We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel has potential but is disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Walden Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walden Plantation
Ranked #7 of 9 Llano B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The hotel has potential but is disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

The gourmet breakfast is first-rate. However, to get dinner you must drive 10 miles to Llano. The outdoor pool is clearly the centerpiece of the hotel, but was dirty for all the days we were there -- the pool-sweep was never moving and we couldn't see the bottom of the pool. The spa was dirty and not hot; a guest must request the hotel turn on the spa and two hours later it still was not hot. Our room was fine, nothing elaborate and it could use a microwave and a second chair. Definitely get a room on the second floor to view the small river, but don't get one on the side that has the two large noisy A/C units on the ground floor. Because the hotel is so remote, it lacks any activities so be prepared to drive to whatever you can find to do. Enchanted Rock State Park is about 25 miles, Fredericksburg is about 40 miles.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhome, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed at Walden Plantation for 1 night during a motorcycle tour of Hill Country. We had a beautifully appointed room filled with everything we needed. We also enjoyed visiting with Carol, the manager, who was warm and inviting and teated us like family. We have already recommended this place to another couple as a future travel destination. It's a few miles outside of town, but the property is worth the drive.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaranRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We recently visited the Walden Plantation for an anniversary getaway, and we were just thrilled with the accommodations here! I loved how remote it felt - like we were really getting away from the city, and I was especially appreciative of Carole's kind hospitality. She made us feel so welcome and we spent a great night around the fire chatting with her and other guests. Additionally, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are SO comfy. It was a cold, cold night when we were there and that down comforter came in really handy! We will be returning to the area and this will be our hotel of choice, no question! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJAHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchanan Dam, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Personally I have been to this establishment on several occasions not only with my daughter but the couple and heard these quotes and agreed upon requests granted only to change in the end.

This is something that I have never seen done in all my years of management, in my opinion the owner should reconsider his management at this establishment.
Below is a brief real life experience as recent as the month of October 2010.

Very Non Professional Establishment:

Where do you go when you want that special day to be perfect? My personal advice is not the Walden Plantation; here is a perfect example of the kind of professionalism you will encounter at this establishment. This opinion was formed after personally speaking to not only a worker, but also the manager of the establishment.

My daughter and her fiancé recently began planning thei wedding for July 2011; at the Walden plantation in Llano, TX. This being their first choice on sites they officially went over pricing, and the fact that this was a non alcohol event. In the beginning they were quoted at $6000.00 and told that they would have to rent the entire plantation with the exception of the Walden suite, which they were more than willing to do, this price changed to about $6440 give or take.

Being a non drinking couple, they asked that the bar be shut down, and that all the alcohol be removed from the rooms, this was agreed upon at the time the planning was beginning (October 2010), along with asking if tents could be put up to accommodate certain aspects of the wedding, this also was agreed upon with the manager stating “As long as it is not on the spot where the leech field is”. After several trips to the plantation with the same words agreed upon this is what happened.

The day came to go to the plantation confirm the dates, and pay the plantation for their special weekend in July. When arriving at the Walden Plantation, her fiancé was informed that basically the owner was contacted about the event and after the manager told him they would be loosing money with no food or alcohol the fiancé was told that they would not shut the bar down and they would not remove the alcohol from the rooms, and that they basically could not hold their wedding at this establishment. The couple never told the worker or the plantation manager that people staying there would not be ordering food from their establishment the entire weekend; they simple said that a caterer would be taking care of the wedding reception.

Upon my calling the plantation after the shock of the unprofessional attitude and actions of this plantation all I got was “I am sorry”.

My estimation is that if you are planning a special event you better look some place else, save yourself the aggravation of repeated trips to this establishment and the repeated non professional attitudes, with repeated changes to you’re agreed upon requests, and pricing received here. Another thing to remember is that there are no discounts offered at this establishment for a wedding while renting the entire establishment with the exception of the Walden Suite

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank dasher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Walden Plantation is a great place to stay if you're wanting to enjoy the Hill Country without staying in a flowery, rustic B&B in Fredericksburg. We picked the spot because it looked a little more modern and had the river right behind it. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfasts amazing and the grounds well-kept. We, like some other commenters here, were also overcharged for something on our bill and we weren't sure. We only bought two beers at the bar, but were charged for more. We also got the feeling that many of the guests wanted to socialize with other guests staying there. Not us-- we were there to relax alone -- but we thought it would be nice to get a group together and stay there because they have a lot of group outdoor seating by the firepit. We were also unhappy that guests were not allowed to bring in outside alcohol, since we were on a wine-tasting tour while we were there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara78412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This is a great place to relax and sit a spell or use as a launching point to other destinations. The rooms are elegantly appointed with King size super comfy beds and best described as casual elegant with a gentle southwestern flavor. If you are looking for rustic - this is not the place. The swimming pool is small - large enough to get wet, but too small for swimming laps. Walden Plantation is a B&B and has been open for less than 2 years. The overall site is relatively small and has 1100 ft of river frontage. There are large fish in the river and people try fly fishing here. Kayaking is advertised, but check on the river level before you plan a trip. Oh the food is the best in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-ger128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

It is a beautiful location. WE were looking forward to a great weekend. Aftre a wonderful breakfast we went kayaking and upon returning were greeted very rudely by the manager and stated we needed to leave immediately. She said we had only paid for one night and the room was being given to another client. The policy is 2 night minimum for weekend and it had been booked and paid for 2 nights. She refused to let us talk to the owner and insisted they had no rooms and we had to leave ASAP. The internet service was not working so I could not show her that it had been paid. After we had been gone for 30 minutes she called back and said she had located our confirmation and payment for 2 nights and there was now an available room. WE were too upset to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nanapat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llano hotels
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Llano
BEST WESTERN Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Llano
8.8 mi away
Sandstone Street Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Circle Your Wagons B&B
8.9 mi away
At Nana's Guest House
At Nana's Guest House
#1 of 4 in Llano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lone Star Inn
Lone Star Inn
#2 of 3 in Llano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walden Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Plantation

Property: Walden Plantation
Address: 1690 County Road 102, Llano, TX 78643-2931
Region: United States > Texas > Llano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Walden Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walden Plantation Hotel Llano
Walden Plantation Llano, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing