every time I come to La Porte. Its nothing fancy, but it's clean, roomy, bright. I like the location--right across the way from the Kroger. I haven't stayed in the other La Porte hotels because I'm satisfied with this one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our large suites and cleanliness. Our staff puts their hearts and souls into making sure every guest has the best stay possible. If there is anything we can assist you with during your future stays please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a relaxing weekend gateway away from home. My first impression of the hotel not happy.. I think it needs updating. Even though it looks nice!The rooms are very large and clean, but the towels were a little worn out. But Slept really good though. I must say, We enjoyed the breakfast the most. Overall the hotel is nice and clean but needs some serious makeover. The staff was very friendly, and made me feel very welcome. I surely recommend staying at this hotel..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Totally impressed with the size and cleanliness of the hotel. Everything is new, the staff was excellent and congenial. Breakfast was great and breakfast area was excellent.
Review would have been 5 star except for 2 items. Both items can be and was worked around. The first was the set up of the closet. Clothes rod was just above room safe and didn't give enough room to hang up clothes. There is a shelf midway up holding bedding for the couch-pullout. The easy fix would be swap the position of the clothes rod and shelf. The other complaint would be not enough counter space around the sink in the bathroom. This was worked around without too much of a problem, but... This is not an easy fix, but would have to be addressed when hotel was built. The Bath is huge, but the placement of toilet beside sink, doesn't allow for larger counter...
These problems are not enough to keep this hotel from being an excellent stay and value. I WILL stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Not having been to Houston before, I was unprepared for the bleakness of La Porte, a flat, desolate area where the wind direction dictated whether you would be inhaling hydrocarbons or not. If I didn't have business at the port I'd have kept on driving!

But the Holiday Inn was as expected...a few stories high, no problems with parking and a breakfast bar that included cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit amongst the sausages and muffins.

My room was a complete surprise, though. I know it says "suites" in the name, but I have rented one-bedroom apartments that were smaller. The couch and flat panel tv in the lounge were definitely 'full size' and it was nice to stretch out and watch a hotel movie on a decent screen for a change. Even better, I did not hear the neighbours once, which is very unusual for any hotel (and I had them, I saw Mister Neighbour go into his room one evening).

Now despite all this space, the bedroom itself was meagre in comparison to the full sized kitchen and lounge area. My suitcase was OK over on the other side of the room, but if I'd had a partner one of us would have been tripping over it getting to the bed.

Similarly with the bathroom, which was a pretty normal size for a bathroom but felt cramped after the acres out in the lounge.

In truth, all that space was wasted on me and I rattled around a bit, but I'm certainly not complaining!

So, those were the good points. The bad points were that there is nothing within walking distance - and not much in the way of footpaths that I saw - so you will need a car to get around. And I had to leave for an early flight and when I hit the shower at 4:10am there was no hot water. Lucky that even in April Texas is still pretty warm. Worse for me, and very inexplicable, after I came back to the room on my second day, the bedroom smelled moldy. It is a pet hate of mine and I found it very strange because there was no hint of this when I checked in.

And why do American hotels persist with those in-window air con units? OK, it's not quite in-window at this Holiday Inn, but it's still a direct conduit to the noise of the 146 that was just outside my bedroom. And they are noisy, even on the 'low' fan setting, so I suffered being warm rather than risk industrial deafness running the blower a few feet from my ears all night.

Still, our current project makes revisiting La Porte likely and if so I'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the east side so you don't hear the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tghu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Tghu V,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stopped over in La Porte on our drive from Texas back to Georgia because we wanted to visit San Jacinto and the Battleship Texas. The hotel was nice and clean. We got the apartment-style room which was humongous. The breakfast was good and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyK643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Porte hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Porte
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in La Porte
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in La Porte
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Houston La Porte
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Houston La Porte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte

Address: 908 W G St, La Porte, TX 77571-4983
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Price Range: £94 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte, a 100% smoke-free facility. This all suites property is near the Houston Ship Channel, Galveston Beach, Kemah Boardwalk, the Norwegian Cruise Terminal, NASA Space Center, Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and several golf courses. Corporations nearby include JV Industrial, DuPont, Siemens Intl., TIMEC, Maxim Crane, BP Oil, Shell Oil, and many more. Join us for your business or pleasure stay in La Porte, Texas. The hotel's features include free high-speed Internet (Wi-Fi), local phone calls, and a complimentary full hot Express Start breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new hot breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of eggs, meats, biscuits, gravy, juices, cereals, breads/muffins, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, with 0 trans-fat. Visit Houston, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites La Porte
Holiday Inn La Porte
La Porte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing