We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed luxury in an Eco environment”
Review of The Resurgence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resurgence
Ranked #1 of 1 Riwaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed luxury in an Eco environment”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a brilliant room in the lodge for 3 nights. Peter and Clare were wonderful hosts who organised tickets for various outings. The pool was worth a pre breakfast dip! The communal dining was particularly fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
176
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights having booked at the last minute. The welcome we were given by Peter and Clare was wonderful. We booked the half board option and thoroughly enjoyed both the aperitifs on the balcony meeting and talking to our fellow guests. The meal that Clare prepared was superb greatly enhanced by the dinner table conversation with other guests.
Our room was very comfortable and looked out onto the beautiful country side surrounding the lodge.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Resurgance and hope to visit again one day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhampton, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Resugence for three nights in the bush lodge suites. The accommodations were perfect-comfortable bed, plenty of room to sit in the living areas or out on the deck, kitchens were very well appointed (including a daily loaf of Clare's homemade bread), bathroom was luxurious. Peter and Clare were very friendly and accommodating. Clare is a fantastic gourmet cook and the evening meals were splendid in every way. There is a lovely short walk to the headwaters of the Rawaka River, which is a magical place. The Abel Tasman Park is a 10-15 min drive. We took a water taxi to Awaroa and hiked two stops back and were picked up again but water taxi for the trip back to our car...the trip was amazing. We highly recommend this lodge...the morning bird chorus will knock your socks off!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Location is lovely, seems to be miles from anywhere, with a narrow windy track to get to the main house. We stayed in the main house. The room was very large and comfortable, with all the amenities you need except no aircon. I am sure most of the time they don't need it, but it happens when we were there it was very warm and the room was just too hot to be comfortable. There was a ceiling fan which helped. As the place is so far out in the sticks it makes sense too eat there and the food was pretty good. We enjoyed chatting with other guests from Sweden, France, etc. Hosts are English and were very accommodating.The boat trip they recommended for us was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent 2 days in this lodge,unforgettable.
It is extreme well located,in the middle of the bush and close to a beautiful valley.
The chalet is very comfortable ,in an "eco-design".
We had a warm welcome from the hosts and the dinner they organized for all guests is a great moment:excellent cooking and warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didile73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful location right next to the Resurgence--a river springing straight out of a nearby mountain. Must hike to it. Claire is an excellent chef and it was really fun eating with the other guests from all over the world. Peter couldn't be nicer, helping me with my Internet when it wasn't working. Room was spotless and so cozy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hofol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My partner and I initially booked a 2 night stay but the drive through the hills to get to the hotel was so beautiful and serene we decided to extend our stay to 5 nights by the time we got to the reception. Clare and Peter are perfect hosts and you will immediately feel welcome. They are experts in the area and gave us great advice on things to do and see that are not as touristy. The rooms are very spacious, spotless and the setting is breathtaking. I highly recommend dining with the guests as you will meet some interesting people. It was the perfect ending to our 2 week New Zealand trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riwaka
13.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
23.6 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
383 reviews
4.9 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resurgence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Property: The Resurgence
Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road | RD3 Motueka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing