We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of Spice Cottage

Spice Cottage
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Spice Cottage is a well-known, established restaurant specializing in providing classic plus special Indian dishes. Carefully thought and prepared by our highly skilled chefs. The Spice Cottage experience offers an intriguing combination of freshly cooked food to order with spices from the Indian subcontinent producing curries from mild to fiery hot! This is complete with a warm welcome from our friendly staff. An added bonus is that we do not sell alcoholic drinks, therefore you may bring your own. Alternatively, this can be brought by the local businesses around us and there is no corkage charge which makes the dining experience even more value for money.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Came here last night for the first time not too busy shown to the table and ordered of poppadoms taken and arrived very quickly .the waiters were pacing up and down waiting to take your empty plates away . Food ordered food came all very quick it was a nice curry can't fault food all service just that you were rushed .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevorpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rofiqul I, Manager at Spice Cottage, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear our service wasn't up to scratch. We have informed our staff to allow more time for our dining customers. Thank you for letting us know and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    20
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“ALEX”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good service and friendly staff only to willing to help and make you feel welcome ****** parking a bit of a Problem but other than that a good night out.







  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty curry”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a quite mid-week evening. Service was polite, friendly & attentive. Food was served quickly and was superbly spiced - a really tasty curry. Would certainly recommend to others and will definitely visit again when in the area.

Helpful?
Thank blokeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service .”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been having great meals here for many years and now the secret might be out !!!! Always made to feel special . Extensive menu and nothing too much trouble if you need a dish specially prepared .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Di4ne1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the best chicken tikka masala I have ever tried.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I came to spice cottage in Westbourne on a first date, myself and my partner (now) both enjoy Indian food. The staff was very polite and provided to every order, by supplying us with water when necessary, however these glasses should be bigger. As we went on a Saturday, I would recommend any potential visitors to reserve a table in advance.

The overall service from members of staff was impeccable and there eye for detail, we didn't have to wait very long for the good and it was hot and kept hot through out the dinner. I have continued to return to this Indian on more than one occasion since with friends as well as family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Cottage also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Woodmancote, West Sussex
 

Been to Spice Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing