We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    8
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
16
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked this room at $42.00 per night plus tax through a points program via my Mastercard for my son and me while visiting family in the area. I pre-paid for the room and presented a voucher upon check-in. The young girl behind the counter did not know what to do with the voucher and we experienced some confusion regarding how to use it.

The Days Inn is more like a two-story motel, where you drive up to your room and enter from the outside. It was right next to the busy 146 freeway and very noisy. I knew we had made a mistake as soon as I looked around the parking lot and caught a glimpse of the clientele. It became quite apparent that this is an extended stay hotel for blue-collar workers in the area. The parking lot was full of big muddy trucks and peculiar looking clientele stomping around in big dirty boots. In fact, several men were using the parking lot as a place to change the oil and fix a flat tire. Really?

The room was extremely tired and run-down and I felt like we had just walked back into 1980. The tube TV didn't work and the fridge and microwave were mustard yellow and appeared to be 20-years old. While the room was fairly clean, the furniture was very worn. Don't walk on the carpet in your bare feet. Gross. Bed was uncomfortable and sheets and comforter had cigarette burn holes. Very disgusted. I didn't sleep at all the first night, as I didn't feel safe. The door didn't seal well and I could see straight outside. I didn't trust the lock.

We were slated to stay a total of four nights, but we checked out the next day. The gentleman at the front desk refused to give me any kind of refund for the remaining nights. He asked why we were departing early and I told him I didn't feel safe here with my 10-year old son.

I later called my credit card who insisted on contacting Days Inn to see if they could get a refund for me. I did receive a very small refund, barely a nights stay. There are plenty other new options in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kairlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a group of 10 (5 couples) staying overnight at this motel, on our way to a Caribbean cruise. The accommodations were adequate and the rooms were very clean, quiet, and as expected for a Days Inn establishment. There weren't any restaurants within walking distance, however we had food delivered from a local place and the staff allowed us to take over the breakfast area so we could have our meal together as a group. Breakfast was they typical continental breakfast with waffles. However, the outstanding item to note was the customer service of this motel. The owners of this establishment were very accommodating for a large group as ours. The owners and their family went out of their way to transport all of my party, along with our baggage to the cruise port the next morning. All this occurred during the cold snap in the early part of December! I believe that customer service outranks any of the other amenities and I would recommend this motel to anyone wishing to stay in La Porte awaiting a cruise out of Houston. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level floor if you have a lot of baggage to move, as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

According to the GPS the hotel is located in the middle of an expressway intersection. Take heed. Found the hotel about two blocks north, fairly new within the past 3 years but already looking a bit used. The front desk was very pleased that we were getting a Jacuzzi room and we were surprised because of the cost of the room was very reasonable. A traveling companion had made the reservations for 4 couples so we had no idea what we were getting. The room was large and was apparently a handicap accessible room, supposedly. The room was large, the furniture was pretty much trashed with missing or dangling handles on the dresser drawers. The wifi was intermittent, a nice TV. You needed a ladder to get in the slab of granite they called a bed. The bath was interesting and did have a nice shower head with lots of water although the paint was pealing and the grout was coming up around the tub. There is no way a handicapped person could get in the bathroom, the door was stuck on the carpet and would not open completely. We did not try the Jacuzzi, it did not look clean. Thank God we were there only one night waiting to get aboard a cruise ship. The management did promptly handle one problem, a guest parked a truck and motorcycle trailer in front of the rooms, taking up 6 parking spaces. Otherwise we did not complain abut the room, just left it alone and will not stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooma
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Porte hotels

Greenville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel was fine. The manager was quite anxious regarding payment. He jumped to the wrong idea when I first arrived. His daughter was able to calm him down. He never did apologize for his anxious behavior. Oh Well, it was still a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Porte hotels
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Houston La Porte
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites La Porte
Candlewood Suites La Porte
#9 of 14 in La Porte
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 LaPorte
Super 8 LaPorte
#6 of 14 in La Porte
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in La Porte
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in La Porte
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston
Address: 705 Highway 146 S, La Porte, TX 77571-4835 (Formerly Days Inn LaPorte)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in La Porte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites La Porte/Houston, Texas, is situated within the Bay Area of the Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown metropolitan area. We are conveniently located just off Highway 146 and only about 25 miles away from downtown Houston. The city’s rich history invites you to visit nearby attractions such as the San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site and Battleship USS Texas. Enjoy a leisurely day outside at the Kemah Boardwalk or visit the famous Sunset Sip and Stroll Farmers Market. Golfers can play a round at the scenic Bay Forest Golf Course, named one of the top 20 municipal courses in the state. For your dining pleasure and convenience, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites La Porte/Houston sits among a variety of eating establishments, some within walking distance. Local favorites include Baytown Seafood Restaurant, Blondie’s Bar and Grill, Asian Wok, and Main 101 Grill and Bar. Guests are invited to enjoy the complimentary daily deluxe continental breakfast and coffee in the lobby. Featured hotel amenities include a guest laundry facility and business center. Take a refreshing dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, open from April to October. Take advantage of our business center equipped with computer and the guest laundry facility, open 24 hours. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Complimentary on-site parking for all types of vehicles with outdoor plug-ins is available. One pet is welcome for a charge. From the privacy of your guestroom, enjoy such home luxuries as a sofa, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 40-inch flat panel cable TV with ESPN, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free local calls. Please inquire about upgrading to one of our jacuzzi rooms or spacious suites. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites La Porte/Houston offers an ideal location, competitive rates, and exceptional customer service. Make it your place to stay when visiting the historic La Porte, Texas area. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites La Porte/Houston, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- LaPorte / Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing