We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q
Ranked #2 of 337 Restaurants in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We'll set up and serve for one hour, buffet style so you can enjoy your event. All caterings include sliced pickles, onions, jalapenos, fresh bread, Rudy's "sause", plates, plastic cutlery, and napkins. Tea, sweeteners & lemons included. Must be ordered at least one day in advance. Group meals include any combination of Brisket, Turkey, Chopped Meat, Pork Loin, or Sausage and your choice of 3 sides. Includes sliced pickles, onions, jalapenos, fresh bread, Rudy's "sause", plates, plastic cutlery, napkins, tea, sweetners, lemons, cups, and ice. Ask about our Breakfast Tacos.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I love the food, especially their turkey and brisket...It's a cool atmosphere and the staff and service are great. If you haven't tried it yet, what are you waiting for? You won't regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Female_Opinion01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    43
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love Rudy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

The food is great, the service is very good, the atmosphere is very nice. I love Rudy's. I could eat there every day, but I would not be able to walk after a week lol. They have some of the best bbq around and if you are curious, just ask and they will give you a sample to help decide

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j_bulldog_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great bbq”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

I had a pulled pork sandwich, and it was one of the best I've ever had. It can be a little confusing ordering because all the cold sides are in a cooler before you get to the counter and you get those yourself. If you have never been before they will give you a small sample of everything so you can find what you want. The decor is great and comfy.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j_bulldog_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Meeting Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I ordered food for my group of 20. Very affordable and very good. There was plenty of food left over. Provided everything, table cover, plates, cups, cutlery and of course the great BBQ and sides!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A mandatory stop when I'm in Laredo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

If I can only eat in one place while I'm in Laredo on business, then it has to be Rudy's.

The people who work there are very friendly and helpful in guiding you on what to order. They'll even give you samples to help you make the decision of what to get.

I order the extra lean Brisket (a half pound runs about $7.04 and that's enough for one person), half a sausage link ($1.89), small beans ($1.99), and a small cream corn (the best I've had, at $2.19).

The sweet tea is very good, and the bbq "sause" (as they refer to it) has a bit of a kick to it. They have two versions, but even the Sissy one will get your attention. Whichever one you use, it really does enhance the flavor of the meat.

You'll see a cross-section of Laredo digging into the food - families, police officers, border patrol agents, business people and couples.

I highly recommend Rudy's. I'm getting hungry just writing this review!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutwardBounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing