We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat into nature” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Resurgence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Resurgence
Ranked #1 of 2 Riwaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat into nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Turn off the highway on to a two-lane road. Head up a long, narrow, twisting gravel-paved driveway. After a 15 minute or so drive, you arrive at a private, peaceful, rural retreat amid forest and foothills. But you won't be roughing it. Your cabin is cosy and has everything you need, including freshly-baked bread for breakfast every morning. In the evenings, you can gather with fellow travelers for an aperitif and canapés before sitting down to a gourmet dinner prepared by your hosts, Clare and Peter, British ex-pats who are living their dream on the South Island of New Zealand. There are hiking trails on the property, including one to the river source that gives the lodge its name. But you're only a short drive to the waters and trails of Abel Tasman National Park, which only can be reached by boat or on foot. Peter and Clare can arrange trips and tours into the park and give you tips on the best trails at Abel Tasman or the adjacent Kahurangi National Park. Great digs and great company.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enroute2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
173
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a marvellous place - recently stayed a couple of nights during our month long trip to NZ and oh so wish it could have been longer. Although our stay was brief, we found it a totally relaxing experience. The accommodation was everything you could wish for with fantastic views over the valley and mountains. Clare and Peter couldn't have been more helpful in their suggestions regarding the surrounding area and beyond and they also arranged a boat trip up the Abel Tasman coastline. We really enjoyed dining with the other guests and Clare's cooking was absolutely delicious and she very kindly let me in on the secret of her after dinner chocs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent 3 nights here. Beautiful setting. The welcome was fantastic and Clare and Peter were very knowledgeable about the area. They arranged a wonderful day trip on the water with the brilliantly named Rod Stewart who was very informative and a great guide. We ate in the evening on two nights and had great food and conversation with the other guests. One regret was not meeting Kev and Trev the Kea parrots.Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississppi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Clare & Peter have left no stone unturned in making this property heaven. The slight remoteness is exactly what we wanted yet 15 mins to our boat charter to Abel Tasman. From the amazing mountain & valley views to the wonderfully prepared dinners. It seems you never see anyone working but there's so much attention to detail you wonder how it all gets done. Seems like they have the market cornered in NZ on their bird life & the Kea's made my day!Don't miss out on "The Source" it was rather fairy-tale like w a rainbow beginning the day and a little bird showing me the way....dreaming till we meet again. This was the perfect wind down before the arduous journey back home. I think we may be dragging more of our family here next year as you can't miss this wonderful place & country before you die!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jazzlover2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a brilliant room in the lodge for 3 nights. Peter and Clare were wonderful hosts who organised tickets for various outings. The pool was worth a pre breakfast dip! The communal dining was particularly fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights having booked at the last minute. The welcome we were given by Peter and Clare was wonderful. We booked the half board option and thoroughly enjoyed both the aperitifs on the balcony meeting and talking to our fellow guests. The meal that Clare prepared was superb greatly enhanced by the dinner table conversation with other guests.
Our room was very comfortable and looked out onto the beautiful country side surrounding the lodge.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Resurgance and hope to visit again one day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhampton, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Resugence for three nights in the bush lodge suites. The accommodations were perfect-comfortable bed, plenty of room to sit in the living areas or out on the deck, kitchens were very well appointed (including a daily loaf of Clare's homemade bread), bathroom was luxurious. Peter and Clare were very friendly and accommodating. Clare is a fantastic gourmet cook and the evening meals were splendid in every way. There is a lovely short walk to the headwaters of the Rawaka River, which is a magical place. The Abel Tasman Park is a 10-15 min drive. We took a water taxi to Awaroa and hiked two stops back and were picked up again but water taxi for the trip back to our car...the trip was amazing. We highly recommend this lodge...the morning bird chorus will knock your socks off!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riwaka
13.8 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
7.4 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
5.3 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resurgence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Property: The Resurgence
Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road | RD3 Motueka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Riwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing