We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spanish Taste

Spanish Taste
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Westbourne
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Spanish food Paella, Tapas, Tortilla, everything home made. Spanish Family run restaurant in the heart of Wesbourne .Weekly offers from Tuesday to Thursday 3 tapas for £5.90, paella for one £6.90 and to share 4 tapas and wine or beer for two £15.00
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great little tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

A really relaxed café style tapas bar. Plenty of authentic tapas, reasonably priced from £2.40 to £4.50. Or have a big Paella for around £9.00. My favourite was the paella and the Albondigas (spanish meatballs). The service is very relaxed (it's spanish!) so not fast food. Thoroughly enjoyed about 6 tapas a beer a wine, two cokes for £26 Saturday Lunch. Good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is the third Spanish restaurant in which I've had a meal in Bournemouth and I can say that is by far the best. Gambas al ajillo were great, with the spicy touch that they should have and I think the price £6.50 is very reasonable. Mixed croquetes were very nice specially the ham ones. What I like the most were Huevos rotos con jamón serrano were so tasty that I felt sorry for finished them. We had a glass of wine, coffees and desserts and the bill was just £35! But the best was the environment, the restaurant is well furnished and the service was really good. The made me feel like if I were in Spain.
I'm wishing come back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not there yet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Sorry to dampen the enthusiasm of other reviewers. I felt the guy in charge was welcoming, generally excellent and wants to do well. I wish him well. However, we were disappointed by the quality of the food here. It wasn't unpleasant, but lacked taste. The calamari was soggy and I suspect microwaved. The chorizo fritters needed more chorizo. Really everything needed to be a bit more bold - it's hard to recreate Spain in a not so sunny Westbourne, so bold flavours are a must. Please also don't serve a glass of wine made up half from the dregs of a bottle opened yesterday. Throw it away and use the new bottle. Your customers can tell. On the plus side, prices are low and could increase a little in my view to fund improvement. Please persist - I think you can succeed, but have the courage to be better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good home cooked Spanish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very much worth a visit if you appreciate good honest food and wine. Good attention from the unassuming owners and a reasonable menu selection.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roachrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Spanish Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The food was really good. We went for breakfast which was really good. Have been back for Tapas and their chorizo and manchego platter which was really tasty. Will be going back for more authentic Spanish flavours.

Helpful?
Thank 55emma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Taste also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Spanish Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing