We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shores at Lake Travis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lago Vista
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The general manager here needs to take a lesson in customer relations. After pounding on our door on our departure date and accusing us of having dogs in the room (we didn't), he repeatedly reminded us that checkout was at 11 am. We own (outright) a 2 unit RCI property in Las Vegas. This property doesn't even come close. It is very dated. It certainly was not worth the price we paid to stay here and give up one of our weeks in Las Vegas. This property would be good for one thing, sleeping. However, that too was impossible as the office rang the room almost every morning wanting us to come to an "information" meeting. As we already are owners, and most certainly never intend to stay here again, we found that annoying, to say the least. I wouldn't have bothered reviewing at all, if it hadn't been for the behavior of the manager on the last day of our stay. Do yourself a favor. Find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just needed a place for the weekend so I didn't need much. Decided to stay here and I wish I had looked elsewhere. The place is rundown, outdated, and the beds are horrendous! On my last night I found a 8 in long centipede crawling across the floor! Nothing to do in Lago Vista if your wanting to check out the night life. Next time I will be checking into the Hollows in Jonestown. Much nicer and closer to town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I purchased a Living Social that was for 3 days, 2 nights before I read the reviews. I wasn't expecting much because of the recent reviews but the condo overall was very nice. The condo is older, but was pleasant enough. The AC worked great, the condo was clean. There were some items left in the drawers in the bedroom (unused q-tips, crayons), but we didn't use the drawers since we were there for 2 nights. DO NOTE that the condo is equipped with only ONE SHOWER. The master is just a jacuzzi tub. If you wish to be near the pool, just request your condo to be close. I did and we were right in front of it. Deer do come out and we do suggest buying a few bags of deer corn from the office to feed them. They are gentle. The staff was also extremely helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool if you wish to go swimming. Bring your own towels as only 4 were gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Older resort that has seen better days. Staff fabulous...welcoming and will try to accommodate guests to the best of their ability. The actual rooms are very, very dated and need updating. The baths were the worst....and is why I rated this site so low. Master bath was old, old, dated and dirty from years of use....guest bath had been updated years ago but was much cleaner. Kitchen and remainder of unit was very clean. Kitchen was stocked with nice dishes, pans and glassware. A great location to kick back, relax and explore Hill Country and Austin. So nice to walk in the morning and evening with deer grazing and watching you!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NANCY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Granted it is not as visually appealing as some places but the unit we had was very clean. A one story floor plan with the decor mostly outdated but still in good condition. Fully stocked with many appliances, sundries, with a shower and air conditioning that were well maintained. The amenities of the property seemed okay, but limited, with no lake views. The friendly deer that roam the grounds are so enjoyable to watch. This timeshare property had nice staff that did not bother you with sales pitches and the like. The town of Lago Vista has very little in the way of appealing eating establishments. However just 10 miles from this resort in Cedar Park there is an abundance of choices. If you like antiques you can go the other way about an hour drive to Marble Falls or Burnet. Both of these cities have many restaurants choices. We would recommend this location as a great home base for exploring. The area is scenic with many parks and small towns within 1-2hrs distance.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk staff to offer suggestions based on your needs. They are very nice and attentive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MominOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The linen was unchanged on one of the single beds. You could smell the hair odor of the previous occupant and there was a yellow saliva stain on the pillow case. Floors in kitchen were sticky and dirty. Pubic hairs in the dresser drawers in the master bedroom. Being old and worn out is one thing but there is no excuse for dirty. This should not be an RCI rated resort. The location is beautiful. Change the managment and get new cleaning crew. This is my first night here and I dont know how long I will last.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tanganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Yes, it is an older complex, but a great little get away. Not snazzy, but the rates are cheaper than other places on Lake Travis. Everything was clean, had a nice deck with a view of the golf course, (city-owned and only $35 for a round of golf with 1/2 a cart included). Little outdoor grills all around the complex. Peaceful, pool was clean and inviting. (Ask for one of the units nearby, if you plan to use it. We were about 30 feet away) Kitchenette came fully equipped with pots and pans, and we only had to ask at the front desk for anything else. Even got a sheet of foil when we forgot to pick that up at the market. Watercraft for rent nearby if that's your thing, we just need a break for hustle and bustle before the kids went back to college. Staff was friendly and polite. And the deer come though about 8am and 5pm, deer corn is available at the front desk for a nominal fee. They do eat right out of your hand, but they can be skittish, prepare the little ones to be still and quiet if you nwat some great pics!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near front desk to get "front row seats" as the deer come by. Great pics for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadredeOsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lago Vista
3.5 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
9 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mountain Star Lodge and Hotel
6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Lakeway
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores at Lake Travis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores at Lake Travis

Address: 1917 American Dr, Lago Vista, TX 78645-7802
Region: United States > Texas > Lago Vista
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lago Vista
Price Range: £67 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shores at Lake Travis 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Shores at Lake Travis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores At Lake Travis Hotel Lago Vista
Shores Lake Travis
The Shores At Lake Travis Lago Vista, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing