We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home from January -February”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Jackson
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The clientele are friendly and courteous. The hotel offers continental breakfast, on site laundry and close to stores, restaurants and easy access to highways. This hotel is also close to Surfside Beach which has State Parks with covered picnic tables, grills, bath houses and you can fish and enjoy the ships coming and going in the ship channel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel is very clean and great staff with positive attitude and very accommodative. They are doing renovation and it is looking great. I look forward to stay again after everything is updated and also recommend this property.Thanks to everyone for all your kindness during my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Where to begin. Stayed here a few years ago on business and it was cute. Now filthy, noisy, holes in bed sheets. Staff apathetic and incompetent. Shower head broken. Construction makes lobby impassable, with no attempt to clear debris at the end of the day. Dangerous trip hazards. Strong fumes throughout hotel of floor adhesive from construction and marijuana. Would NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Midwest42469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you’re from a big city or a nice suburb then this place will disappoint you. It is a typical small city, hole in the wall hotel that is in desperate need of renovation, love, and care. If this hotel is your only option then make sure you request a room on the 2nd floor on the opposite side of the bar. Also make sure to request that you have a fully working shower.

I stayed in March of 2014 and I don't plan on staying there again. I stayed in the Jacuzzi room, which had a conjoined room with a bed in it. The Jacuzzi was nice. No complaints there. Each room had its own bathroom. In room 104 the “rainfall shower head” didn’t work at all, so a bath was the only option. The bathroom sink did not have a stopper and the plug was down, so all it did was fill up and retain water. The shower stopper in 105 that you pull up on to get the tub water to stop only went up half way. So I guess you could say the shower “worked”, but half of the water was pouring out into the tub and the rest from the shower head, which meant the bathtub filled with water. Both TV’s were old and kind of fuzzy. The comforter on my bed had three huge stains on it. Awesome to look at. The “hot” breakfast was unfortunate. The sausage and eggs did not look like real sausage and eggs, so I ate cereal and a bagel.

The layout is odd. It’s like a large triangle and the rooms are against the sides of the triangle leaving this huge open space in the middle. I mean, it’s odd how much space they are wasting. There are “kid-free” areas… in the middle of the hotel. It is a bar/restaurant and since it’s poorly located, you can hear everything. Well, that and the fact that the walls are paper thin. I could literally look out of my door hole and see the bar. It was 10 steps from my room. Oh! They have a piano that is conveniently placed outside of the bar- between my room and the bar is more like it. And yes, that area is open until midnight, so if you have kids or want to sleep, it’s not happening until after mid night.

I only interacted with 2 staff. The first was when I checked in... She didn't even smile. The second was the night front desk staff. She was wonderful, polite, and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Bar and preferable on the second floor. Doesn't really matter thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wileyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed twice each time for one night. If I can avoid staying here another night I will do. I know its only for the one night but there is a couple of basics that is irritating. The cooked breakfast in the morning is tragic and I would not recommend it to anyone. The key cards to open your door are very hit and miss and even with help from reception can take numerous attempts to get into the room, Once you are in the room the temperature seems hard to get right but the bed is good. Stay in a room near the bar and you suffer from noise. I might add that we take about 20 rooms at a time and the breakfast and doors keys are a common problem. On our last visit one occupant had to put with a barking dog next door that was constant and after banging on the door the conclusion was the dog was in the room on its own

Room Tip: I'd strongly advise to try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited the Lake Jackson area recently with our two grandchildren and spent the day at Surfside Beach. The kids enjoyed the day at the beach. We checked in at the Cherotel just in time for the kids to get about an hour of swim time in the outdoor pool before it closed.
The hotel was clean, and the beds were comfortable. We had a late breakfast at the restaurant across the street which had a nice brunch-type buffet.
Overall, the stay was good. We thought it was a good family-style hotel.
Nothing fancy, but comfortable.

Room Tip: Back entrance closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed one night over tax free weekend. Was disappointed when we were charged more than amount reserved. Front desk person was somewhat arguementative. Rooms were not new, but clean, got extra towels with no problem, not great AC for summer heat, nice pool area. Glad we used the pool early as the pool area and parking lot got a bit sketchy at night. I also had to wonder why a hotel had to put a sign up front that no drugs were allowed.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Jackson
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 7 in Lake Jackson
48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
44 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Angleton
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lake Jackson
Candlewood Suites Lake Jackson
#3 of 7 in Lake Jackson
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 925 US Highway 332 West, Lake Jackson, TX 77566-6104 (Formerly Cherotel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Lake Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Jackson
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Texas State Highway 332, the Clarion Inn® & Suites hotel in Lake Jackson, TX puts guests close to a variety of fun water activities and relaxing in the sand at Surfside Beach, Bryan Beach and Quintana Beach. Additional points of interest include: - Lake Jackson Historical Museum - Mammoth Lake Scuba Park - Freeport Golf Course - Brazos Mall Our pet-friendly Lake Jackson hotel has lots of meeting space for your next event – six rooms can accommodate 200 people for banquets and 80 for conferences. There is also a business center for guests to use for work needs should they arise. Our very own Picket Fence Restaurant serves delicious American fare, while the Parrot Eyes Bar is a great place to grab a drink. Additional amenities include: - Free hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Fitness Center - Outdoor pool - Guest laundry facilities All guest rooms offer a microwave and refrigerator. Some rooms feature a desk, iron, board and in-room tea and coffee. Get together at the Clarion Inn & Suites hotel in Lake Jackson, Texas. Book now to connect with family, friends and colleagues and enjoy attentive services and affordable hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherhotel Reception And Conference Center
Cherhotel Reception Lake Jackson
Cherotel Brazosport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing