We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beau Rive
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Secret Bay(Portsmouth)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
312
6
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
6
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmark steeleyogurtthe ownerlime curdbreakfast and dinnersmall hotelhome madeother guestsemerald poolplaces to visittwo weeksthe atlantic oceanthe perfect hostdining areapreservesthe east coaststunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for five nights in February, and absolutely loved it. It's supremely relaxing: comfortable (though not opulent) rooms, a wonderful atmosphere, beautiful views of the ocean, friendly dogs, and a fantastic owner. We've traveled around the world and stayed in too many hotels to count, and have to say that Mark is one of the greatest hotel owners we've ever met. He was always willing to sit down and provide excellent suggestions for hikes, restaurants, and other activities, and it was a pleasure talking with him in the evenings, hearing about his past adventures and sharing ours.

Dinners are delicious; we loved the food, and ended up dining there every night. We stayed in one of the cottages, and loved it. Hearing both ocean and tropical forest sounds as you fall asleep is magical.

Overall, we'd highly recommend this hotel. This is one we'd visit again, and we don't say that about most places!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have now stayed twice at Beau Rive and it is very rare for us go back to a hotel. Mark is the perfect host with an extraordinary eye for detail without being at all intrusive. The hotel is on a hillside with a superb view of the coast and ocean but it is not for those seeking a beach. The rooms are spare but large and airy and spotlessly clean. The setting is isolated but that means peace and serenity. Breakfast is provided and is simple but excellent with home made preserves and yogurt. Supper is provided and is usually one choice although Mark will try to accommodate alternatives. The food is made with ultra-fresh local ingredients and Mark oversees the kitchen and has trained the staff. Meals are served on a terrace with stunning views.

The ambience is how one imagines a country house weekend with a comfortable large sitting room featuring an excellent library and collections of CDs and Videos although we did not see the TV in use.

The proprietor - Mark - is another reason to stay. He has lived for a longish time on Dominica and is a fund of information on the island. He could not make one feel more welcome and at home. His two dogs give you an enthusiastic welcome and are delightful and, if one is honoured, the resident cat may come to greet you. Mark's staff are also a delight and quietly efficient.

We would happily go back for a third visit which is unheard of for us!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room rather than a cottage and it had great sea views. There is no need for A/C as the sea breezes cool the room beautifully.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The soul of Beau Rive that Mark has so carefully crafted is like a well designed stage set.. Rooms awash in light, windows and terraces framed with flowers, living,dining, pool and terrace areas that invite you to linger longer, 4 course dinner menus meticulously served under the stars (after which you might get lucky enough to hear Mark play his piano or spin a few tales of his island adventures). Watching the antics of the resident animals can't help but make you smile... Our decision to select Beau Rive for our 7 night stay was based primarily on its location, room design and availability of evening meals without the need to drive if we chose but never felt the need.. It was a relief to return to our cottage, fatigued from our day's schedule, and NOT have to venture out at night, Warning to new travelers, distances between major attractions are not just a walk in the park, there are some bone jarring roads you will encounter. We toured the entire island, our focus on snorkeling and hikes of moderate length. Our favorite snorkeling was at Sunset Beach, the best hike to Glassy Point which is a pleasant ride south of Rosalie. Count on more time to travel than maps detail and book your lodging to minimize travel time. We discovered taxis are a very affordable option, probably equivalent to what we paid on auto rental and gas on a daily basis.. Towns really don't offer any amenities but are filled with fascinating snapshots of local culture. Watch the cruise ship timetables when planning your day. Luckily only once did we get swept up in in a throng of boat people. Try to spend 10 days or more as only a week makes you feel short changed. Next time we would try a portion of the Waitukubuli Trail, like segment #13 or 14 which got rave reviews for variety of scenery and the ability to actually hike, not just scramble over boulders and roots. Hikes that are circular or only one way are best, you can always arrange a taxi pickup. The Bradt Guide on Dominica that we borrowed from Mark's library was an invaluable tool, pick it up before you make your trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar layouts, views are best in the main house, but cottages have more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent six days at Beau Rive in late January 2014 and we wished we'd booked in for sixteen. The site is breathtaking, with beautiful gardens tumbling down to the foaming sea (and the distant sound of surf all night), birds everywhere, a delightful pool, friendly dogs, and a terrace with a stupendous view where breakfast and dinner are served. And what food! Almost everything was local and organic, much of it prepared by Englishman Mark Steele, who created this place and deserves the Nobel Prize for Caribbean hospitality.
Dominica is a spectacularly beautiful and unspoiled island with particularly friendly people, and Mark knows it inside out. The interesting sights and restaurants he recommended were all first rate. We plan to go again and stay longer, and memories of Beau Rive will help us through the rest of the British winter.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same stunning views, refreshing breezes, lofty ceilings and lovely wooden floors, and are furnished with simple elegance.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duzeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This small boutique hotel is set on 3 lush acres on a hillside facing the sea. There are several rooms in the main house and two cottages. It's a truly relaxing place, since there is no tv, no radio, no phone, but there is wifi in the library. Breakfast and dinner are prepared fresh daily using local, mostly organic, ingredients. Wonderful!

Mark and his staff are lovely people, happy to impart lots of local knowledge. Everthing is kept clean and tidy. A truly comfortable home away from home.

Room Tip: A cottage offers privacy, outdoor balcony and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews