We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Relaxing Retreat”
Review of Walden Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walden Plantation
Ranked #7 of 9 Llano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Walden Plantation. My husband and I travel to the hill country several times per year, so we were familiar with the area. Other reviews that mention the distance from the property into town are accurate, it is about a 15 minute drive to Llano and about 45 minutes to downtown Fredericksburg. Just be aware before booking that you will have to drive for meals other than breakfast (the website says lunch is offered, but we did not eat lunch at the plantation). We knew the area before booking, so it was not an issue to us. The location was exactly what we were looking for - in the hill country, on the river and out of the way.

The breakfasts that were provided on both mornings were excellent. Burritos one morning and pancakes the next, with coffee and fresh OJ. Another guest asked for a no-carb breakfast and Minerva, the gracious cook whipped him up some scrambled eggs without a problem.

We booked a King River View, the room itself is what I would consider on the small side. In the bedroom area, there was not much room to move around, but we did not spend much time inside the room. The bathroom area was more spacious though, and the closet was large. The beds were comfy, but I did feel as though the linens appeared to be a bit worn out (sheets had holes in it). Our room was on the first floor and there was no river view, we were located directly behind the swimming pool. My guess would be that in order to be able to actually SEE the river from your room or the patio outside of it, you would need to request a 2nd floor room.

The daily housekeeping was not typical of other hotels- bed was not made, trash not emptied, but we did get fresh towels at our request.

The pool & hot tub were nice and the grounds were great for taking walks down to the river to explore or sit and relax.

We have stayed at quite a few B&B's in the hill country, and I would not really consider this a typical B&B property. The room was more reminiscent of a hotel room, without the personal touches you would tend to find in many of the other hill country B&B's we have stayed at.

Overall, I would recommend Walden Plantation to anyone looking for a quiet, out-of-the way property with nice ammenities.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room to have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cates622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Walden Plantation far exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful plantation built by the owners and modeled after a real plantation in Louisiana. The rooms are large with large bathrooms and closets. It is out in the country right on the Llano river. We had three very peaceful and relaxing days there. The property is very large so you can do a lot of walking or just sit by the pool and do nothing. There are spacious wrap around porches with plenty of sitting areas to sit outside and enjoy the views. They have a gas fireplace outside with couches and chairs around it to sit at night. We had a great time sitting out there and talking to the other guests. The breakfasts are homemade and quite delicious, particularly the pecan pie mini muffins that are served daily. My husband and I really loved it and honestly have no complaints. I look forward to going back there again.

Room Tip: Unless you cannot do stairs, get a room on the 2nd floor. The wrap around balcony is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyTraveler56463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the lovely town of Llano Texas for some years, we have had a great time most of the time until we decided to stay at the Walden Plantation. Their web site is awsome with many enhanced pictures, however their location is not what it seems. The site is off about 10 miles away from any civilization or any place to buy food or other things; they are literally in the middle of nowhere. The pool and hot tub were filthy, the fountain in the front had very littel water and was green and full of bugs when we arrived - lack of maintenance. The rooms upstairs were so small you could not relax in the room as you had to seat on the bed. There was only one kitchen table chair in the room, and we could hardly move inside. The room was clean when we arrived, but the next days were not cleaned; the bed was made one day, and trash was left at the bathroom, floor was not cleaned even once while we stayed there for four nights. The day before we left they did not even bother to go into the room. The website says food is available for dinner upon request but no food was available when we asked. If you are planning to stay there, do not take too many pieces of luggage as their parking is extremely far from the hotel and if you stay upstairs you need to carry one bag at a time as the stairs are very steep and hard to get to them. We were under the impression that this place was for adults only, but children were running up and down the place.

I love Llano, but we will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites on the left of the building are the best as the sun will not hit the room in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTaxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a fantastic find! We were a family of 7 staying at the Plantation and every thing here is wonderful. You can see a video on YouTube. Angie the owner is a sweet heart and made sure our family was taken care of. The beds are wonderful and the Hill Country around the Llano River - priceless. Now what makes this place great is Minerva! She makes the breakfast from scratch! Each day was better than the day before. When we were gathering around outside the homemade salsa green and red she brought us and warm chips - WOW. Lunch great was also great. We will be back!

Room Tip: 103, 104, 105, 204 all had river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasDesertRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently spent a weekend with friends at the Walden Plantation. The plantation is located on a stretch of the Llano river close to a low water crossing. Fishing is available on the river, along with other water sports like kayaking or tubing. Very quiet, scenic location, just right for getting away from the city. The rooms are nicely appointed, very roomy and clean. A fire pit and hot tub are available to warm you on a cool evening. The breakfast is sensational, and so is the hostess. We will definitely be returning for a future visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

First let me say that the lady that used to manage the place and had all the bad reviews is no longer there. My understanding is that it was a mutual choice for her to leave. The lady that helped us the 3 nights we were there was extremely friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy, the room was very nice and the pool was great. The breakfasts were awesome, especially their version of a breakfast burrito. We didn't try any of the other meals. We honestly dont have any complaints other than we had problems getting cold water from the tap. It seemed to come out warm no matter what. My wife and I had a great time and would go back again if it weren't so darn far away. It was close enough to drive to enchanted rock, Fredricksburg, and Longhorn caverns, not to mention several wineries inthe area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank troyandnetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Walden Plantation stands nestled in the Texas Hill country, far from traffic noise and street lights. We quietly enjoyed watching hawks float above the river while sipping a chilled Texas Chardonnay. Living in a city, we also enjoyed the country-road drive to Walden Plantation itself.

At my request, Carol setup a wonderful "romance package" with chocolate-covered strawberries and champagne for when we arrived. She also helped us pick out some nice restaurant options. Cooper's BBQ in Llano was excellent (http://www.coopersbbq.com/) and, for fancier fare, the Hilltop Cafe (http://www.hilltopcafe.com/). Enchanted Rock State Park, Fredericksburg and Wildseed Farms.

We travelled with our six month infant, and the rooms were insulated enough from each other and the outside so that our baby didn't disturb the other guests at night. Also, the closet is large enough to fit a pack 'n play if you leave it otherwise empty. With the door cracked, it allowed enough quiet and dark for the baby to sleep while we watched a little TV. The common eating area is also amenable to babies (tile floor and not a lot of extra stuff for them to pull off the table), Bring your own high chair or booster seat.

Thanks to Walden Plantation for our only baby-friendly B&B experience yet!

Room Tip: 2d floor rooms close to the pool mean less walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloopy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llano hotels
8.8 mi away
Sandstone Street Bed and Breakfast
8 mi away
Best Western Llano
Best Western Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
199 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Llano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Circle Your Wagons B&B
8.9 mi away
At Nana's Guest House
8.6 mi away
Dabbs Railroad Hotel
Dabbs Railroad Hotel
#4 of 9 in Llano
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walden Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Plantation

Address: 1690 County Road 102, Llano, TX 78643-2931
Region: United States > Texas > Llano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llano
Price Range: £89 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Walden Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walden Plantation Hotel Llano
Walden Plantation Llano, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing